We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Food Great Staff”

Tailhunter Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 296 Restaurants in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Located on the Bay of La Paz's historic waterfront Malecón, on the Sea of Cortez, you will find three stories of amazing beach casual dining and fun. Headquarters of the renowned Tailhunter Sportfishing Fleets, the Roldan Family's uniquely diverse menu specializes in the freshest seafood and local specialties with their very own Island flair. Top rated since opening in the spring of 2009 for numerous years, we are famous for preparing our fishermen's fresh caught fish with an entire specialty menu dedicated to this rare treat. Featuring great music, fishing and surfing videos, sporting events, ice cold cocktails and front row seats to the best sunsets in The Baja.
Orofino, Idaho
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Fine Food Great Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

The people were great our food delicious and open air with a view can't be beat. We will be back next year.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank mick p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    646
    184
    91
    46
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
207 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“This is our favorite place in La Paz”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

This is quite possibly our favorite place in all of Los Cabos. Everything we ordered here was fantastic.

The portions are huge and the prices are very reasonable.

Try the Campechana!!! (drools)

One thing of note. Before we came to this restaurant my wife disliked ceviche. Now she cant get enough. Well the whole region in her opinion just has great ceviche but this place was her gateway into the love of the dish.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeffmL2963AR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Love, Love, Love.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Even though the dorado was not in season, we went back several times for the camarones en brochette and the camarones el goberaderno. Great location to relax with a tasty beverage and enjoy the sunset. Service was always exceptional.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mbart13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

We had a great dinner here and enjoyed the nice views of the ocean and boardwalk. I have a food allergy and Jonathan assured me everything was made from scratch and I wouldn't get sick...he was right and it was delicious!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank GOOFYROSE96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly service with good food in a sports bar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Good restaurant overall on the Malecon. Easy to find, unlike many restaurants in La Paz. We started out with chips and tres salsa. I was thinking it would be three varieties of salsa, but it was just one wooden bowl with a dark colored salsa. It is not the variety with fresh chopped up tomatoes and cilantro and onions that I am accustomed to. Overall that was good. My husband ordered a cheeseburger and fries. It was cooked as ordered. He said it was good. The fries were nice and crispy. I ordered the grilled fish tacos. The fish tasted fresh and was nicely grilled. The beer selection includes Modelo dark on tap, which I am partial to. Service was friendly. Pricing was fine, not more or less than what I would expect. The table next to us had buffalo wings and nachos which looked very good. Maybe next time I would try those instead. I could not quite rate the meal as very good; it almost made it to that level. Looks like from most reviewers, ordering a fish entree vs fish tacos is the way to go. The stairs to this three level place like they could be tricky if you have had a few cervezas or don't like a narrow spiral staircase. When we went, the tvs were turned loudly to a boxing match. It has very good to excellent atmosphere if you like sports. It can get windy and cool at night, so dress appropriately. The staff waiting outdoors to great you are ALWAYS very friendly.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tailhunter Restaurant also viewed

La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 
La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 
La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 

Been to Tailhunter Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing