We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good memory to share.”

Tailhunter Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 296 Restaurants in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Located on the Bay of La Paz's historic waterfront Malecón, on the Sea of Cortez, you will find three stories of amazing beach casual dining and fun. Headquarters of the renowned Tailhunter Sportfishing Fleets, the Roldan Family's uniquely diverse menu specializes in the freshest seafood and local specialties with their very own Island flair. Top rated since opening in the spring of 2009 for numerous years, we are famous for preparing our fishermen's fresh caught fish with an entire specialty menu dedicated to this rare treat. Featuring great music, fishing and surfing videos, sporting events, ice cold cocktails and front row seats to the best sunsets in The Baja.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“A good memory to share.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

If you are a die-hard fisherman and would like to experience sharing a great time with other anglers or a couple wanting to watch the sun disappear creating a gorgeous sunset. Tailhunter Restaurant is the place. You can have your catch prepared in a variety of ways that will satisfy your taste buds or order from the extensive menu providing many special dishes that are favorites among returning customers. The staff is courteous and friendly and certainly make you feel special and welcome. Friday night was a treat with the live band and dancing. The atmosphere is kickback, making you feel comfortable the moment you arrive. Tailhunters is a safe place to have a great meal and enjoy yourself. At this time, Tailhunters is closed on Tuesdays, but open every other day of the week. Jonathan and Jilly go the extra mile for all of their customers. It was a pleasure and a good memory for my wife and I at Tailhunters .

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    646
    184
    91
    46
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
redwood city
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

my friend and i came for 4 days fishing and ate at tailhunter everynight. we had our dorado cooked differently each night. grilled and seasoned was my friends favorite. i liked the salsa verde by far. there are many tv's so if you like sports viewing, it could be the best place in la paz. lastly, the owners are around in the late pm and evening to answer questions or help your fishing trip in any way. they are both kind and caring. we will be back again next year

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chingawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
1 review
“Food and flavor at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Couldn't be happier with how our experience at Tailhunter Restaurant. The service was exceptional their English was great and they greet you with a huge smile and "hola." I really enjoyed the kind service and excellent bartenders but the real attraction was the food! Fresh fish coated with Salsa Verde so perfectly cooked and seasoned I ordered it again the second night (I normally don't like fish). Their Carne Asada was also the best I have ever had. It is true that everything is better in Mexico, but when your in Mexico, everything is better at Tailhunter Restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shandi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell Beach, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome in so many ways”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Can't say enough good things about this place! We ate here several times on our recent week long stay in La Paz, try the tacos gobanador super tasty, the staff is always ready to greet you with a warm smile and a hello, makes a great margarita as my girlfriend found out one evening celebrating her 50lb plus Dorado from earlier that day, I would recommend having your first drink on the third floor and working your way back down to the street on another occasion they cooked our fish from earlier in the day , try it with crispy garlic butter and lemon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden, Idaho
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Our favorite in La Paz”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Best chili rellenos in town, they cooked the Mahi Mahi that we caught to perfection, we watched NFL & soccer games and went fishing with their network of guides. They picked us up at our hotel and drove us to the fishing grounds cleaned our fish and brought us home. On our last night in town, Jonathon and Jill (the owners) were standing outside of the restaurant, which is closed each Tues., directing arriving diners to other good restaurants nearby. Great place, great folks!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Al B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tailhunter Restaurant also viewed

La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 
La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 
La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 

Been to Tailhunter Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing