We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Fav in La Paz!”

Tailhunter Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 310 Restaurants in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Located on the Bay of La Paz's historic waterfront Malecón, on the Sea of Cortez, you will find three stories of amazing beach casual dining and fun. Headquarters of the renowned Tailhunter Sportfishing Fleets, the Roldan Family's uniquely diverse menu specializes in the freshest seafood and local specialties with their very own Island flair. Top rated since opening in the spring of 2009 for numerous years, we are famous for preparing our fishermen's fresh caught fish with an entire specialty menu dedicated to this rare treat. Featuring great music, fishing and surfing videos, sporting events, ice cold cocktails and front row seats to the best sunsets in The Baja.
Mesquite, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Our Fav in La Paz!”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Ok.... This place is GREAT! Try the cocoanut shrimp or fish tacos... you can't go wrong. Initially just went to watch the NFL games the 6th of Jan... Well after ordering a Mangy Tangy (mango margarita) we were hooked. Not only are they the best tasting in La Paz, but wicked too!! You will be walking back to your room after 2 or 3 of them, not driving. Great service.. clean place, awesome location for watching sunsets, great drinks and food, big screen tv's for sports!, and free internet. Wish we had one of these in the Seattle area!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frogwashme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan R, Owner at Tailhunter Restaurant, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hi Frogwash!

Wow...thanks for the great review and the photos too! Glad you enjoy our place. We appreciate the kind words more than you know. As I'm writing this, we just happen to be in Washington (where it's raining) on business and miss sitting up there on the terrace watching the sunsets. Next time you're in Tailhunters, please introduce yourselves to us. I"ll buy a round of beers! Thanks again and safe travels!

Jonathan Roldan
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    672
    189
    94
    46
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna
Level 6 Contributor
530 reviews
281 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Sunset view to die for!”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Be sure to go to the upper levels and stake yourself out at one of the beach overlook bars.....be there around 45 minutes before sunset and enjoy the experience!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Perseverance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan R, Owner at Tailhunter Restaurant, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Kelowna! What a great review! One of our favorite past-times...watching the world go by and watching the sunset over La Paz Bay! Glad you enjoyed it and thanks for posting up your comments. Much appreciated. If you're ever in the restaurant again, please ask for myself or my wife, Jill. Muchas gracias!

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We ate here several times....”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We have been to La paz several times but had never tried the Tailhunter Restaurant. We went for a walk on the Malecon and decided to give it a try. We had our daughter and her friend who are 22 years old. Johnathan greeted us and seated us at a fabulous table on the 2nd floor with even a better view. Our dinner was perfect. My husband had the fish and chips, crispy, light batter, the girls had white fish with different sauces. They loved them. I had the Chili Relano's....omg...the best! For the appy's we had the famous french fries....and yes they lived up to their name! We made another stop here for our last drink before heading home..we were seated (at our request) along the rainling on the 2nd floor over looking the Sea of Cortez. It was a great ending to a perfect trip. I would hightly recommend visiting Johnathan and Jill ta Tailhunter!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MDCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan R, Owner at Tailhunter Restaurant, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Hola MD!

What a fun review! Thanks for taking the time to post up the great comments, but even moreso, we're just glad you had a good time and enjoyed the food..especially our garlic fries and our chile rellenos of which we are especially proud (the relleno recipe comes from the mother and grandmother of one of our cooks...we hand-make them to order!). Please come see us again and make sure you ask for myself or my wife, Jill, so we can say hello! Again, thank you mucho and safe travels!

God bless
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon, United States
1 review
“Great Restaurant & Bar!”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Good people, good food, good service. Jonathan & Jill are the best. Live music on the weekends. You can't ask for anything more than that!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John_R_McClay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan R, Owner at Tailhunter Restaurant, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Hi John! Thanks for the kind words, amigo. Short and sweet and much appreciated more than you know. You folks come see us again soon. Gracias and God bless for the nice review!

Best always!
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Can't Beat the View!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Best view of the Malecon and gorgeous La Paz Sunsets. Very friendly staff, good food, large portions, doesn't get much better. Can enjoy the atmosphere for hours...

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank oceancoral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan R, Owner at Tailhunter Restaurant, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Hello OC!

Muchas gracias! What a nice write up and we loved the photos. WOW! Made me hungy just looking at the plate of tacos! Thanks so much. Please come see us again.

Jonathan Roldan
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tailhunter Restaurant also viewed

La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 
La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 
La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 

Been to Tailhunter Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing