We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pizza in a romantic setting”
Review of Il Rustico

Il Rustico
Ranked #9 of 310 Restaurants in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Madison
Level 5 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great pizza in a romantic setting”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Dined outdoors at this Italian Restaurant as my husband is less fond of the traditional Mexican fare. The place was not too crowded: we were given the choice of indoor our outdoor dining. We chose to sit outdoors in the dimly lit pebbled floored area. Tables were spaced far enough apart to afford some privacy and romantic atmosphere. Our waiter was by shortly after we were seated to take drink orders. There is an extensive wine list and not so extensive beer list. The one I did try was no excellent Mexican ale, "Cucapa". There are numerous Italian entrees to choose from, alfredo and on down the line as well as salads and pizza. We opted for a ham and cheese pizza. which is wood fired. We were served our drinks and also given a basket of bread along with olive oil and basaltic vinegar for dipping. They could have skipped this, as the bread was not warm and was tough and chewy. I was tempted to, but did not ask for a different basket of bread. The wait for the pizza was reasonable, and the beer good enough that I had to have another (couldn't have nothing to accompany the pizza, right)? The pizza was outstanding. I do not care for paper thin crispy crust pizza. This was a combination of crispy and chewy in all the right places. The ham was shaved and did not overwhelm the pizza. The amount of sauce on the pizza was just right. We ended up eating all but one slice. Too full for dessert. All in all, except for the bread, I would happily eat here and perhaps try one of their salads which also sounded especially tasty.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    84
    17
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Owner operated with pride”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Franco in the dining area and Alessadra in the kitchen, with a great staff always make dining here a pleasure! Pizza JA probably the best you can get anywhere, Insalada Rustico is perfect to share as is the melon and prosciutto. Great pasta dishes and moderately priced wines make this one of the most enjoyable dining experiences in La Paz.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bconwayusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaPaz,baja sur, mexico
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“El Rustico”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Warm and friendly ambience....You can tell that the workers there care and have been there for a long time...the food is homemade and delicious...
Thin crust pizza...
Outdoor patio under the stars seating as well as covered areas...and good value ...would return for sure...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sheenajungle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Divide, Montana, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food, wonderful staff, lovely ambiance”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Absolutely the best dining experience! Lovely outdoor setting or cozy indoor dining rooms. Ale is an imaginative chef with beautiful plate presentation. Oscar mans the outdoor oven creating pizza, calzone, and fresh breads. Franco is a watchful,gracious host. Try the porchetta with fresh rosemary. The palapas for overnight stay are comfortable, inexpensive, and come with a lovely breakfast.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Very good Food”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

We found this place from Tríp advisor and glad we did. Very nice setting and ambiance, set in a older home settings in the gardens and patios. This is in la paz and not a place to expect fast service or stellar service so if you want fast service go to mcdonalds. This overall is the way things are here so they do bit win the 5th star for mediocre service.

Also I would like to mention that I found this to be a basic, home cooking style Italian. Extremely basic, but very good food and I am very pleased and would love to repeat. Here is a little more about the food.

We had a nice greca salad for starters, with goat cheese, tomatoes, cucumbers, lettuce, etc which was very good by just adding olive oil and balsamic vinegar. Tried the lasagna which was simple yet delicious. Also a pizza which was excellent.

For the adult meals I have the balsamic filet. It was great and cooked just right. Served over greens they do not believe much in side dishes but since the prices are so inexpensive I ordered a pasta plate, fettuccine which was very tasty.
We also tried the fish and this was over cooked as traditionally fish is almost everywhere but it was where it would just fall apart so it was still very tasty. Also ordered a Aglio Olio pasta plate which was very garlicky, a little Spicy and Very good.

For Desert we had ice cream which had melted chocolate and rolled cookies which was really good. Also had the calzone filled with Nutella. We did not think we would like but it was delicious. I would highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank JohnMarkKucera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Rustico also viewed

La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 
La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 

Been to Il Rustico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing