We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst seafood i have eaten in Mexico and overpriced” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurantes Bismark

Restaurantes Bismark
Ranked #15 of 290 Restaurants in La Paz
Price range: $0 - $13
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
vietnam
Level Contributor
132 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Worst seafood i have eaten in Mexico and overpriced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

This place is very popular with locals and was recommended by our taxi driver. When we went there over Christmas it was the only place that we found that was near our hotel that was open.

We were offered the al carte menu and ordered shrimps in garlic - the shrimps tasted of practically nothing and were overcooked and rubbery, the serving was basic with vegtables / salad and rice but very little in the way of presentation. The grilled fish was slightly better but nothing to write home about. The prices for our food were much higher than elsewhere in La Paz and so i would highly recommend going somewhere else. - Azul Marino completely outclasses Bismark for food, presentation and value for money.

Dont bother with this and go somewhere else.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank scotprague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    236
    135
    62
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We arrived on a Christmas Day and everything was closed. This was the only nearby place open and quite busy with locals which we thought was a good sign. Big mistake, the service was slow and the food below average, in fact it was the worst we have had in Mexico so far. And really overpriced. Don't bother going there, everything we tried was better and cheaper.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ver0nikaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good local spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We walked by this place in the afternoon around 3pm, and it was PACKED with people. The rest of the Malecon was low traffic, and most restaurants looked empty. An obviously good sign, but we were not hungry at the time so we passed by. The next morning, we were looking for a breakfast spot, and we had already walked out of a couple establishments due to cleanliness issues. We saw Bismark Cito again, and we has it was open. We also noticed how incredibly clean it was, and even had hand sanitizer bottles on every table (a little strange, but a good sign regardless). We decided to give it a try.

They did not have "breakfast" food, as they are a Mariscos restaurant. They did, however, have an awesome taco bar open with several options to try. We laughed and decided to eat tacos for breakfast. We had shrimp tacos with cheese, octopus tacos, fish tacos - and all of them were great. They had a condiment bar will all the fixings, including several tasty homemade sauces (tartar, habanero, avocado, chipotle, green onion, etc.) and we washed it down with a cup of coffee.

Interesting and fun breakfast.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cswltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“fresh seafood facing the malecon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

go early, sit outside and go crazy figuring out what kind of tacos you want -- the waiters are very friendly and cheerful servers and they have live music nightly

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MiCasaEsSuCasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent traditionalseafood place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

This kind of old school Baja seafood place is a dying breed in the Baja. You can gorge yourself for about $15 and have serious margaritas. They serve any fresh seasonal fish any style you wish. Try the whole deep fried Huachinago (snapper). Better than usual sides.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Noel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurantes Bismark also viewed

La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 
La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 
La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 

Been to Restaurantes Bismark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing