We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and very clean”
Review of Hotel Perla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Perla
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in La Paz
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We enjoy staying at this hotel, our room was in the 3rd floor, although this hotel is old, they keep it very clean. location is perfect, just across the road from the Malecon and walking to all restaurants and bars. Our room rate also included continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mecxicana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Perla
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 58 of 245 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Perla for one night...thank goodness!! The bathroom had this filthy odor that never went away, the hotel safe did not work, and the A/C started leaking water on to one of the beds in the middle of the night. We were a family of 4 and there were only two towels in the room. When I asked the maid for extra towels, she told me I had to call the front desk for them - even though she had them in her cart. The pool is much smaller than the pictures show...and no beach chairs or towels to use.

We were happy we only spent one night and ended leaving the hotel earlier than scheduled. The staff was very nice and the parking attendant was very hard-working and courteous. Location is prime. But I will not be staying in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Room w/out a stinky bathroom
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Palawala_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Recently stayed at Hotel Perla and was disappointed in the service and accommodations. The key cards did not work for me, the maintenance man, the bell man or the house keeper. They finally had to take the mechanism off the door after an hour. I asked for help with tour company suggestions. The front desk clerk would only name one. When I asked for a brochure he said they had none. I asked for names of others and then he pulled out brochures for 4 companies from behind the desk. When checking out I called down to have my car pulled out and they told me they could not find my car even though I had seen it several times when exiting that level. i had to go down to the garage and point out which car was mine--and they had given me a ticket. It was one problem after another. The room lacked the basics and the mattress was uncomfortable. The location is great but this hotel was a big miss.

Room Tip: If you choose to stay, ask for a larger room. They do not prioritize those who book earlier or have...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank StLTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We have been eating occasionally at the restaurant on the ground floor opening onto the pavement. for quite a number of years now. It is a very colourful place often with a band playing in the corner. The menu is pretty simple but there is a good variety of well presented and cooked meals. We generally stick with the sea food as we don't eat meat and have never had a bad meal. The staff are all helpful and friendly and in the the bill isn't massive. So it's good value for a semi alfresco meal in the evening. I wouldn't say it's ideal for a romantic meal for two but start with one of their massive Margaritas and watch the world go by as you munch your way through a giant prawn frallita lovely on a warm evening.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We went to Baja, La Paz as our daughter was commencing a relay swim across the Sea of Cortez. We have no prior knowledge of the area and picked the hotel from Hotels.com. The hotel is much better than many reviews suggest. It's comfortable, clean and we'll run. It has free parking and free Wi Fi. It's in a great location close to restaurants and the old city.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterR0we
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

this place was exactly what we needed. big bed, close to everything, awesome roof deck to enjoy the sunset, free parking, free breakfast, nice staff.

we stopped by at least 10 hotels before deciding on this one. there were nicer hotels with better amenities, but this had the best value by far and the best location. My wife and I like to explore and for our 1st time in La Paz this was perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We went to Baja and the days staying in La Paz, Baja California, Mexico, we stayed at La Perla. Is a small hotel, with history, not old and not the best, but comfortable, clean, nice personnel... but the best is the location... it is just in the middle of everything!!! Right there at the Malecon, close to restaurants, bars, downtown, tours, etc.... that is important to me, since you have all of this at walking distance.... a little pricey for what it is but the location made it up :))
The parking space is... well they have no parking space... very limited, the keep moving the cars to get more there... during the rushing hours is a madness... anyway they took care of that, we left our keys and no problem with that.... just to know...

Room Tip: Ask a room with Gulf view... you will see the most beautiful sunsets!!! but in the third floor... th...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank movingtoaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
1.7 mi away
La Posada Hotel & Beach Club
4.1 mi away
Hyatt Place La Paz
Hyatt Place La Paz
#3 of 39 in La Paz
537 reviews
0.9 mi away
Posada LunaSol Hotel
Posada LunaSol Hotel
#6 of 39 in La Paz
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel HBlue
Hotel HBlue
#1 of 39 in La Paz
191 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel One La Paz
Hotel One La Paz
#5 of 39 in La Paz
463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Catedral La Paz
Hotel Catedral La Paz
#2 of 39 in La Paz
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Perla

Address: Alvaro Obregon No. 1570 | Downtown, La Paz 23000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in La Paz
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Paz
Price Range: $60 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Perla 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Hotel Perla we are characterized by our warm service and the best location In The Malecon And The Heart Of The City.Offering Good Rates, Quality In Food And Beverages And A Lot Of Fun In The Nightclub And Great Catering Service In Our Meeting Rooms.110 Wide, Clean And Confortable Roomsnew Matresses, Flat Tv´S And 55 Cable Channelsrestaurant ¨La Terraza¨ Nightclub ¨La Cabaña¨ Meeting Rooms:Salon Madre Perla & Salon El Mechudofree Wifipool jacuzzissun Deckkids Area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perla La Paz
Perla Hotel La Paz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing