We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel Perla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Perla
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in La Paz
SALEM
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Great location right on the Malecon, fair priced rooms, nice lounging deck area where you can relax and enjoy the ocean views, sunsets... What more can you ask for...oh and a pool and jacuzzis too! Rooms were big and plenty of space for luggage

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salem_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    108
    65
    13
    10
See reviews for
66
65
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
123 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We were just spending one night in La Paz and didn't want to spend to much. La Perla was the prefect fit. Centrally located on the Malecon walkway. The Hotel was extremely clean. Nice pool and baloney to sit on and people watch or even better watch the sunset. The room had the basics and reminded me of a motel 6 back home. Room included a refrigerator, blow dryer, wi-fi and tv....what more do you need. Despite the fact that the beds were only doubles they were comfortable. A small breakfast at the restaurant next door was included. We were able to explore the area on foot. Parking was limited.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
253 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Not so great reception as they could not find our reservations I had to show them the details on my tablet. Then they gave us a queen bed when we reserved a king. Had to change rooms which were really tiny. If u stay there watch ur head we hen entering the bathroom as it is raised but the door is the normal size. The room was clean but the view of the side street was not exciting. We were there Nov 1st Day of the Dead lots of celebration all night long so little sleep. the air-conditioning was mounted high so it blew down on the bed all night.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hflatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

La Perla was a nice place to stay in the heart of La Paz Mexico.
They parked your car for you but I didn't care for them having the keys if
you need something from the car.
You walk up a steep flight of stairs to get in to the registration.
The place is quite beautiful.
It has a pool which was tiny but cooled me off in the heat and humidity....
Nice place to stay if you want to walk the malecon and town square which we
did...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maureen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petalima
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Nostalgic 1940's style old hotel that is very clean and friendly staff. Restaurant in lobby opens up at 7am and breakfast is passable. American or Mexican breakfast items. Great location on the Malecon walkway in downtown. Has a pool but in the courtyard. Fairly cheap. Beds were surprisely comfortable. Charmingly funky. Quiet until Sat night.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twosaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

OK, you've been to Cabo and now you want to try La Paz, Mexico. Two different towns with entirely two very different "feels" about them. A mega resort in Cabo San Lucas has everything you need, but it almost feels like you are still in the US. La Paz on the other hand, doesn't have these types of resorts. What La Paz does have, however, is a wonderful authentic Mexican "feel" to it. Locals and tourists mingle in just about all of the establishments and can enjoy each others' company. Hotel Perla in La Paz is in a great location right on the Malecon overlooking the bay. You can walk to many shops and restaurants. The hotel is clean and efficient, and the staff works had to please. The rooms are smaller than what you might find in Cabo, as is the pool. But the cerveza is just as cold and the fishing is often much better. After several years of visiting La Paz and even more years of visiting Cabo, I notice that my $ goes much farther in La Paz. I also notice that a tip for service rendered is much, much more appreciated here. I've had as much fun and enjoyed trips to La Paz just as much as anywhere else. It's all relative.

Room Tip: Request bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dgawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Great location..very helpful staff.. a great place to see the sunset or to relax after a long day in La Paz. We were able to view the bay from the mezzanine and watch the nightly crowd on the Malecon. Excellent hotel as a starting point to all excursions while in La Paxil, even if that's one of the spectacular nearby bars and restaurants. When entering the second floor reception you will immediately see the outstanding character of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urasinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Blue Business Class
4.0 mi away
Hyatt Place La Paz
Hyatt Place La Paz
#2 of 39 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Posada Hotel & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Posada LunaSol Hotel
Posada LunaSol Hotel
#5 of 39 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.6 mi away
Las Gaviotas Resort
Las Gaviotas Resort
#8 of 39 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel One La Paz
Hotel One La Paz
#4 of 39 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Perla

Property: Hotel Perla
Address: Alvaro Obregon No. 1570 | Downtown, La Paz 23000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in La Paz
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Perla 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Hotel Perla we are characterized by our warm service and the best location In The Malecon And The Heart Of The City.Offering Good Rates, Quality In Food And Beverages And A Lot Of Fun In The Nightclub And Great Catering Service In Our Meeting Rooms.110 Wide, Clean And Confortable Roomsnew Matresses, Flat Tv´S And 55 Cable Channelsrestaurant ¨La Terraza¨ Nightclub ¨La Cabaña¨ Meeting Rooms:Salon Madre Perla & Salon El Mechudofree Wifipool jacuzzissun Deckkids Area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perla La Paz
Perla Hotel La Paz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing