We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location on malecón”
Review of Hotel Perla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Perla
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in La Paz
Los Barriles, MX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location on malecón”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Clean rooms. Helpful staff, although we had to wait 30 minutes for check-in during chaotic peak period around 1 PM check-out time, and we had to settle for two double beds despite having had a reservation for a king bed. Wimpy shower. Good beds. Central location is very convenient to shopping and tourist services. Limited parking; great if you can get it. Associated restaurant is terrible. Walk southeast 7 or 8 blocks to The Bagel Shop for the freshest bagels and best lox in Baja. Discounts available for advance bookings. Reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    108
    65
    13
    10
See reviews for
66
65
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My mom and I stayed here for a single night this Christmas. The hotel is very cute, in need of some upgrades, but bright and clean. It's right in the middle of the boardwalk, and the cute shoe stores are a block away (16 de septiembre) as well as a Sears.

The amount of English spoken in La Paz is significantly more limited than in more "touristy" towns like Los Cabos and Todos Santos. The front desk staff was half and half for English speaking abilities.

The continental breakfast was coffee, juice (VERY good), a few buns and jam, great after spending a week at an all inclusive.
Restaurants in the little alley beside were very good, the crepe place was phenomenal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erex90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The rooms were clean and it's in town, but nothing to rave about. Service was nice and helped us find our room, which was a little complicated coming from the parking level, but I would suggest something out of town or nicer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikaelroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
146 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Just spent 3 nights at La Perla, Dec 2012.
It was very easy to find, as I was arriving by car and had never been to la Paz before.

The hotel has a great central location on the malecon, which is its saving grace.
The rooms are basic, mine was loud and the windows were not well sealed.
It looked out over a side street and you could hear all the traffic.
There is a fridge, water and TV and the bed was comfy.

The bathroom was newly tiled and clean, it was in fact in better shape than the rest of the room.
The shower was strong and there was plenty of hot water.

There is a pool in the courtyard.
A basic continental breakfast is provided, which is pretty nice.
I was able to park directly in front of the hotel.

The receptionists tried to be helpful, but were not very knowledgeable or solution oriented.

All in all, the hotel is fine to stay in for a few days, but I think at 80 USD it is pretty overpriced for the standard of the rooms. You are paying for the location more than anything else. So long as you know, you are not staying in a luxury hotel, you probably won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which isn't facing a street if you want a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trip-chick-munich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL P, Director Comercial at Hotel Perla, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words.
In Hotel Perla we appreciatte your comments and get to know what our guests think of Us. This way we can do better :)
Thank you for letting Us be your home in La Paz, and we expect to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

2012.. Trip down the Baja and arriving in La Paz at about 6pm losing light and needing a good hotel that is safe, has parking... We read trip advisor and decided to stop at 2 on the list.. First being La Posada Luna something... Trip advisor said $40 it was actually $80 and did not have any amenities... We decided to check out Hotel Perla and were thrilled with not only the hotel and amenities but the service.. For $10 more we have a safe enclosed parking, a fantastic room, clean with a beautiful view.. The pool is a good size and very clean and there are even palapas looking right at the ocean and for people with children a newer playground directly on the malecon...... Just finishing my morning coffee, juice and toast as I write this.. Which was also included.. I would definately stay here again.. Without a doubt who could ask for more.

Room Tip: Rooms further back in the corners have view but I would imagine would be quieter than in the front d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natasha k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL P, Director Comercial at Hotel Perla, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comment.
We appreciatte and take seriously the opinion of our guests and that helps us to improve and know what to do to be better.

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to be your hosts in La Paz. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

This was my 2nd time to La Paz for an off road race. We had eaten at the restaurant at the Perla the previous year and loved the food, and walked through the lobby. After a bad experience the year before at a different property, we chose to stay here at the Hotel Perla this year. We had some good feedback from one of the other teams last year when we went to check it out, and sure enough, they were staying there this year too.

The rooms are small and basic, fine for what we wanted. I love the 2nd floor terrace to just sit and look out over the water. This was great. Sitting a little bit back from the rail and you didn't even realize there was a street below you, though you were right on the water.

Once again, we ate at the restaurant downstairs, they had good food and stiff margaritas. Big thumbs up.

If you're expecting a fancy place, this isn't it, but if you want a great basic quaint place to stay along the water, this is it.

Also, the parking garage is long and deep, so your cars potentially can get blocked in, so plan accordingly.

As I mentioned, we were there for an off-road race, we ended up working on our two race bikes in the back part of the garage with our rigs that were blocked in from other vehicles. We had to be up really early the next day.

The staff at the Hotel Perla made arrangements to get all the vehicles that were blocking us moved early so we could get out. Talk about accommodation.

I will be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed there with my husband and our two boy this past Sep ((Very hot!)) and it was a lovely experience, its a very family like hotel and city.... We actually went to La Paz because we have heard such a wonderful stories from friends. We stayed at the Perla, since we saw it had the best location. And it was wonderful! The rooms were very clean and basic. You are literally at the heart of the Malecon, steps to the beach and everything was near by... We felt like locals, renting bikes and just enjoying the beautiful and peaceful city. We loved the restaurant from the hotel (La terraza) you gotta have the breakfast, it was delicious! We really enjoyed our stay and we will definitely come back to the Perla. Great price, service and excellent location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Blue Business Class
4.0 mi away
Hyatt Place La Paz
Hyatt Place La Paz
#2 of 39 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Posada Hotel & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Posada LunaSol Hotel
Posada LunaSol Hotel
#5 of 39 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.6 mi away
Las Gaviotas Resort
Las Gaviotas Resort
#8 of 39 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel One La Paz
Hotel One La Paz
#4 of 39 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Perla

Property: Hotel Perla
Address: Alvaro Obregon No. 1570 | Downtown, La Paz 23000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in La Paz
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Perla 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Hotel Perla we are characterized by our warm service and the best location In The Malecon And The Heart Of The City.Offering Good Rates, Quality In Food And Beverages And A Lot Of Fun In The Nightclub And Great Catering Service In Our Meeting Rooms.110 Wide, Clean And Confortable Roomsnew Matresses, Flat Tv´S And 55 Cable Channelsrestaurant ¨La Terraza¨ Nightclub ¨La Cabaña¨ Meeting Rooms:Salon Madre Perla & Salon El Mechudofree Wifipool jacuzzissun Deckkids Area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perla La Paz
Perla Hotel La Paz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing