We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible mistake!!!!”
Review of Hotel Miramar

Hotel Miramar
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Miramar
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in La Paz
Reviewed August 27, 2014

By far the most awful "hotel" I've ever stayed at! I will never stay here again. We got here on a Monday afternoon, and had to head out to an appointment so we just left our bags in the rooms and left. We returned to the hotel after 10pm. Beyond the bellow average look of the place, and the heat, the first thing you notice is the pungent smell of disinfectant cleaner that penetrates the halls. When we got to the rooms the smell was even stronger. It was late so we decided to stay the night. Within a half hour I started feeling the horrible smell burning my nose and lungs. To make matters worse the AC units they have are installed on top pointing straight to the head of the bed. We all had a difficult time falling asleep mainly because it literally hurt to breath due to the suffocating smell. In the morning our throats were burning! It's too bad pictures are not scratch and sniff because I would post it. When we spoke to the lady at the the front desk the next morning she said there was nothing she could do and that there were no refunds for checking out three days early.

Room Tip: Best tip I can give; don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Pamela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 42 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2014

We paid about 70.00 for one night and it wasn't worth it. Location is great if you want to get to the malecón, but other than that our room was dirty. It was covered in dust and the bathroom looked as if it had been used and not cleaned. There was still trash left on one of our nightstand from whomever stayed there last. We slept on our own blankets and did not use any of the hotels bedding. We were scared to. We told the clerk the next day and the housekeeper and she told us they were not allowed to give out rooms in that state. The clerk didn't even apologize. He just finished charging us and hid in his office. We left a note for the manager. I wasn't surprised that he never called us. They probably didn't even pass it on.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fani_Nu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Miramar for 3 nights in late March and it was pleasant. I got in pretty late and the man at the front desk was friendly and helpful. The room was clean, the wifi was fine, the bed was comfy, it was quiet. The hotel location is excellent, very close to the bus station, restaurants, etc. I would certainly stay there again, good value.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bogotastrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Miramar for six nights in April 2013. Excellent location but noisy at weekends due to passing traffic and nightclubs. Very weak shower. Good wifi connection. Bed a bit lumpy. Good value for money and we love La Paz!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This hotel is very basic but the location is wonderful. The malecon is very close and you can be on the beach very easily. Our room had a window looking out on the street so you did get alot of street noise early in the morning. The staff was alway available but sometimes both sides had to resort to translation dictionary's. I would stay again only because the location is so good.

Room Tip: The rooms with windows onto the street can get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wengod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The Hotel all together is ok and clean. The staff is friendly but not all of them speak english.
Next to the hotel is a club with very loud music untill the early morning at least at the weekends.
To the beach it is a 5 minutes walking distance.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Good rate, and got what I paid for. Murky 2nd floor room with a window to the street. ( some rooms have only windows to the interior. Hotel was not kept up at all, noisy, and LOTS of little friends when you turned the light on at night. All coming up the shower drain.

Room Tip: If you do stay here. Get a room with a window to the outside of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank steveliketogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pekin
Hotel Pekin
#22 of 39 in La Paz
19 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pension California
Pension California
#27 of 39 in La Paz
33 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel Paradise Pasion La Paz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lorimar Hotel
Lorimar Hotel
#16 of 39 in La Paz
46 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Bugambilias
1.7 mi away
City Express La Paz
City Express La Paz
#18 of 39 in La Paz
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar

Address: 5 De Mayo y Belisario Dominguez, La Paz 23000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in La Paz
Price Range: $26 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Miramar 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Miramar count whith 25 rooms, is locaited in heart of the city la Paz, two blocks to the catedral and the bustation; very close to the nigth club's.included: tv-cable, minibar, phone, air condition, wireles internet, you cant fine evreting you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing