We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food.”
Review of Manzanilla

Manzanilla
Ranked #23 of 320 Restaurants in Ensenada
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing food.”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Seared abalone - amazing.
fried - Abalone - the other was better - the tempura-like batter overwhelmed the abalone.
clams - the broth was a tad salty
quail - maybe the best I've ever had - incredible. Stuffed with sage.
seafood risotto - very good.
tongue and cactus salad - inventive and tasty.
steak - incredible. We devoured it.
Bass - really good - perfectly prepared.
Desserts were good - I would have liked some chocolate.
Service was a bit uninvolved.
Wine list - all baja - very comprehensive.

Really cool space with cool paintings, an amazing 80 year old bar and pink chandeliers.

For $200 for 5, an amazing deal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    35
    21
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“FINE DINING, GREAT ATMOSPHERE, BEST IN THE TOURIST ZONE”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Manzanilla is a jewel of a restaurant near the port of entry in Ensenada, B.C. Mexico. They serve a wonderful, eclectic mix of tapas and a full menu of entrees - mainly seafood from the area. Mexican wine ( which is extremely delicious) and a full bar complete the dining experience.
The dishes we sampled were primarily based on , of all things, funghi. Yep, mushrooms. Very creative and unusual. My favorite was the risotto in wild mushroom sauce with ox tail garnish on top.
There are restaurants that I enjoy more in Ensenada. They are all further away from the tourist zone and will be a bit more difficult to find. But if you are adventurous you will be well rewarded. Read my reviews of Sanos, Ophelias and Barra Azul if you would like to try those instead.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ensenada, Mexico
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Must've been an off night .... but I'll certainly give a 2nd try”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Went with some friends who are world travelers. We mentioned a restaurant that is renown throughout the cuisine scene in Mexico (not just Baja). They were game and we went with high expectations.
We loved the eclectic ambiance and blending of artistic styles. It certainly had us talking. The staff were very informative, spoke superb English, and were able to make excellent recommendations. The menu was limited but hugely unique and adventurous. For those who love taking culinary risks (like a few in our party) we were NOT disappointed. But for the faint it was a bit of a challenge for them to see the incredible fusion they were doing.
We shall return. And perhaps I'll have a more glowing commentary as to why this place receives such high claim from the critics.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Wavefarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Ensenada”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

If you're looking for a relax atmosphere with spectacular food you should try Manzanilla. The place has a modern casual ambiance, the staff is very professional and nice, but the best thing is the food. Every entry was excellent specially the pork with vanilla essence. I will definitely will return to this place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Our second time dining at Manzanilla was as spectacular as the first”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I have to say it is hard to imaging a better dining experience than our initial feast at Manzinilla, but Solange and Benito came through to impress our party even more. On our way down to Ensenada our party of 8 from the Pasadena area were discussing our dinner plans for the evening and to the man the Manzinilla restaurant was the choice. This based on our great experience from the year before and I know that whenever in Ensenada I will be eating at Manzinilla. Thank you Solange and Benito for your exquisite food and unsurpassed service. - Te deseo lo mejor

PS - be sure to stop at the bar after your meal and enjoy some top shelf Mezcal

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 4EIEIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manzanilla also viewed

Ensenada, Ensenada Municipality
Ensenada, Ensenada Municipality
 
Ensenada, Ensenada Municipality
Ensenada, Ensenada Municipality
 
Ensenada, Ensenada Municipality
Ensenada, Ensenada Municipality
 

Been to Manzanilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing