We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“seafood cocktails and ceviche like no other” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Guerrerense

La Guerrerense
Ranked #1 of 303 Restaurants in Ensenada
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
102 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“seafood cocktails and ceviche like no other”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I don't know why but I was inspired to do something different at La Guerrerense, and that is to deviate from what i know i like and try something new. it was probably all the people around me yelling out orders for "una (or dos or tres) de la Guerrerense," which in this case is the special house ceviche which shares the name of the cart. so without knowing it exact components - this at a seafood cart that features clams and mussels and sea urchins, snails, and cucumbers - i went for it. when i saw mine on the plate, I didn't want to like it. i don't like unidentified sea critters. or rather, i don't like the idea of a sea critters crittering along, nevermind having said critters in my mouth. (my food partner in crime devoured a octopus + sea snail cocktail, exclaiming about textures and freshness, and i was turning up my nose in disgust the whole time.)

well, you know how this ends. the Guerrerense tostada was awesome. it took about 3 bites before i was fully won over, but the thing was undeniably refreshing and tasty and plain good, with that addictive qualities of really good ceviches.

so take the plunge if you're at La Guerrerense, you'll be in for a treat. but they also have traditional fish and shrimp ceviches and cocktails if you want to stay on the safe side

Tip:
line up on the left side for cocktails and on the right for ceviche tostadas

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank andariega_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    80
    26
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“next time a expensive restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

So we saw Sabina Bandera tostada stand in ensenada on one of those TV shows and of course we hit the road from TJ. After a hard time to park the car since it is right there on a busy street we aproach the cart., It was crowded like with 50 people, so it took like 30 minutes to plece the order. Thay make the tostadas in 1 minute, they have everything prepare and ready to go.

The tostadas are defenitly not the best in the world. you can find much better tostadas anywhere in Veracruz or Sinaloa, hell even in Tijuana are much better tostadas.

What impress me was the price, 50 pesos for one tostada, so we order 8 tostadas we paid 450 pesos with the drinks......next time I will take my 450 and go to a restaurant with parking lot, waiters and even get a factura to deduct the expense!

definetly will never go there again, around the corner and the same tostadas for half of the price and no crowd.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Salvador S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solana Beach, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome Fish Tostadas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Our hotel room was right across the street. We checked in and I went out on to our balcony and low and behold, there's the place I saw on Anthony Bourdains show.
So I walked across the street and got four fish tostadas. Two for me and two for my 12 year old daughter. Best I ever had. Tons of yummy salsas to choose from and cheap too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DPMeadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

The fact that there is always a queue of at least 10 people here no matter what time of day tells you all you need to know.

The salsas here are just amazing and it's so difficult to choose from all the options. Just the perfect street food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ForeverDeepBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Unreal fresh seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

maybe the best seafood of my life. Sea urchin on a tostada, topped with scallops, avocado and hot sauce.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Guerrerense also viewed

Ensenada, Ensenada Municipality
Ensenada, Ensenada Municipality
 
Ensenada, Ensenada Municipality
Ensenada, Ensenada Municipality
 

Been to La Guerrerense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing