We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best margaritas”

Sports Bar Papas&Beer
Ranked #196 of 337 Restaurants in Ensenada
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: American, Mexican
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Seabrook, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best margaritas”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

When you make a margarita with just tequila and lime juice and have it over ice you have perfection. 2 is the limit otherwise you don't make it home, or in my case back to the ship. Ask about the price first. It varies on the tequila used.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeabrookJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    13
    10
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
433 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“The parillada was good, the rest was eh”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We went here with a large group of people (I think there were 14 of us) and no one could decide on a place so eventually we just all went here. It was fine. My son and I got the parillada (the grilled meats) which was actually the best thing and we loved it. Everyone else got fish tacos or enchiladas or guacamole and all of their's was just mediocre (and actually my son also ordered nachos which were fairly awful). I basically agree this is just a tourist trap. I wouldn't recommend it but you don't have to avoid it if that's what you're looking for. And they can in fact seat 14.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wombat1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, California
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“DON'T”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We decided to give it a try since we have gone to Papas&Beer in various locations. Big mistake...My wife asked if the fish in the fish tacos was breaded and they said yes so she said "I can't eat deep fried. I'll try the shrimp taco." and pointed to the picture of the shrimp taco. Long story short, the shrimp in the pictures were not breaded but they brought out breaded shrimp and tried to say the picture was of chicken, not shrimp?! I ate a couple of the shrimp tacos which were institutional-type breaded and frozen with no taste. Could go on but this is the best part of my experience. Will not go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cruisnfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great sports bar”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Great place to watch a boxing match! Good beer great service and amazing bar food! The place comes alive at night with both tourists and locals and there is always a lively atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ForeverDeepBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Simply just a perfect day....”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My girlfriend and I drove down from Los Angeles on a saturday morning. Constructionat the border was not great, but knew about it. On our way to Ensenada, we stopped for pictures, such a beautiful day. When we arrived at the restuarant, we were greeted quickly and service and food was SPECTACULAR. Everything I remembered it to be, was exactley what we needed to rest up and relax while on vacation in california.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kellen007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sports Bar Papas&Beer also viewed

Ensenada, Ensenada Municipality
Ensenada, Ensenada Municipality
 
Ensenada, Ensenada Municipality
Ensenada, Ensenada Municipality
 
Ensenada, Ensenada Municipality
Ensenada, Ensenada Municipality
 

Been to Sports Bar Papas&Beer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing