We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay, but could be better. Clean, but outdated”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Cortez

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cortez
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Ensenada
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
231 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Okay, but could be better. Clean, but outdated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I like the location and the staff were friendly. Facilities clean and i liked the secure parking with guards. Rooms are outdated but clean and beds were quite hard. paid aprox 60 dollars and have had better rooms for this in mexico on our travels. Quite noisy as parking below carries up to rooms.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the parking noise and on the highest floors,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimimy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    41
    33
    13
    18
See reviews for
37
22
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mesa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

my family and i stayed at this hotel on 7/5-7/7 and it's close to almost everything you can walk to el malecon and the shops in la calle primera.Pros:it's clean, close to all the action, and friendly staff. cons: hard beds, noisy parking around dawn. and reduced parking spots. ( it's better to call the hotel itself because it's cheaper than travel sites.)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keren028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Pretty good in all. It's at the end of the main high street so away from the worst of the noise, but close enough for a short walk to the main area. Staff are helpful, cleaning is good.

There's a restaurant attached to the hotel and we had breakfast there the first day, but it wasn't very interesting food so after that we had coffee and a bagel from the coffee shop a few doors down.

Room Tip: Old rooms are quite small and have noisy air-conditioning. The newer rooms have quieter air-con but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreno Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Me and my husband stayed here June 22nd we walked in and asked for the price and were told it would be $60, They showed us the room wich was ok not to up to date but clean and good for that price. The only things that we didnt like was that the A/C is loud and old and the carpet needed to be clean but it wasnt bad for the price. If you are looking for a 4 start place this is not it ,this is like a nice motel 6 and worth the price I would stay here whenever I go to Ensenada,

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Perscilla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, Calif.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

Was there recently, on 6/19/12 and I have mixed feelings about this hotel. The location is great, you are steps away from the main "strip" Calle Primera, for all your shoping and culinary adventures. You are also very close, only a few blocks away from the port, where you can rent golf carts, scooters, quads, etc. The hotel has a good secure parking structure with 24hr. security. Their pool is small but nice with plenty of lounge chairs for that taning session. The staff is nice, the only drawback to this hotel is, what a lot of others have mentioned, it can be noisy at night, you can hear people outside your room walking, talking, and the worst is the wall air conditioning units that you hear all night any time some one has it on. I am not a light sleeper, and that noise did bother me for most of the night. My wife hated the noise, and for that reason, she say's we wont be back to this hotel. If you bring some ear plugs you might be okay, if you don't mind the noise, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bartender122002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

we stayed there on 05/25 /12 and I didn't like it. the rooms and the services are ok. but there's too much echo on the hotels corridor so you hear everything. there is also so much noise I didn't sleep those two days. I don't recommended to no one unless if u don't want to sleep.. I was so unhappy also put a sign not to clean my room and they went in to clean it when I wasn’t there. 

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ensenada hotels

San Diego
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

There's too much echo on the hotels corredor!! This equals to lots of wreck from everybody that is in the hotel and cars from the garage and streets, bad night experience.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcayala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ensenada hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Coral & Marina
Hotel Coral & Marina
#1 of 37 in Ensenada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.3 mi away
Corona Hotel & Spa
Corona Hotel & Spa
#8 of 37 in Ensenada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
18.3 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
#10 of 37 in Ensenada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN El Cid
BEST WESTERN El Cid
#5 of 37 in Ensenada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quintas Papagayo
Quintas Papagayo
#7 of 37 in Ensenada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.4 mi away
Posada Don Fernando
Posada Don Fernando
#13 of 37 in Ensenada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cortez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cortez

Property: Hotel Cortez
Address: Avenida Adolfo Lopez Mateos 1089, Ensenada 22800, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Ensenada Municipality > Ensenada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Ensenada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cortez 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cortez part of Baja Inn Hotels , is located in the heart of Ensenada, located on the main avenue of the city . With quick and easy access to the tourist area , where restaurants , bars and shops are located. A few minutes from the waterfront and other tourist attractions . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cortez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cortez Hotel Ensenada
Hotel Cortez Ensenada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing