We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Las Rosas Hotel & Spa
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Ensenada
san diego
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Great place in Ensenada for a getaway with the little lady. All rooms overlook the Pacific. Food and Drinks great here

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steelered42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    69
    29
    14
    16
See reviews for
34
76
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We've been staying at Las Rosas on and off for about 15 years. For a long time this was my favorite hotel in Ensenada, although the past 2 years we've been staying at the Coral and Marina because their junior suites are HUGE with lovely marble bathrooms, include a small fridge, wet bar and cost only $130-$150 per night PLUS it includes a FAST PASS (rooms at Las Rosas are $155).

We reserved two rooms at Las Rosas this past weekend because Coral and Marina was booked.

Las Rosas is a smaller, more intimate hotel with 40+ rooms. It is older, but some of the rooms have been remodeled and they keep it very clean. Our room was remodeled although our friends who were two doors down, did not have a remodeled room. Our room was lovely with nice decorations a desk with a leather chair, a lovely gift bag from a local winery and updated bed linens.

The food at LR is A+ and cost is very reasonable (Coral & Marina food is beyond awful AND it's expensive). For instance, breakfast at Las Rosas was about $6 per person and coffee + toast for two via room service was only $4. The infinity pool and hot tub that looks out over the Pacific Ocean is AWESOME and we really enjoy checking out the tide pools in front of the hotel during low tide.
The shower pressure on Sunday morning was very, VERY, low (a little more than a fast drip) and the temperature would change on it's own...this definitely needs to be addressed. The bathroom door is not soundproof and even though I was staying with my husband, it was uncomfortable to have him be able to hear the goings on while I was in the lieu and vice versa.
All in all, we do enjoy this hotel, because the food, service and ocean views are the BEST in Ensenada, although they do have some areas that could be improved upon.
I will add pictures once they are dowloaded.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been remodeled
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mrs_Naito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Great rooms, views, pool, hot tub, and spa. Love to stay here when in the area, wish I could visit and stay more often!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surfnut007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

This is less a review and more a Public Service Announcement. This hotel used to be nice and over the years it has steadily declined in upkeep and cleanliness. I have never posted a review before now because generally any problem we may have with an establishment is either handled by speaking with management or we just choose to not return in the future. This is different. A person on the hotel staff finally admitted that there had been some sort of flood at the hotel. That would explain the HORRIFIC smell in the rooms. They have a mold/mildew/odor problem. I asked the owner repeatedly if they were planning to address the problem before I posted this review because I wanted to be fair. No answer from them. They dodged my calls and when they did get on the line, they hung up on me. There was new carpet in the room and I see now several reviews of this hotel beginning in March 2011 describing the horrible smell and it is now July 2011. They obviously feel they have dealt with the fallout from the flood. It is now my civic duty to warn any future guests about the Las Rosas mold/mildew/odor issue. The hotel was sold out so we had no choice but to stay in our particular room but after reading the reviews on this site, it appears the problem is widespread. Our car had to be detailed when we arrived home to try and rid it of the smell due to our luggage being in the back. We tried to have our luggage cleaned but it was unsuccessful. Since it was a short trip not much luggage was needed so we just threw it out! The smell was that bad. if you or your children suffer from asthma, mold allergies or any allergies, this place could really make you ill. As a side note, at one point my lipstick rolled behind the nightstand that sits 4 or 5 inches from the wall due to a mountain of wire behind it and I am pretty sure that area has not been cleaned since the nightstand was originally placed there. The hair and dirt that had collected behind there was so appalling, i decided I didn't need that lipstick anyway.

Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
19 Thank Ava858894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2010

This hotel has every room facing out to the ocean, and a gorgeous pool and fire pit area. The restaurant is known to be the best hotel restaurant in the area. The rooms haven't been remodeled in a while, but was done very tastefully and is very well kept. Many would think the hotel is much younger than it's actual age of 25 years old. The only downside is how close it is to the main highway. The rooms that have the beds on the oceanside are well insulated from the sound, but some rooms may have traffic noise. If you are looking for a gorgeous getaway at a great price, this is the place!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCMI-Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2010

Saw the reviews and then did a 3 nite special off their website. It was very easy to get to off the main highway. The balcony over the pools and breaking surf were all you could ask for on the coast. They allowed you a late breakfast with the package and you choose out of 3 options. It was also well located for running into Ensanada or going the other direction to the wine valley. It was sad that such a beautiful place at a great price was 2/3 empty no doubt because of news from other parts of Mexico. We were actually told at the SD tourist offfice that they were supposed to advise not to go to Mexico. When we said we have common sense and we were going they had some good maps etc. of Ensanada. Drive down was easy and pretty but being careful we just drove thru TJ. I am still at a loss to firgue out why no Mexican wines in the midwest because the wineries in the valley rival Sonoma for quality and beauty.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hesperia, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2010

The room and service was as good as expected. Only ate breakfast the last day and it was very good. This is not 5 star vegas type room. But the views from your balcony are 5++ stars. The room was a solid 4 by mexican resort standards. I will return when the chance occurs, and think it is by far the best deal in Ensenada.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turbo609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ensenada hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Coral & Marina
Hotel Coral & Marina
#1 of 37 in Ensenada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
3.5 mi away
Corona Hotel & Spa
Corona Hotel & Spa
#8 of 37 in Ensenada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
#9 of 37 in Ensenada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Quintas Papagayo
Quintas Papagayo
#7 of 37 in Ensenada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.7 mi away
Punta Morro Resort
Punta Morro Resort
#3 of 37 in Ensenada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Cortez
Hotel Cortez
#14 of 37 in Ensenada
3.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Rosas Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Rosas Hotel & Spa

Property: Las Rosas Hotel & Spa
Address: Carretera Tijuana, Ensenada, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Ensenada Municipality > Ensenada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Ensenada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Las Rosas Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Las Rosas Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Rosas Hotel Ensenada
Las Rosas Hotel And Spa
Las Rosas Ensenada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing