We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot water? What hot water!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Ensenada
Borrego Springs, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hot water? What hot water!”
Reviewed June 30, 2006

We made reservations on the Hotel's website in April for our June stay. We requested a balcony room. We arrived at 2 PM and the room was not ready. No problem as check in wasn't until 3 so we had lunch and came back at 3. The room was ready. When we got to the room it was barely bigger than our bathroom at home. It ws dark, no balcony as requested, and no closet space or dresser space for clothes. We asked for another room with balcony and were told they didn't have any. We decided to splurge and upgrade to the master suite. The room was big with a jacuzzi tub. Problem was you couldn't fill the tub or take a shower as there was no water pressue. The hot just trickled out. We called for someone to fix it and the manager came up to look that night. He said someone would fix it in the morning. When we got back late afternoon it still had not been fixed. We called again and someone came up and looked at it again and said he would check the pressue to the hotel itslef. At 6 PM when nothing had been resolved we went to the desk to complain again. This time a new person was there and she said they have had that problem for 2 years!!! So, we changed rooms again! This time to a junior suite with the balcony we had requested in the beginning! This room also had a smaller jacuzzi tub, but still not enough pressure to fill. By the time it filled the water was cold. Overall the hotel is in a great location, a bit noisey but not too bad. Walking distance to everything. Don't think we'd stay there again. We've stayed in several other Ensenada Hotels and this one rates the lowest with us.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank borregolinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    108
    45
    23
    22
See reviews for
67
100
18
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2006

If you want to reserve a room at the Best Value Inn in downtown Ensenada hotel, I would recommend calling them directly rather than using Expedia. I reserved 1 night through Expedia for late May. Wanting 2 beds, I selected a room description on Expedia that says "one queen, one queen" for $85, rather than another description that says "only one queen". Once at the hotel, I found out a room costing $85 has only one bed, and ended up being charged the peso equivalent of approximately $140 US for the room I had reserved. Expedia's reply to my complaint was that it "cannot guarantee that the rate will still be the same at the date you reserved your itinerary online until the time of check-in". (I reserved the room less than one month in advance.) For approximately the same price, I could have stayed at Bajamar and I believe I would have been happier.
The restaurant across the street from the Best Value Inn, called Rey Sol, had excellent food and service.

Helpful?
9 Thank tbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 18, 2006

This is one of the great undiscovered motels of Baja California, a real Mexican posada. From the terra cotta flagstoned patio one looks up to three stories of rooms between each are beautiful tile work, and reached by a wonderful old glass enclosed elevator. The rooms are differently furnished with Mexican bedsteads and furniture, delicately painted pottery on the walls, some tin work, and often an Aztec painting. Bathrooms are modern but with lovely and extensive tilework and marble floors. Try the rooms on the third floor facing east and see the whole city laid you before you from thei tiny balconies. The very young front office staff were particularly nice and put up with my bad Spanish but would cheerfully lapse into English when I got stuck.

And just across the street is the Restaurant El Rey Sol, justly famous as one of the best in Alto or Baja California serving real French food in a beautiful dining room. French pastries and crepes suzettes to die for, snails and a fantastic zarzuela (sort of a cross between the delicious Mexican caldo and the French bouillabaisse). And don't forget the extensive breakfast which always attracts a large Mexican clientele. The omelet de mariscos was particularly tasty, and the orange juice fresh-squeezed. If you don't like weak "cafe Americano" (agua pintada) they will be happy to serve you an espresso or cappucino. The waiting is superbly professional.

The restaurant is on Avenida Lopez Mateos, the nicest tourist street I have ever seen- wide, clean, and lined with interesting shops and restaurants. This was reconstructed by the owner of the restaurant and posada, Arq. Jean-Loup Bitterlin (the posada was furnished by his daughter Jeanelle).

Not far away is the Valle de Guadalupe with a number of large wineries with tasting rooms and friendly and knowledgable staff.

Stayed March 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego , CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2006

For the price, I'd say this resort is above average. Most wholesale vacation companies rate this property a 3 and for a 3, I'd say it's pretty nice.

LOCATION- Great Zone location. Nearby shops, dining, nightlife, etc. Within walking distance, or short ride from anywhere you'd want to go. 35 pesos for a ride to anywhere in Ensenada was the going rate when I was there. You could often get it for cheaper though if you tried.

DINING- There is one restaurant and one bar. The drinks of course were delicious and the food was fine too. The good thing about the menu was there were always other options... if you didnt' like the Mexican Food that day, you could order off the menu (French Cousiene). There was always something on the menu that was good. Great helado!!!

POOL- One pools, one hot tub. I was there in Jan. so the pools were pretty cold. One is pretty much in the shade all day long, so that one was really cold. we never really sat by the pool anyway. They do have nice pool furniture though. At about 4pm the hot tub would be full of people.. that was always fun. Grab a few drinks and sit in the hot tub...

ROOMS- Average rooms, they were always very clean. Lots of closet space. Good blow dryer. Our room had an airconditioner that worked VERY well... it would get so cold if we were to leave it on for even an hour or so. On the other hand, We had rooms on the first floor, which was great. Everyone room has a balcony or porch.

SERVICE- The wait staff at this property is very accomodating. We were all-inclusive and they wouldn't let us lift a hand.

CLIENTEL - Families, senior citizens, spring breakers.... a wide variety. Lots of California.

Have a great time in Ensenada. We sure did!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Rooms
Helpful?
9 Thank Jerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tijuana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2006

We have just returned from a trip at the POSADA DEL REY SOL!!
The hotel is magnificent and we experienced such incredible service. We couldn't wait to get back to the peace and tranquility of the hotel.

Breakfast is a lovely, during the afternoon El Rey Sol (french food)IS GREAT!!!
The pool is lovely, not that we went swiming because at this time of the year is cold there. They even have a spa there!!

Overall I would say this is a great choice to stay at Ensenada Baja California Mexico!!!

Helpful?
4 Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2005

My husband & I stayed at Posada El Rey Sol in July 2005. I read reviews on TripAdvisor and did lots of research before we decided on this hotel. One thing we did know (even though we saw some other places that interested us) was that we wanted to be in town close to everything, which limited our choices.

We didn't make reservations in advance but decided to go check it out before checking in. We liked the appearance from the outside because it appeared quaint, with a nice Mexican flair. We asked to see a standard room, and I was shown two standard rooms and a junior suite-even though we had no intention of paying the junior ste. rates. The standard rooms were adequate, and I even checked the water pressure of each (since I have long hair, it helps!) and it seemed fine. The junior suite was nice-sized, had more decor, a nicer bathroom w/ a jucuzzi tub & separate shower, a loveseat, and small bar. When I arrived back at the counter to report to my husband, I told him about the junior ste. and the man behind the counter (manager?) told us he would give us that room for only $10 more than the standard--probably because of timing and empty rooms. We decided it was worth it and didn't regret it. Now keep in mind, our expectations are different for non-U.S. hotels, but we didn't have any major problems. I also made sure to ask for a remote at the counter, and they gave me one for the TV and one for the a/c. We ended up having to go back down with the TV remote a couple of times before we got the right one, but it wasn't a big deal because we weren't there to watch TV anyway. We decided we would definitely stay there again.

One thing you can't miss at this hotel is the bar that's hidden in the back. It's a great place to go even if you're not staying at Posada. We went for the margarita happy hour (and the earlier reviewer is right-they aren't very good), but while there we met Fernando who is the bartender who also runs the place. He's put a lot of effort into decorating the bar to give it a mexican flavor (which we love) and is also a great conversationalist. We intended to have a couple of drinks then go to dinner. Instead, we had a couple of drinks, switched to the "real" margaritas (which are great), had a little dinner made by Fernando himself, and didn't leave until the wee hours of the morning! He was a very sweet, intelligent man who could have intriguing conversation with anyone. This night will always stand out to us when we think of our trip to Ensenada. In fact, if you decide to try it out, tell Fernando you read about him on TripAdvisor. I told him I was going to give him a glowing review on TripAdvisor (because he deserves it), so he wouldn't go unnoticed in his hidden bar!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank carjunkmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2005

Okay, this is only a 2-star hotel, but if you want to stay in the city center, it's preferable to many of the alternatives. Most importantly, unlike many of the hotels in the central area, it is secure and quiet. I certainly would stay here again if I needed a place in the main tourist area of Ensenada.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank elephant1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ensenada hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Coral & Marina
Hotel Coral & Marina
#1 of 37 in Ensenada
552 reviews
0.4 mi away
Corona Hotel & Spa
Corona Hotel & Spa
#6 of 37 in Ensenada
245 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cortez
Hotel Cortez
#16 of 37 in Ensenada
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Quintas Papagayo
Quintas Papagayo
#8 of 37 in Ensenada
135 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
#10 of 37 in Ensenada
124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western El Cid
Best Western El Cid
#7 of 37 in Ensenada
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol

Property: Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol
Address: Avenida Blancarte, 130 | Zona Centro, Ensenada 22800, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Ensenada Municipality > Ensenada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ensenada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming colonial boutique hotel is located in the heart of Ensenada. You can walk to more than 20 restaurants and coffee shops along the bazaar like streets lined with art treasures, each one more unique than the next.The intimate and friendly atmosphere will allow you to feel like this is your home away from home. The staff will point you in the right direction for whatever you are seeking.Come and experience our warm & friendly hospitality!Our staff will help make your visit to Ensenada a stay to remember filled with a variety of activities such as wine tours, whale and fishing trips, restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol Hotel Ensenada
Americas Best Value Inn Ensenada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing