We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made my stay in Ensenada a pleasant one.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Ensenada
Salton City, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Made my stay in Ensenada a pleasant one.”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I stayed at his hotel on my first trip to Ensenada. The Hotel has a quaint feel to it. It is comfortable and in a great spot. The staff is super friendly and very helpful. The price was also good and they were able to recommend some good spots for food and sight seeing. The only reason why I did not give it a 5 is that the pool was dirty so we could not swim in it and their wifi, though free, was tricky to get to work. My brother finally got reception in our room on the third floor by placing his phone on the floor. Other than these two points, I really enjoyed my stay here and have no qualms about recommending iti to friends.

Room Tip: The third floor is fairly quiet, though there is the issue with the internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
globetrotter60, Director General at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Juan,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad you enjoyed our hotel. For our staff to make you feel like home is one of our mottos.
We apologize for the pool appearance, it was not dirty but needs
Some maintenance, and
we are working to get it ready for summer. And regarding the WIFI, we are going to check out your troubling connection. We hope to see you really soon at our hotel.

Regards,

Jeannelle Bitterlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    106
    45
    23
    22
See reviews for
66
100
18
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I have been visiting Ensenada for almost 50 years now and have stayed at many hotels and rented many vacation properties, but this was my first time staying at the Posada El Rey Sol. The staff is great. We reserved three rooms during Carnival Ensenada. Needless to say the hotel was quite busy, but the highly professional front desk staff handled our check-in with exceptional efficiency. I believe the young ladies name was Andrea and she is a true asset to this property. Our rooms were spacious, clean and were equipped with all the comforts we required. The housekeeping staff is great as they work quickly and quietly as they perform their respective duties. The room rate is a great value to boot. The Posada El Rey Sol is located on the south end of the old restaurant row and is within walking distance of most or the in-city points of interest, the Malecón and tourist area. I highly recommend this property for your next stay in Ensenada.

Room Tip: If visiting from the make sure to get a FastPass - it took us 12 minutes to cross the border on a Mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 4EIEIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
globetrotter60, Gerente at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hello,

We are very happy to hear that you had such a wonderful experience with us. Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and letting us know what we are doing right. Our receptionist Andrea was very excited to read your review, and happy to hear she contributed to your good experience.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Regards,

Jeannelle Bitterlin
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

The location and private parking are the first good things about this place, unusual in Ensenada. Our room was large with good TV, in-room coffee, good bed and bathroom. The shower was pretty but hot water a bit iffy. All in all I would stay here again for the location and security, a good value.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank bahamareef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
globetrotter60, Gerente at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We like to hear from our customers so we can continue improving our service.
We do apologize for the hot water situation, but are happy to hear you had an otherwise good experience with us!

We hope to see you again very soon

Regards,

Jeannelle Bitterlin
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vegas baby
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

My wife and I have stayed at Posada El Rey twice now on weekend trips and have had mixed feeling about the place. The positives of the motel are the staff which have been very friendly and courteous whenever we've had any interaction with them. The location is incredibly convenient to the downtown area as well as the marina which allows for easy shopping and dining. They also give you a daily breakfast voucher for the French restaurant across the street. You can have a free breakfast(limited menu) or a discount off of menu items. The beds are slightly old but surprisingly comfortable.

Now for the bad. On our first stay the floor of the room was dirty to the point that we both wore flip-flops when walking around. We stay at a wide range of places(high end to lower end) and have rarely had this experience. We had the exact same room on the second stay and the floor was clean on that trip. There is also an odd feeling of insecurity with the back door configuration. The closet is a walk-thru area which leads to a small back patio. The door is secured with a small sliding hasp which can be easily breached. There are security bars on the patio but it still seems a bit insecure.

We have another Baja trip planned for June and will likely stay at Posada again. The good definitely trumps the bad and for the convenience it's worth staying here.

Room Tip: Several of the rooms have sliders next to the entry door. The motel is mostly quite but you should a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Papa_Lou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
globetrotter60, Gerente at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hello,

It is always a pleasure to hear from our customers, and we thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear that you have had pleasant experiences with us, and appreciate our convenient location.

As for the bad as you say, we did have in the past some trouble with our floors and the way we had been cleaning them. We have since taken measures with our cleaning staff and cleaning products, which is why you saw a difference. Please always let us know any cleaning issue when you are at our hotel as well so we can quickly remedy it.

You mention that you feel insecure because of the small backdoor patio. Please let me assure that in our more than forty years in business we have NEVER had a break-in to any of the rooms. The security bars are very sturdy, we are in a safe area and have a security guard round the clock. However, if you prefer you can ask for a balcony room for your next visit as those do not have the backdoor patios.

Looking forward to seeing you soon,
Jeannelle Bitterlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Very convinient location with quality service. I can't wait to go back to Ensenada to stay there. Congratulations to your staff!!!!!! they make you feel @ Home. During the Wine events I strongly suggest to make reservaciones with at least 4 months ahead since it is the peak season on town. Look for the official Fiestas de la Vendimia calendar to find good deals on the wineries.

Room Tip: It is good to know that El Rey Sol restaurant is a family owned Restaurant that serves the greatest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricardo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
globetrotter60, Gerente at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience at our hotel in our beautiful city of Ensenada.
We are glad our staff makes you feel at home, that is the experience we wish for our clients.
Like you mentioned LAS FIESTAS DE LA VENDIMIA are an amazing time to get to know Ensenada and the wineries that we have in town.
Hope to see you really soon at our hotel, and our city.

Kind regards

Jeannelle Bitterlin
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordoba, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I booked this hotel mainly based in TripAdvisor reviews.
It has not been a great experience.
The check-in took ages, the only clerk at peak hour was busy taking calls, closing an endless transaction to rent a conference room and taking care of us.
The room was basic, or less...one of the lights was not working, only one night stand and one light for a queen bed, the carpet has nor been vacummed in years, the thermostat had the dial removed, so you can't adjust the settings, water was scarcely flowing through the fawcets, the only ammenity was a shower cap, enything else you have to pay.
Good points are the location and the restaurant, but I won't come back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rutilante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
globetrotter60, Gerente at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Hello,

We are very disappointed to hear of your disappointing experience with us. We apologize for such an experience with us, and would like to explain ourselves.
Unfortunately, our reception clerk wa extremely busy as you described. I do not know what day was your check-in, but we normally have two staff members on weekends when it is higher traffic as to avoid experiences like yours. As for one of the lights not working, we wish you had reported this so we could have fixed it or changed your rooms. Housekeeping checks these kinds of issues when they clean the room, and have already informed them of their mishap. The carpets I assure you are vaccumed after each client, and we periodically have a professional service to come deep clean them.
The water problem is unfortunately one happening across the city, because the region has been undergoing a drought, our water has been affected. The ammenities we include in your room are free wifi, water bottles, cooffee, tea, shampoo, soap, conditioner and the shower cap.

As a hotelier, it upsets me that your experience was disappointing, and to have to explain so many mishaps. We truly hope that you will give us another chance to enjoy one of rooms, we are a boutique hotel so each room is different, and that you will enjoy once again our restaurant.

Sincerely,
Jeannelle Bitterlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I've stayed here many times over the past few years and I've always been pleased with the cleanliness, service and price of the single bed rooms.

So why am I disappointed? I'm uncertain the amount that we have spent over the years at the hotel, but let's say we eat and drink well at their restaurant and almost never stay anywhere else when in town.

After waiting 4 hours to cross at San Ysidro yesterday, I decided to Google the Medical lane, Sentri and Ready Lane. To my surprise, two of the 10ish establishments in Ensenada which offer the Fast Pass are no other than the Hotel and Restaurant that we regularly patronize, yet, we have never had the service even mentioned to us by hotel or restaurant staff???

So why have we never been offered a Fast Pass? It's unlikely that I will be staying or eating at El Rey again until an explanation is provided.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jasonwasthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
globetrotter60, Gerente at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Hello Jason,

We would like to apologize for such an oversight from our staff in not mentioning the fast pass information. Also, we would like to thank you for your patronage over the years, as we truly do appreciate our loyal customers.
I personally did further research on this matter because I was astonished that you had never heard of this information since our staff has been informed and trained to inform our clients of all of their options. Not only that, but the hotel and restaurant owner is a great promoter of the fast pass lane, knowing what a commodity it is to our clientele.
We buy the fast passes from the government, and because they are not free to us, we do have to include them with certain room rates, and for the restaurant it is included in a $90 minimum bill. I do not know if you have not been informed because of these conditions, but that still does not excuse the misinformation.

I hope that you take our apology and will give us another chance. If you would like to discuss this matter further, please provide me with an email address to do so.

Hoping to see you again soon,
Jeannelle Bitterlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ensenada hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Coral & Marina
Hotel Coral & Marina
#1 of 37 in Ensenada
545 reviews
0.4 mi away
Corona Hotel & Spa
Corona Hotel & Spa
#7 of 37 in Ensenada
242 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cortez
Hotel Cortez
#15 of 37 in Ensenada
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Quintas Papagayo
Quintas Papagayo
#6 of 37 in Ensenada
131 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
#10 of 37 in Ensenada
122 reviews
3.3 mi away
Las Rosas Hotel & Spa
Las Rosas Hotel & Spa
#11 of 37 in Ensenada
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol

Property: Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol
Address: Avenida Blancarte, 130 | Zona Centro, Ensenada 22800, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Ensenada Municipality > Ensenada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ensenada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming colonial boutique hotel is located in the heart of Ensenada. You can walk to more than 20 restaurants and coffee shops along the bazaar like streets lined with art treasures, each one more unique than the next.The intimate and friendly atmosphere will allow you to feel like this is your home away from home. The staff will point you in the right direction for whatever you are seeking.Come and experience our warm & friendly hospitality!Our staff will help make your visit to Ensenada a stay to remember filled with a variety of activities such as wine tours, whale and fishing trips, restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol Hotel Ensenada
Americas Best Value Inn Ensenada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing