We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5th. year in a row here.”
Review of Posada El Rey Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Posada El Rey Sol
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Ensenada
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We have liked this place because it is dog friendly and right down on the tourist strip, very close to everything. This time we have concerns...first the price is out of control, then...it seems to be falling into disrepair....quite dirty this time..my wife spilled something on the carpet by the bed..being responsible she took a hand towel that was a white one and began to swipe up the spill....when she noticed black was coming off of the carpet..so black that she wanted to show it to the owner , to say why is it so dirty. They really need to clean this place...the first night we were put in a room, with no working heater...wife froze in bed. It got cold that night , couldn't get any heat to come out of the trashed heater. In the morning we went down to tell the same girl, who checked us in the night before...she said she would send someone to fix it. An hour later nobody was coming..so my wife went down again and said , give us another room with a working heater..she was told..I'll send someone up...to fix it. We went for breakfast..we were gone 2 hours and when we got back...nobody had been to see the broken heater. So I went down and demanded another room..told her we were leaving unless she changed our room..dirty looks from girl at front desk...I was in a huff as well..but lest they forget..we were paying over $100.00 a night. Had been many times before here and didn't like the treatment we were getting. So she reluctantly gave me a key to a different room, which we moved immediately to. This was upsetting to us.The whole ordeal...we should not have had to pay for the first awful night. The shower is appalling...moldy...everytime I moved my arm the shower door opened and the water went onto the floor...tiniest shower stall ever. The girl at the front office can speak english...but that's all she could do. We did not like this hotel this time at all. Oh, the parking lot was empty..we thought we were the only people in the whole place. Next door is a hotel..their parking lot was full..double parked, crammed in. We don't know about this place anymore...we will try another establishment when we come back thru Ensenada. Overall it should get a terrible. Price, help, cleanliness...bad. Sorry Jean Luc...looks like you've been sleeping at the wheel here.

Room Tip: Look around Ensenada for a much better hotel than this..there is better value some where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Will F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
globetrotter60, Propietario at Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

I am appalled and embarrased by your comments, as well as very appreciative for taking the time to write. In regard to the price, we have several levels of room prices and most of them include either a bottle of wine, 5 shot can of tequila or an hour of margaritas, as well as an american breakfast for two, and a Fast Lane Pass to return to the US within a half an hour. We believe the value added features, as well as the room and other amenities, such as free WIFI, courtesy coffee, free bottled water and ice, free bath sponges, fresh flowers, etc. are worth the rate. I am sorry you felt you were paying too much, but we need a certain income in order to continue to upgrade our property for you and others. In regard to the dirty carpet, we don't have an excuse and I shall look into our maintance schedule to increase the carpet cleaning times per month. We are in the process of renewing our AC units as some have controls that are confusing to operate even for me. Remodeling our bathrooms is a priority that we are focused on for the spring. We are always improving our hotel, as recognized by your loyalty in the past, as well as our #2 position on Tripadvisor. But as a hotel owner and operator, I would have appreciated your comments to me first, as negative comments on Tripadvisor should only be a last resort, but I respect your right to express your opinions however you wish to do. I would like to have you reconsider our property again on your next visit to Ensenada, as well as an opportunity to personally welcome you back.

Jean Loup Bitterlin
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 313 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014

Stayed here right after a night at the Rosarita Beach Hotel. A real upgrade compared to the room at the Rosarita Beach Hotel (other than the view). Somebody put some time into making the quality of this room very pleasant, cosy, clean, relatively spacious and comfy. Did not visit the pool or hang out at any of the windows looking at the view. Management very attentive. Very good location. The scenic route to Ensenada was closed due to a land slide so took the inland route. Very scenic as well. May take this next time for variety.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor. Nice rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2Wolfgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
globetrotter60, Gerente at Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience on tripadvisor.
We are glad you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel and at our city, we definitely take pride in our rooms and try to make them as comfortable as possible for our guests.

Indeed the land slide was an unfortunate event, but as you mentioned the tollfree inland road is perfect for getting to our city. Of course our city and federal government is working hard to resolve and repair our scenic route. Meanwhile enjoy all the attractions Ensenada has to offer such as la bufadora, the wineries and more.

Sincerely ,

Jeannelle Bitterlin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This was our 6th stay in Ensenada. This has to be one of the most comfortable places to stay. First of all, if having an ice machine is important for you, this place rules! Second, quite close to all important tourist things. Free breakfast, fast pass, in room amenities, clean sheets, potted plant in the room, nice people at the front desk, 12 pm check out, easy parking. Our room was clean, and the floor was clean, thanks probably to the people who stayed there right before us and wrote a review of the filthy floors! You cant go wrong booking a room here, but dont get spoiled because most other places that charge the same rate in ensenada have standards far far below this one.

Room Tip: They put us on the first floor and our car was parked right outside our door. So convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosemary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
globetrotter60, Gerente at Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

As we had mentioned before, we are working with a new floor cleaning/waxing machine, all this to ensure the floors are clean as our guests deserve.
We will love to see you really soon visiting again our hotel and our city, and next time don't forget to visit all the beautiful tourist points Ensenada has to offer you, such as La Bufadora, the winneries, cheese factories, museum and more.
Next time you visit us, feel free to ask our staff members, we will be happy to guide you through all.

Sincerely,


Jeannelle Bitterlin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We've stayed at this hotel in Ensenada many times over the years. It use to be a Travelodge a few years back. The room was nice, the bed was comfortable, Nice TV (could have had a few more English stations), coffee and water in the room, nice shower, the free breakfast, all in all a great hotel for the money,,,,,,,,,,,, However, I felt that the pillows were a little skimpy. Too small, too flat and not enough. Next time we'll bring our own, no big deal. But we will definately be back.

Room Tip: Bring your own pillow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FIREFLY60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
globetrotter60, Gerente at Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. As you mentioned we were a Travelodge for many years, and we have since joined AMERICAS BEST VALUE INN, we have been happily working with them for more than a decade now. We believe that being part of an American chain helps us better serve you, our clientele.

We are glad you have enjoyed your stay in our Hotel and our amenities.
Regarding the pillows we apologize they were not to your liking, we try to have a variety since we all enjoy different pillows. I suggest that you ask for more or different pillows from Housekeeping on your next trip, or of course bring your own if you prefer as you mentioned. Hope too see you very soon at Posada El Rey Sol.

Sincerely,

Jeannelle Bitterlin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

It's not luxurious or sparkling, but I think it is a little gem nonetheless.

First off - the positives:

1) Great location

2) Wonderful staff

3) Comfortable bed

4) Soap in mounted dispenser in bathroom, and shampoo, conditioner and body soap mounted in dispenser in shower with shower puff provided.

5) Free Wifi

6) Flat screen TV

7) Convenient, secure parking in front of room

8) Free breakfast (2 choices) or 35 pesos off any other breakfast at the fabulous El Rey Sol.

The negative-

The FILTHY floor!!!

Now I know this isn't the Four Seasons so I can overlook the cinder block walls and the cracked bathroom tiles. But I can't believe that housekeeping does not mop the floors. If they do, they must quickly drag a mop over the tiles and skip any and every attention to detail. I put on my white athletic socks as I didn't bring slippers, and they were black in a matter of minutes.

We will be back at the end of the Jan and will probably give Posada El Rey Sol another shot.

But I will bring slippers just in case, and so should you if you decide to stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anejo-y-Coca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
globetrotter60, Asistente de Dirección at Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Thank you for your thorough review, and happy new year to you! We are glad you enjoyed all the amenities we offer to our guest and that your overall experience was pleasant.

We truly apologize for the dirty floor in the room, we are already taking action to amend this situation. In fact we just purchased a new floor cleaning/waxing machine to ensure our floors are thoroughly clean.

Thank you for giving Hotel Posada El Rey Sol another opportunity to serve you better. If you would be so kind to send your personal information to reservaciones@elreysol.com as we would love to meet you and personally welcome you on your next trip.

Best regards


Abigail Montaño
Asistente de Dirección

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed in room 108. The floor looked dirty so I took a wet wash cloth and make a swipe on the floor. It came up BLACK. There is no way they could be cleaning the floor. It was gross and I had to wear my shoes everywhere in the room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Go2thec2live
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
globetrotter60, Direccion at Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on tripadvisor. We apologize the room was not up to our cleanliness standard and you can be sure we are taking action on it.
Hopefully you will give us another opportunity to better serve you and come back to Hotel Posada El Rey Sol.
Happy Holidays,


Abigail Montaño
Asistente de Direccion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

This room was totally unexpected and a wonderful surprise and beautifully charming. I cannot say enough about the room and hotel it really made my stay in Mexico more lovely than I could of thought possible. Thank you AMericas best value Inn. Will be returning.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank clkaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
globetrotter60, Director General at Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our beautiful and romantic honeymoon suite. Making your stay an unforgettable experience is our mission.

We hope to see you really soon in at Hotel Posada El Rey Sol, and that you enjoy all that Ensenada has to offer such as wineries, restaurants, museums and our unique cheese cellar.

Happy holidays.


Jeannelle Bitterlin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ensenada hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Coral & Marina
Hotel Coral & Marina
#1 of 38 in Ensenada
580 reviews
3.3 mi away
Las Rosas Hotel & Spa
Las Rosas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 38 in Ensenada
238 reviews
18.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
#11 of 38 in Ensenada
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Cortez
Hotel Cortez
#10 of 38 in Ensenada
146 reviews
0.4 mi away
Corona Hotel & Spa
Corona Hotel & Spa
#7 of 38 in Ensenada
254 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quintas Papagayo
Quintas Papagayo
#6 of 38 in Ensenada
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada El Rey Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada El Rey Sol

Address: Avenida Blancarte 130 | Zona Centro, Ensenada 22800, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Ensenada Municipality > Ensenada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ensenada
Price Range: $69 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Posada El Rey Sol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming colonial boutique hotel is located in the heart of Ensenada. You can walk to more than 20 restaurants and coffee shops along the bazaar like streets lined with art treasures, each one more unique than the next.The intimate and friendly atmosphere will allow you to feel like this is your home away from home. The staff will point you in the right direction for whatever you are seeking.Come and experience our warm & friendly hospitality!Our staff will help make your visit to Ensenada a stay to remember filled with a variety of activities such as wine tours, whale and fishing trips, restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Posada El Rey Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol Hotel Ensenada
Americas Best Value Inn Ensenada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing