We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spanish style Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Ensenada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spanish style Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

I was pleased when I arrived that there was a room available... We did not book online and although the manager was able to upgrade the room because he saw my tripadvisor badge, I believe the room prices are a bit pricier than usual. I mean it was over 120 a night for just two of us. I know location is great but The city was lonesome. Businesses were all closed by 9. I do appreciate the detail of the place. Sun imprints in distinct places. The breakfast voucher is great. It's a small breakfast but hey it's free.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoxyD141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
globetrotter60, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
thank you for your nice review.
At HOTEL POSADA EL REY SOL our guest comfort it's the most important. We are working on our hotel facilities every day.
We are glad you like the city, we hope you have an opportunity to visit our wineries and our cheese factories, this are just some of all the beautiful and amazing attractions of our city

Sincerely

Abigail Montaño
Reservations manager
+52 (646) 178.1601
reservaciones@elreysol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    101
    42
    21
    21
See reviews for
56
97
17
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel was booked on reviews alone. I was so pleased with the room!! Big flat screen TV. Only problem is get only 2 English channels. The beds were nice and firm, great for a bad backs. I slept very comfortable! The shower had a jacuzzi tube which was perfect. I would have liked the hotel jacuzzi outdoors but it was very cloudy and seemed dirty. The pool was small not much of a view of anything. Very inclosed. But clean and warm. The staff was helpful and polite the min we arrived. The fast pass thru the border was very helpful! Saved us 2hrs of having to wait. The free breakfast was excellent! The restaurant was beautiful! The weather was perfect for the patio area. Hotel location couldn't of been better. Walk to bars and shops! The hotel has a small parking area for your car small but seems secure! I would definitly return to this hotel!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rustydog01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
globetrotter60, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing the experience you had with us.
We are glad you and your companion enjoyed our facilities.
Remember to ask our staff about or almost free package, which includes breakfast, the fast fast pass, 5 shots of tequila among many promotions.
Also thank you for taking the time to try our restaurant EL REY SOL,
who has delighted the palate of our guests for 66 years until today.
Would be a pleasure for us to have you visit our city one more time and have the opportunity
Of get to know all the beautiful places that we have, such as the Wineries, la Bufadora ,
our world famous Hussong's bar among our many city attractions.

Abigail Montaño
Reservations manager
+52 (646) 178.1601
reservaciones@elreysol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Our stay here at Posada El Rey Sol was excellent based on what we were looking for.We were not looking for room service with a sunset view of the ocean. All we wanted was to explore and get to know the town. I would not pay any more than what we did for other hotels by the port or downtown area in Ensenada. You must understand there are no 5 star hotels like the Westin, Hyatt, Four Seasons, etc like Cabo or Cancun and there really is no need. I loved the location. It was close enough to walk everywhere, and far enough from the craziness of downtown Ensenada where the bars are. This side of town had a nicer, safer, brighter, and a cleaner feel. The hotel has friendly staff that are willing to help you and speak enough English. The room was clean and I slept comfortably. I was right by the front desk on the first floor, probably not an ideal location for a room, but it was fine. Yes, the walls and the ceiling is a bit thin but I slept through it because I was so tired. The hotel gave us coupons for breakfast for El Rey Sol restaurant and it was great as well.

If I must be picky, I wish they would have stocked up on city maps and brochures.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kewpiemayodoll40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
globetrotter60, Reservations manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for you nice review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at our HOTEL POSADA EL REY SOL.
We are looking forward to giving you an excellent service, next time you visit us make sure to visit our wineries, Marcelo's cheese & wine cellar, and La Bufadora among our many city attractions.
Once again, thank you for you preference, and we hope you can visit us again soon.

Abigail Montaño
Reservations manager
+52 (646) 178.1601
reservaciones@elreysol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

My sister and I stayed at this hotel for a weekend. It was a very pleasant stay in a charming old Spanish style hotel. The hotel is located at the quieter end of the main street, but still within walking distance of the action. The decor is authentica Mexican, with Spanish tile in the bathroom, a sliding patio door and a added bonus of a back door with a totally enclosed private balcony. It was pretty quiet considering it was a weekend, Saturday night the hotel was full. The front desk staff are so friendly as are the rest of the staff at the hotel. The beds were quite comfortable. They have free wi fi but it is very slow. My only complaint was there was no dresser in the room, we hung up most of our clothes after asking for extra hangers, but a dresser is needed in the room. All they had was a writing desk. We will definitely stay here again. Thanks to all at this nice hotel.

Room Tip: Top floor away from the elevator is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SewerGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
globetrotter60, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
We have kept our ancestry and tradition in our decor
and always looking for the comfort of our guests.
Your opinion its very important to us.
We hope to see you again very soon, at POSADA EL REY SOL,

Abigail Montaño
Reservations manager
+52 (646) 178.1601
reservaciones@elreysol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

I enjoyed my stay here. The rooms are clean and I love the design. The beds are comfortable. It passed my bedbug inspection. The location is central. The manager is very accommodating. The only problem we had was that someone rear ended our car while it was parked in the hotel. None of that is really the hotel's fault, but just be careful because the parking is a little too tight and crowded. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joys_cali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
globetrotter60, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your review.

It is a pleasure to have such an understanding guest as yourself, and we apologize for the incident with your car. We do have another parking lot that is wider and we welcome you to use it in your future stay with us, meanwhile our security guard will be more mindful of parking bigger cars in other areas.

We would be happy to create tours for you to La Bufadora, museums and wineries in town in your next stay.

Thank you.


Abigail Montaño
Reservations manager
+52 (646) 178.1601
reservaciones@elreysol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were very clean, bed was very comfortable. Located in the middle of everything. Noisy if your room is on the first floor. Free secured parking, and we get the FREE Fast Pass to thr Border Line...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MEXICANGRINGO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
globetrotter60, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for you nice review,
At HOTEL POSADA EL REY SOL our guests time it’s the most important,
Remember, the FAST PASS its one all the benefits that comes included in our almost free package, among many promotions.
Don’t forget to ask for it, and let yourself fall in love with Ensendada and HOTEL POSADA EL REY SOL.


Abigail Montaño
Reservations manager
+52 (646) 178.1601
reservaciones@elreysol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed there a couple of weeks ago. The room was spacious. It isn't a luxury destination but the proximity to El Centro was well worth the visit. The desk was very kind and helpful and the "fast pass" got me thru the border in 20 minutes. There was a killer seafood restaurant I walked to that had the best whole seabass grilled for only 120 pesos. ($8) I would highly recommend and will stay there again next time. btw the prices online can be negotiated as the hotel gets all the local rates from competition and usually matches price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BajaR0cks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
globetrotter60, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you a lot for your nice review! Remember, we have the Fast Pass included in you rate! don´t forget toy ask for it the next time.

Hope to have you soon in Hotel Posada El Rey Sol!

Daniela TABUR
Reservations manager
+52 (646) 178.1601
reservaciones@elreysol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ensenada hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Coral & Marina
Hotel Coral & Marina
#1 of 37 in Ensenada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.4 mi away
Corona Hotel & Spa
Corona Hotel & Spa
#6 of 37 in Ensenada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cortez
Hotel Cortez
#14 of 37 in Ensenada
3.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
#9 of 37 in Ensenada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN El Cid
BEST WESTERN El Cid
#4 of 37 in Ensenada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quintas Papagayo
Quintas Papagayo
#8 of 37 in Ensenada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol

Property: Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol
Address: Avenida Blancarte, 130 | Zona Centro, Ensenada 22800, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Ensenada Municipality > Ensenada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Ensenada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming colonial boutique hotel is located in the heart of Ensenada. You can walk to more than 20 restaurants and coffee shops along the bazaar like streets lined with art treasures, each one more unique than the next.The intimate and friendly atmosphere will allow you to feel like this is your home away from home. The staff will point you in the right direction for whatever you are seeking.Come and experience our warm & friendly hospitality!Our staff will help make your visit to Ensenada a stay to remember filled with a variety of activities such as wine tours, whale and fishing trips, restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions and Despegar.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol Hotel Ensenada
Americas Best Value Inn Ensenada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing