We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shop till you drop!”
Review of First Street

First Street
Ranked #2 of 57 things to do in Ensenada
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This street is lined with shops selling curio, with many items costing under $5.
Ensenada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Shop till you drop!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

(I live in Ensenada so I'm not writing this from a tourist's point of view). First Street is full of shops and restaurants and street vendors and I love to go and just walk around, get something to eat, do some window shopping. The prices are good and negotiable. The restaurants are overall excellent and reasonably priced. Morning, afternoon or evening: There's lots to see.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank doximom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    91
    46
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“almost free”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

everything is almost free the vendors say. tourist shopping area with restaurant and bars like papas and beer , hussongs, mango mango. took awhile to find parking.it was fun.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank iliketacos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“"Everything almost free" - or so everyone says”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I was not on a cruise, but we visited it anyway and it is the typical tourist alley. 90% of the items are in every store. I would not pay "Ship" prices to get here.....

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank BigDogAz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
117 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Don't bother getting off the boat!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We could see a sweet little church in town so expected the town would be charming. We took the bus, that's at the pier when you get off the ship, into town. It's a sales pitch to take a tour to La Bufadora for 1/2 the price as the cruise ship's excursion. On the bus, the woman in front of us, who had been to Ensenada before, told us to take off all our jewelry. As we started toward First St, the police were moving people who had slept on the street. Kids, with boxes of knick-knacks, approached us to buy something. Foolishly, I bought a box of 4 "Cuban" cigars--at least I wasn't foolish enough to pay full price--they were un-smokable! We stayed with the woman from the bus, as she seemed to know where to go & what to do, but not for long as we didn't feel safe. We walked as fast as we could back to catch the bus back to the ship. There are Mexican wares for sale in a pier building. That's far enough--at least for us!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank MaJo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tourist Zone”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

First Street is defiantly a tourist zone, Americanized is how i would describe it. Little more expensive than the rest of Ensenada but a good time, everything there is walking distance in the morning. Had a couple of tacos and margaritas. They were Yummy!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank LeslyD123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed First Street also viewed

Ensenada, Ensenada Municipality
Ensenada, Ensenada Municipality
 
Ensenada, Ensenada Municipality
Ensenada, Ensenada Municipality
 

Been to First Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing