We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice weekend stay”
Review of Hotel Casa del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Casa del Sol
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Ensenada
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice weekend stay”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Very nice weekend in Ensenada! The hotel is great, for the price paid. It was clean and tidy with a nice swimming pool. The location is great: basically on the main street, 1 block from the ocean (port) and 5 minutes walking distance from the info center. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    18
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
13
13
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexicali, Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my wife. It is in a good location in downtown Ensenada, walking distance from clubs and bars. We arrived before the check in time but since our room was ready they gave us the key. We didn't have any problem. The staff is friendly, the pool is average. They have a small parking lot in the hotel and one bigger in the same block. Our car was secure and no incidents. Don't forget to try the churros that they sell in the same block of the hotel. No fitness room or spa.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet sleep ask for a back side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cemorillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baja mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

well this is a great hotel the only reason im giving it 4 stars instead of 5 is because the wifi is so poor is practically non existent, the guys at the lobby were very helpful, is kind of runned the old fashion way but it works, and the location is very good overall a solid choice

i would go back

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GonzalezYajimovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I just called to check availability. I don't speak spanish, and as soon as I asked if they spoke English, they hung up! The first time I thought it was a mistake. Nope! Two more calls and the exact same treatment!

I assume they MUST have someone on staff who speaks English. The have an English website!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank iparlefranglais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
konakai1, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Casa del Sol, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear iparlefranglais,

First of all, let me apologize for the delay in responding. I recently started with the company and had to make some inquiries regarding this issue. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. I'm very sorry we could not meet your needs on the day that you called us. I assure you that all of our front desk staff speaks english, however after checking with the staff I found out that there were a couple of days that one of our desk clerks was out sick and unfortunately the only person that we could get to cover does not speak english, he also doesn't work at the front desk normally. I hope you give us another chance to serve you in the future. If you have any additional questions or concerns please feel free to email me directly at vrendon@casadelsolmexico.net.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Excellent value. Even my 4 star wife likes it! Quaint, clean, courteous, comfortable. An oasis of calm in a sea of insanity. Chairs outside each room lend to a resort feeling. The Motel aspect apes to me as we are motorcycle tourers and it is nice to be able to park within sight of you room and check on your bike from time to time. Have stayed twice with no issues.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveonSaltspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
71 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

It's difficult to find a good-value hotel in Ensenada. This one does the trick, although I'd say it's more like a motel, not a hotel. Unpretentious but clean, it's conveniently located in the downtown area of the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antoine_K_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach CA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We have stayed at this motel for about 30 years now and have always found it pleasant, clean, and quiet. There's a nice pool, a coffee shop, a taco shop, a charming bar, and a hot dog place right on the property. What we like best about the place is that it's walking distance to all the great restaurants and shopping without being in the sometimes noisy center. The staff all speak English and are helpful and knowledgeable. There's a taxi stand directly across the street--quite convenient!

Room Tip: We like the rooms closest to the office (recepcion). They've been redecorated and they're r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elizabethLongBeachCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ensenada hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Coral & Marina
Hotel Coral & Marina
#1 of 37 in Ensenada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cortez
Hotel Cortez
#14 of 37 in Ensenada
3.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Corona Hotel & Spa
Corona Hotel & Spa
#8 of 37 in Ensenada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
#9 of 37 in Ensenada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western El Cid
Best Western El Cid
#5 of 37 in Ensenada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quintas Papagayo
Quintas Papagayo
#7 of 37 in Ensenada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa del Sol

Property: Hotel Casa del Sol
Address: Avenida Adolfo Lopez Mateos y Blancarte 1001, Ensenada 22800, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Ensenada Municipality > Ensenada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ensenada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are in downtown walk and convenient to shopping district 1, block from the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Casa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Casa Del Sol
Casa Del Sol Ensenada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing