We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Coral & Marina
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Ensenada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Great rooms, almost large like a suite. Staff are very friendly, services and food are very good. This property is "all inclusive" and you can enjoy almost any international beverage in the bar.

There also are a great marine if you reach this place in your boat. Don't hesitate in make a wine tour to any of the nearest vineyards. Before this trip I didn't know that Baja California produce great wines.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jorge A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCoralMarina, Quality Coordinator at Hotel Coral & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Dear Jorge A:
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor, we greatly appreciate all the feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our Bar Arrecife, the food and our service. We are extremely pleased to welcome you back and look forward to your next visit with us. Thanks again

Sincerely:
Ing. Adalberto Villa S.
Quality Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (575)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 575 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

I cancelled my initial review on TA because the Quality Coordinator, Mr. Villa contacted me and addressed each of my concerns with the utmost professionalism. The following review is the rewritten version of our recent stay at Coral & Marina (C&M) taking into consideration that all my concerns were addressed.

We love visiting Baja and have stayed with Coral & Marina (C&M) for over 15 years, at least 20 times. Our most recent visit was for 09.28-09.30.2012. We made our reservations 6 months in advance for 3 Junior Suites at a cost of $183 per night + tax ea (this is the most we've every paid for a room at C&M). Each room included a Fast Pass. Even though the hotel did not have availability online, we called, and because we are repeat guests luckily, they were able to squeeze us in.

There are many lovely hotels in Ensenada, but we prefer C&M. The layout of their Junior Suites- the ones that have NOT yet been remodeled - is fantastic and includes a small refrigerator, wet bar and a small coffee maker. Every room in the hotel has an incredible Ocean view off the balcony. We enjoy watching the cruise ships come in, during the early hours with a cup of coffee and go out in the evening with a glass of local wine. The bellboys are always really nice and offer big warm smiles and “Hola”s as you come and go from the hotel and seem to remember us from our previous visits. Luciano, the bar man makes the most incredible FRESH fruit mango and fresh strawberry daiquiris and is incredibly helpful, pleasant and courteous. Maid service is spot on and although we are not very mindful about putting items of value away in the safe, when we are not in the room, it has never been an issue.

Three weeks prior to our arrival I contacted Myren Sanchez, Head Concierge to make special requests regarding our rooms. We were granted early check in.

Two weeks prior to our arrival we were contacted by Jesus, the Front Desk Manager who notified us that we had been upgraded to ‘Deluxe’ rooms a.k.a remodeled rooms. I was excited, because I’d never stayed in one of their remodeled rooms before.

We left LA on Friday 09.28 at 7am, stopped at La Fuente in Rosarito for breakfast and were at C&M just after noon. When we checked-in there was a misunderstanding with the person at the front desk and because we used our debit card (in lieu of a credit card) they debited a HUGE amount from our bank account as a security deposit. If we would have realized that they were going to do this, we would have simply provided our credit card (we try and avoid using our credit card whenever possible). Also, we found out that only one of the rooms was a Jr. suite, however all were deluxe. The deluxe/remodel of the Jr. Suite swaps the bedroom and the living room. I see why they would do this, due to the noise from the hallway, but the new configuration does not flow properly and the living room is small, dark and went unused. If our friends stopped by we would visit on the balcony or worse, sit on the beds and visit, which I don’t prefer. I wish they would have just sealed up the window in the bedroom, making it sound proof from the walkway and kept the same layout. The Deluxe fridge is stocked with for-purchase-drinks and is not available for guest use. Going forward we will request UN-remodeled Jr. Suites, as we don't mind the dated furnishings and we prefer the layout prior to the remodel.

The Deluxe/remodeled rooms have new modern furnishings, new paint, new artwork, remodeled bathrooms with big ‘rain’ showers (our favorite!), lovely linens, flat screen TVs and high end toiletries. No wet bar. It's all very plush. The all still have the small coffee maker which we really enjoy. The Deluxe rooms are also more costly.

There is an indoor and outdoor pool/jacuzzi. At night we enjoy soaking in the LARGE outdoor jacuzzi, it also a nice time to visit with other hotel guests. There is bar service at the pool.
We visited the gym and although they could use a few more updated eliptical machines, it worked fine for our needs. We warmed up and cooled down by walking out to the end of the marina, which is beautiful.

In the past, the food at the C&M restaurant has been below par, especially compared to the excellent gastronomy Ensenada and Guadalupe Valley has to offer. Mr. Villa notified us that a/o 05.2012 there is a new Chef, Juan José Gómez. Mr. Gomez comes with an impressive resume. Had we known this, we would have ate at the restaurant on our most recent visit, but we plan to do so next time.

Parking is secured by a security guard at the gate.

Re: Fast Pass, which is not a reflection on C&M, but information for those that will be using the Fast Pass. We’ve used the Fast Pass on at least 5 occasions since the program began, getting us through the San Ysidro border in 15-30 minutes. This trip it took us 1 hour 15 minutes. There are rumors that the Fast Pass system is being abused, which is a shame, because when it worked…it was awesome!!

Upon our departure from C&M, I must admit, I was disappointed and wondered if we would be back. I am generally picky when it comes to hotels and because we were paying a higher rate for the room, I expected more. But, due to the responsiveness and professionalism of Mr. Villa, addressing each and every concern, we look forward to returning and enjoying the ongoing improvements at Hotel Coral & Marina.

Room Tip: Every room has an ocean view. Middle section, upper floors are the best. UNremodeled Jr. Suites hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJ N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed here for two nights early October 2012, was expecting my room to look like the pictures with the orangish colored walls, nicely made bed, flat screen tv, nice couch, etc.... Got to my room, furniture was very outdated, old tube televisions, blue couch that was uncomfortable, and some local chairs that have no cushion. The bathtub was huge, bathroom was big, and all the rooms face the marina (not a beach view, just a view of a bunch of boats). The hallways are loud at people pull their bag by at all hours of night and morning. I give it 3 out of 5 because even though it was outdated, it was clean. A Hampton or Fairfield hotel (bottom end of those chains) has nicer furnishings. The food in the restaurant was ok, they don't serve breakfast until 7am which is a bit late for early departures or working folks. There aren't many other options in Ensenada, if you book a room, make sure you ask if your getting a newly refurbished one or at least one that looks like the professional pics, if you scroll through the pictures, the room I had looks like the older furnishings. I'd stay again, but not at a full rate unless it's the nicer room. I had a reduced rate, which is probably why I got the older room, but 3 out of 5 is average on here and that's how I rate it.

Room Tip: When you book ask if your getting the older furnished rooms or the new and compare rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCoralMarina, Quality Coordinator at Hotel Coral & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Dear Richard J:

Thank you for your feedback. There is nothing more valuable than customer reviews, thus we take each word to heart. We’re pleased to inform you that we’ll be making property enhancements in months to come, including room’s refurbishment in all our Standard and Deluxe suites. We trust that our guests will be delighted with the results. Thank you once again for your review.

Sincerely:
Ing. Adalberto Villa S.
Quality Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Outstanding Place !!! great Food,Great Rooms,Great Fishing !
lots of things to do here ,breakfast is the best,great place to just relax and enjoy mexico, very nice marina great fisging in the area,the rooms ar big and very nice,we always have a nice view,all of the staff is great to work with,and always willing to help,
if your going to be Ensenada Mexico you must stay here at:
Hotel Coral & Marina
Tijuana 3421 | Zona Playitas, Ensenada 22860, Mexico,
Eddie DeLuca
King Of The Cage !

Room Tip: they are all good !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheHitManMine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCoralMarina, Quality Coordinator at Hotel Coral & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Dear TheHitManMine:
It is a pleasure to see how much you enjoyed our location and amenities during your visit. We continually strive to improve our product and service and appreciate your thoughtful comments. It is wonderful to hear that you had such a pleasant visit.
Please let us know your preferences for future stays so we may anticipate any and all requests. Thank you for your visit and for your lovely review.

Sincerely:
Ing. Adalberto Villa S.
Quality Coordinator
adalberto.villa@hotelcoral.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

The hotel overall is very good, the spaces are large, as are the rooms. The restaurant is well. The hotel area is not the best area of Ensenada, but everything is relatively close. The big disadvantage is that the hotel does not have its own beach, the marina is very nice but you can not walk down the docks are private property. There are very nice beaches nearby and easy access are public beaches (free)

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean views, but perhaps the best are the rooms that are in the central part of the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank agustin e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCoralMarina, Quality Coordinator at Hotel Coral & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Dear agustin e:

Thank you for taking the time to write to Trip Advisor. We very much appreciate your observations and comments and will take them into account. Once again, thank you for your review and for sharing your pictures with TripAdvisor community!

Sincerely:
Ing. Adalberto Villa S.
Quality Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed in a Jr suite with a beautiful view of the Marina. Our biggest complaints were the water is NOT complimentary as stated our their website. You only get two small bottles in your room per day. If you need more they charge $1 a piece for them. The pools were very murky and unappealing, and didn't have enough sunbeds.
We've stayed in many high-end hotels in other resort towns throughout Mexico and all of them had a better values than the Hotel Coral & Marina.This hotel is about $80 overpriced. We paid $180.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AbidinginHim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCoralMarina, Quality Coordinator at Hotel Coral & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Dear AbidinginHim:

Thank you so much for choosing the Hotel Coral & Marina as your hotel of stay during your this visit to Ensenada. We are genuinely sorry that your experience at our hotel was not in keeping with what you expect and deserve.
We take all guest comments into account - and very seriously - and especially those where improvements can be made.
We will update the information on our website about the water.
Thank you once again for your review.

Sincerely:
Ing. Adalberto Villa S.
Quality Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed here at the hotel over the weekend. We attempted to use the pool, however all the sun beds were taken, not that anyone was using them they just all had towels on them and reserved. I actually counted 12 lounge beds covered in towels. We couldn't use them, and it was like that all day. I thought someone working their might have done something about it but No!
Also, everyone is allowed to smoke down at the pool area, so if your a non smoker like me, be prepared to cop it!
The food was average, however the service at the restaurant is good.
Front desk receptionists are rude.
There are plenty of other nicer places to stay, for example Las Rosas just up the road!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sacha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCoralMarina, Quality Coordinator at Hotel Coral & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Dear Sacha G:
Thank you very much for your feedback from your recent stay. I am terribly sorry that you experienced defects with our sun beds availability; nevertheless, by the next peak season, we are going to have more sun beds in our pool area.
Hotel Coral & Marina respects the rights of non – smokers, that´s why it is prohibited, to smoke inside the building; however smoking is only allowed outside.
Regarding with our customer service in front desk, during September and October we increased the training in our staff according to a corrective action plan.
We do hope you will allow us the opportunity to restore your confidence.

Sincerely:
Ing. Adalberto Villa S.
Quality Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ensenada hotels
0.9 mi away
Las Rosas Hotel & Spa
Las Rosas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 38 in Ensenada
235 reviews
2.6 mi away
Corona Hotel & Spa
Corona Hotel & Spa
#8 of 38 in Ensenada
251 reviews
0.4 mi away
Punta Morro Hotel
Punta Morro Hotel
#3 of 38 in Ensenada
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
#14 of 38 in Ensenada
128 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Cortez
Hotel Cortez
#15 of 38 in Ensenada
139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quintas Papagayo
Quintas Papagayo
#6 of 38 in Ensenada
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coral & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coral & Marina

Address: km 103 Carretera Tijuana - Ensenada | No 3421 Zona Playitas, Ensenada 22860, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Ensenada Municipality > Ensenada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ensenada
Price Range: $125 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Coral & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Coral & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coral And Marina
Hotel Coral Marina
Hotel Coral Ensenada
Coral Ensenada Hotel Marina
Coral Marina Ensenada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing