We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good option at Ensenada (Baja Mexico)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Coral & Marina
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Ensenada
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good option at Ensenada (Baja Mexico)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

The hotel overall is very good, the spaces are large, as are the rooms. The restaurant is well. The hotel area is not the best area of Ensenada, but everything is relatively close. The big disadvantage is that the hotel does not have its own beach, the marina is very nice but you can not walk down the docks are private property. There are very nice beaches nearby and easy access are public beaches (free)

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean views, but perhaps the best are the rooms that are in the central part of the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank agustin e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCoralMarina, Quality Coordinator at Hotel Coral & Marina, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear agustin e:

Thank you for taking the time to write to Trip Advisor. We very much appreciate your observations and comments and will take them into account. Once again, thank you for your review and for sharing your pictures with TripAdvisor community!

Sincerely:
Ing. Adalberto Villa S.
Quality Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    153
    64
    16
    14
See reviews for
123
147
17
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed in a Jr suite with a beautiful view of the Marina. Our biggest complaints were the water is NOT complimentary as stated our their website. You only get two small bottles in your room per day. If you need more they charge $1 a piece for them. The pools were very murky and unappealing, and didn't have enough sunbeds.
We've stayed in many high-end hotels in other resort towns throughout Mexico and all of them had a better values than the Hotel Coral & Marina.This hotel is about $80 overpriced. We paid $180.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AbidinginHim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCoralMarina, Quality Coordinator at Hotel Coral & Marina, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear AbidinginHim:

Thank you so much for choosing the Hotel Coral & Marina as your hotel of stay during your this visit to Ensenada. We are genuinely sorry that your experience at our hotel was not in keeping with what you expect and deserve.
We take all guest comments into account - and very seriously - and especially those where improvements can be made.
We will update the information on our website about the water.
Thank you once again for your review.

Sincerely:
Ing. Adalberto Villa S.
Quality Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed here at the hotel over the weekend. We attempted to use the pool, however all the sun beds were taken, not that anyone was using them they just all had towels on them and reserved. I actually counted 12 lounge beds covered in towels. We couldn't use them, and it was like that all day. I thought someone working their might have done something about it but No!
Also, everyone is allowed to smoke down at the pool area, so if your a non smoker like me, be prepared to cop it!
The food was average, however the service at the restaurant is good.
Front desk receptionists are rude.
There are plenty of other nicer places to stay, for example Las Rosas just up the road!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sacha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCoralMarina, Quality Coordinator at Hotel Coral & Marina, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Sacha G:
Thank you very much for your feedback from your recent stay. I am terribly sorry that you experienced defects with our sun beds availability; nevertheless, by the next peak season, we are going to have more sun beds in our pool area.
Hotel Coral & Marina respects the rights of non – smokers, that´s why it is prohibited, to smoke inside the building; however smoking is only allowed outside.
Regarding with our customer service in front desk, during September and October we increased the training in our staff according to a corrective action plan.
We do hope you will allow us the opportunity to restore your confidence.

Sincerely:
Ing. Adalberto Villa S.
Quality Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

The Hotel Coral is a quaint little hotel in Ensenada. It is always clean when I am there and they offer apples to their guests (instead of cookies like another hotel chain). The rooms are big and spacious and have a beautiful view. My only complaint would be that the bedrooms are near the hall and you can hear people dragging their bags down the hall at all times of the night.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GClementAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCoralMarina, Quality Coordinator at Hotel Coral & Marina, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear GClementAZ:
Thank you for sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor community. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit with the exception of the room layout. You and the other TripAdvisor members may not be aware of this so I am glad to have the opportunity to let you know that we switched the room layout in our remodel rooms (Standard Deluxe and Junior Deluxe Suite) to fix this problem. Thank you so much for staying with us and we truly value your loyalty and will look forward to welcoming you in the very near future.

Sincerely:
Ing. Adalberto Villa S.
Quality Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

I book this hotel for a concert in Ensenada on August 24th to August 26th...I read some mix reviews on this hotel from being awesome to terrible...All I have to say is you get what you pay for !!!! We reserve a Jr. Deluxe Suit for the weekend, it was newly renovated with an ocean view, in fact, all the rooms are ocean view....The standard rooms have not been renovated yet and it is old and dated, so if you want a nicer room, go for the renovated suites...The check in process was a little slow but there was 2 wedding parties checking in at the time we arrived...The check out was quite speedy even though you cannot process the check out in your room..They have indoor and outdoor pool with Jacuzzi in both areas. The only problem is the way the hotel was built that you only have sun from 10 A.M. to 4:00 P.M. They have pool side service for drinks and food...food menu is limited, but if you like fresh oysters and ceviche, it was delicious !!!! The overall experience was enjoyable and the hotel was very nice and friendly...I would go back again..
One last thought....they require a 2 night minimum on the weekend and the room is pricey for Ensenada, Mexico

Room Tip: You get more ocean view of Ensenada if you stay on the north side towers
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dleung1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCoralMarina, Quality Coordinator at Hotel Coral & Marina, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear dleung1121:
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the TripAdvisor community. I am so happy to learn that you enjoyed your suite and our food, especially our fresh oysters and ceviche in the pool bar. We would like to inform you that by February 2013, all our Standard room are going to be fully remodel. Once again, thank you for your review and for sharing your pictures with TripAdvisor!

Sincerely:
Ing. Adalberto Villa S.
Quality Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Great hotel, but this is the only hotel in the Ensenada area that will charge their guests and addtional fee for a FAST TRACK PASS. I recently made a reservation at the Hotel Coral and I was quoted $111.00 per night, I asked if they offered the FAST TRACK PASS, the response I got was, "We offer the fast track pass, and the room for one night will be $150.00."

I ended up making my reservations at the Punta Morro Hotel, they offer the FAST TRACK PASS at no addtional charge to the original room rate.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCoralMarina, Quality Coordinator at Hotel Coral & Marina, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We would like to inform you that Hotel Coral & Marina has a package that includes: 1 night in Standard Room, Continental Breakfast, Welcome Cocktail and a Coupon Fast Track. The package name is “Fast Pass to Ensenada”. If you give us the opportunity to serve you again, please ask for the package “Fast Pass to Ensenada”.
It would be a pleasure to have you as our guest again soon.

Sincerely:
Ing. Adalberto Villa S.
Quality Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Mexico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

The Hotel Coral and Marina are a very good choices for families and boaters. The marina facility is the best in Northern Baja. Fito and his staff do an amazing job keeping the marina property clean and safe for their guests. If you have a yacht or trailer boat this is your best bet for sure. Their is a pretty good surge in the Marina, so be prepared. The trailer boat parking lot is very safe and secured 24 hours per day. The hotel is a bit dated and the rooms need to be remodeled to command their price point in my opinion. The hotel restaurant "Antares" is a complete turn around from the former hotel restaurant. Quite honestly, I would haave never eaten at the old hotel restaurant again, but my wife was tired so we gave it a shot. The new restaurant "Antares" is a complete turn around, REALLY GOOD! Everything was home made and super fresh, including the olive oil from nearby Valle de Guadalupe. The burger we enjoyed was In fact the best burger we have had in Baja, ever. I wish now that we would have tried something else from the menu, which looked excellent,. The prices are quite modest and the food and service was 100% right on the money. Decent local wine was enjoyed as well....we are looking forward to our next visit and trying something else on the Antares menu. Great job guys, you should be very proud of your restaurant! Saludos, Capt Kenny

Room Tip: If you are traveling for business, ask for the "Merchant Rate". You may have to get the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainKenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCoralMarina, Quality Coordinator at Hotel Coral & Marina, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear CaptainKenny:
Thank you very much for your comments! We are glad that you enjoyed our staff, hotel, marina and Antares restaurant. We are truly humbled by your kind comments regarding our new restaurant, with our wine cellar with more than 130 labels and the changes in our menu. Feedback like yours truly inspires us to continue our pursuit of excellence in everything we do. We truly value your loyalty and will look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the very near future.

Sincerely:
Ing. Adalberto Villa S.
Quality Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ensenada hotels
16.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
#10 of 37 in Ensenada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
2.6 mi away
Corona Hotel & Spa
Corona Hotel & Spa
#8 of 37 in Ensenada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Punta Morro Hotel Suites
Punta Morro Hotel Suites
#3 of 37 in Ensenada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Las Rosas Hotel & Spa
Las Rosas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 37 in Ensenada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quintas Papagayo
Quintas Papagayo
#7 of 37 in Ensenada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Cortez
Hotel Cortez
#14 of 37 in Ensenada
3.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coral & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coral & Marina

Property: Hotel Coral & Marina
Address: km 103 Carretera Tijuana - Ensenada | No 3421 Zona Playitas, Ensenada 22860, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Ensenada Municipality > Ensenada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ensenada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Coral & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Coral & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coral And Marina
Hotel Coral Marina
Hotel Coral Ensenada
Coral Ensenada Hotel Marina
Coral Marina Ensenada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing