We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a famous winery”

Bodegas de Santo Tomas
Book In Advance
More Info
$139.00*
and up
Ensenada Coastal Tour from San Diego
Ranked #2 of 51 things to do in Ensenada
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded in 1888, Baja's oldest winery continues in the Santo Tomas Mission's wine-making tradition and offers visitors samples of wines, breads and cheeses.
Ensenada, Mexico
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“a famous winery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Santo Tomas is international famouse for excellant wines and for a resturante that serves outstanding foods prepared by an engienous chef

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Connie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    27
    15
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palisade, Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wine Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Beautiful tasting room and patio. Helpful staff. I showed up the day after a large party so I got to taste some of the reserve wines.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Janai64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing, nice view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

On a recent trip to Ensenada we stopped by this winery and had a white wine tasting. Some interesting things are happening in the Baja California wine industry and we were eager to sample the wine from one of the biggest and oldest wineries in the area. The wine was tasty and fresh as we sat on the patio and enjoyed the view. It doesn't get much more relaxing that this place. The only drawback is that they don't provide bread or cheese (or other things to munch on) with the wine like some wineries do. The chocolate we purchased to have with the wine was quite pricey. Overall, a good value and a great location.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ChanaJuana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not very helpful”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

I stopped by with my boyfriend to check out some of the local wines. Because I am not familiar with wines from this region, I asked for a sampling. We were told we had to pay for set wine tasting for $13.50. I was not interested in trying 5 different wines, just one type in particular. To no avail the sales staff did not budge. Needless to say we purchased a bottle of their Syrah (typically one of my favorite varieties).
I was a bit disappointed and needless to say the bottle that we purchased was ok.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank star1atsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Go Solo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

On the Carnival Inspiration stop in Encinada my son and I decided to skip the organized excursions and do our own tour. We took a taxi ($4) from the shuttle to this oldest winery in the area. The vineyards are now 15 miles away but the original buildings are still here.

This winery has 27 vintages and some have won double gold medals. They also make olive oils. We opted for the traditional wine tasting and tour for $13 per person. We saw the old warehouse with huge wooden barrels used to age the wine and where the bottles used to be corked by hand. The guide, Jamie, took just the two of us here and volunteered to take pictures of us with our cameras. He was very knowledgeable and spoke excellent English. He asked if we would be willing to wait a few minutes for the scheduled tour to arrive for the tasting and assured us we would get individual treatment.

When the Carnival tour bus showed up, they got the "young wines" and no warehouse tour. We got both the young and the traditional wines which Jamie brought to us at our little table (one of maybe three.) Samples of bread, cheese and olive oil were offered to all as well.

We bought some wine and olive oil and Jamie got us a taxi driver who took us all the way back to the ship to drop off the bottles for only $3.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
16 Thank Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bodegas de Santo Tomas also viewed

Ensenada, Ensenada Municipality
Ensenada, Ensenada Municipality
 
Ensenada, Ensenada Municipality
Ensenada, Ensenada Municipality
 

Been to Bodegas de Santo Tomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing