We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The last option........” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Costa Baja Condo Hotel

Costa Baja Condo Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Costa Baja Condo Hotel
Ranked #30 of 37 Hotels in Ensenada
Mexicali, Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The last option........”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

ROOM--30% dirty pillows, shower broken, tv with interference
POOL--90%
RESTAURANT AND BAR 90%

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juanpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    0
    6
    21
See reviews for
19
7
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

I should have known it was going to be a bad experience when I saw the lobby, but it was late and everything else was booked and the bellman at the Hotel Corona (which gets good reviews) said that it had just been remodeled. Not sure what his definition of "remodeled" was (I did see a few freshly painted walls here and there) but obviously it's different than mine. Room was pretty bad but not terrible (at least not at first) so I just went to sleep since I had a long drive the next morning. When I went to shower the next day, I stepped on the white bath mat and then saw a black footprint on it, which turned out to be my own. I did a quick look and saw that the bottom of both each of my feet was black with dirt (I had picked it up while walking on the carpet). Wow. I was then treated to a cold shower (no hot water). Get me out of here!!

As I shivered in the cold shower, I kept telling myself "enjoy, you're on vacation". Hardly! Not even in desperation would I stay here again. The only positive feature was the wireless internet in the room (free), but I could have accessed that at the Starbucks down the street. And the place doesn't look that bad from the street, but facades can be deceiving. There's a reason this place is at the bottom of the TripAdvisor list of hotels in Ensenada; unless they knock it down and start over, it's likely to stay there. The only good thing about staying here is the distinction that I have finally stayed at hotel at the bottom of the TripAdvisor list.

Room Tip: Go down the street to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gallesram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ensenada hotels

Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2011

We actually were there on Feb 13-14 2010; and we stayed at the presidential suite. We loved the suite so much we end up staying there the day/night if u know what I mean!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lady204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2009

I found this hotel in Expedia, and I was going to buy it thru it but when I tried, it said it wasn't available, so I called the hotel and kind of got the same fare so I reserved... we were received by a rude guy completely unproperly dress to be in a hotel front desk. The guy was extremely rude (didn't ask the name but it was on Friday August 7th, around 7 PM). I noticed there were a lot of people like waiting to be assisted, maybe they had high occupancy. We were given a regular key with nothing on it, and walked by aisles that resemble a hookers' motel in Tijuana. This place advertises as a Resort or something like that. I can deal with anything, but not unsanitary premises. The room was awful, terrible, the carpet had ugly smuges like oil or blood, but when I accessed the balcony, it was hell, there were like a couple dozens cigarrette butts on the floor, all over, the sliding door had fingerprint smudges ... what the hell?? I couldn't believe, I went immediately to the front desk and the rude guy didn't even talk to me, the only kind person in this hotel was a young short guy, a bell boy, he personally went to our room to clean the balcony, but no the unpleasent and dirty sldiing door, which stayed with those smudges thru all of our stay.

I would had changed hotels but the Vendimia, Wine Festival, was this past weekend, so I thought that I wasn't going to find another hotel, and since I didn't buy it thru Expedia, there was nothing I could do. The bell boy told me there manager was a "gringo" but I couldn't ever meet that gringo... he was never there.

The hotel pool area is OK, but it has 2 jacuzzis that their water is always yellow.

The parking lot is another pain in the butt, it is incredible small for all the Americans with huge SUV's, so it was a nightmare and it didn't have enough spots for all guests so, if you had to leave you may find later that you had to park on the street.

Do yourself a favor and don't ever stay here,

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SanDiegoFito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wwwCostaBajaHotelcom, Manager at Costa Baja Condo Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2010
I am sorry to hear of the unpleasant experience. Beginning in 09 and continuing throughout 2010 new management is implementing changes and improvements in every aspect of the hotel operation since it was transferred from previous ownership and management. The specific front desk agent that was referenced is no longer employed by the hotel and additional process' and training is underway to improve customer satisfaction.
Some areas of the property have already been renovated such as the pool deck, restaurant, bar, and some guest rooms that are now designated as Deluxe. Our Standard Guest Rooms and some common areas are pending renovation and will be completed in 2010. The underground parking garage is small for large SUVs but does provide a level of security that only one other hotel in Ensenada can provide. Pre-reserved parking spaces can be arranged.
Again, I am very concerned that the experiences was unsatisfactory and improvements in the areas mentioned and more are underway to transform the guest experience at our property.
If I can assist further please contact me directly at arowland@costabajahotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
--
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2004

Following a work assignment in San Diego, made a spontaneous weekend trip to Ensenada. After bouncing off a couple of hotels without vacancies, got a room at the 50+/- unit 4-story Costa Baja Inn (aka the Costa Baja Hotel), located at Boulevard Lazaro Cardenas #1536 in Ensenada. As long as you're a walker hotel is conveniently located approximately 2 blocks south of the cruise terminal, an equal distance from the shop, bar, and restaurant lined Avenida Lopez Mateos, and within an easy walk of the Malecon and fish market.

Aside from the convenient location, the major attribute the hotel's got going for it is that the $65-75 room was clean and well maintained. The downsides are the same room is a generic motel box, without any character or charm. When we checked in, the room was equipped with a couple of bars of paper-wrapped soap, a single packet of shampoo, and a disposible razor which we avoided as a possible leftover from the past guest. The following day, however, a full collection of toiletries (shampoo, conditioner, lotion) appeared along with bottled drinking water, leading us to wonder just how the room was supposed to be outfitted.

The real downsides, and reason's I'd recommend against staying at the property were:

1. Room service, which is provided by the "Las Bajas" Restaurant and Bar sited on the property was terrible. The person answering the phone, which turned out to be the restaurant manager was rude, refusing to discuss what fruit was available at breakfast, curtly stating "I'm busy". The order delivered was not what ordered and the same restaurant manager hotly disputed the problem and then dispatched a hulking son to the room to "see what the problem was".

2. Monday morning at 9 AM sharp a cacaphony of power saws and drills buzzed to life as renovation work was being performed on a room down the hall. A complaint to the front desk yielded nothing but the vague assurance the noise would stop "in just a few minutes" (it was still going on an hour later).

At check out, a complaint both about the room service problem and the noise issue yielded nothing more than a blank stare from the so-called "assistant manager" at the reception desk.

Helpful?
13 Thank Caffiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ensenada hotels
0.0 mi away
Posada Don Fernando
Posada Don Fernando
#13 of 37 in Ensenada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Marina
Villa Marina
#28 of 37 in Ensenada
3.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cortez
Hotel Cortez
#14 of 37 in Ensenada
3.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Quintas Papagayo
Quintas Papagayo
#8 of 37 in Ensenada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Corona Hotel & Spa
Corona Hotel & Spa
#7 of 37 in Ensenada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Villa Fontana
Days Inn Villa Fontana
#22 of 37 in Ensenada
3.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Baja Condo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Baja Condo Hotel

Property: Costa Baja Condo Hotel
Address: Boulevard Lazaro Cardenas 1536, Ensenada 22880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Ensenada Municipality > Ensenada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 37 Hotels in Ensenada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Costa Baja Condo Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Costa Baja Condo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing