We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome respite on the road to Todos Santos”
Review of Art and Beer

Art and Beer
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Seattle
Level Contributor
78 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Welcome respite on the road to Todos Santos”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

On the way back fromTodos Santos, as part of a tour where the air conditioner was broken in the vehicle, and it was one trillion degrees outside with humidity so heavy you wish you had gills, we stopped at Art and Beer.
It is a unique way point on the road, with bathrooms and a collection of art. Unique and eclectic scarcely cover the place. However, in the short run, it is all that and then some.
The owners Alfredo and Lourdes were polite and pleasant to talk to. Charming Bride had a marguerite and I had a bottle of water. While I can't say the water was aged to perfection or of a manufacturer I would endorse, the fact that we were trapped in a beat up tour sedan with no AC when it was hot enough to melt your eyeballs, all the water had to be was cold, and wet.
Charming Bride enjoyed her drink, and stated that it was great, and different, having ingredients in it that were not the typical syrupy overly sweet glop she does not like. The owners provided us with a small snack plate of chips, that were warmed, had pineapple and some sort of a spritz of sauce on them. They were pretty dang good.
We toured the art that in part laces out over the desert on an elevated walkway as it winds through the collection. Novel pieces at nearly every turn, and the views from the upper deck are nice as you look west over the Pacific Ocean. We saw a jack rabbit hopping through the tangle of cactus that had ears on it that would have rivaled Dumbo the Elephant. When we completed the art walk, the owner came up to Charming Bride and chatted, he found out that it was her birthday and gave her a bottle of a local beer which was to her liking.
We will return, it was fun and the art work interesting.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russ F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    10
    3
    1
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Alamitos
2 reviews
“Best Bloody Mary on the planet!”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Funky and Eclectic like no other place you have travelled to. They have the best Bloody Mary's on the planet. The owner and his wife served us and were very pleasant and hospitable without being intrusive. The food was fresh and tasty. We stop here every time we go to Todos Santos and Cerritos Beach. It is a highlight of our Cabo trips.
If you like bland, chain restaurants you do not belong here and will spoil it for others.
The restrooms were clean, but out of the ordinary because they are off the grid at that location.
Check them out while you are there! Also, take the short raised path the owners have created above the desert it is part of the charm of the place!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank USCRx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad service súper over price”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Rude owner, the are really ignorant one beer 14 us come on it's this guy stupid or what .the owner it's a mean person with people he doesn't like

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rago74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worse experience everrrr! Do not go!!”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

The owner is soo mean , rude and does not like people ! He treated me so bad and would kept my personal belongings inside ! Simply because my sister denied to Pay an entrance fee to the place just to say he'l lo to me. He insult people and send me a woman men to kick me out with out my vac and phone!! He is me rally insane and can be dangerous!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Gabriela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice eclectic alternative!”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

An odd, expansive eatery about ten miles south of Todos Santos. The owner, an interesting mix of contrarian and businessman sporting an impressive ZZ Top beard has a system. As the place is festooned with paintings, sculpture and oddities lining both sides of an elevated wooden walkway that wends it's way over the desert, owner has learned to get the order before letting the tourists start the hike, as I am sure many just walk around snapping photos and jumping back in their rentals and driving away. We ordered a couple of specialty margueritas - mango and passion fruit. They were expensive, but HUGE and laden with fresh fruit and the little folding umbrella. The whole place is covered overhead with a palapa style roof and a pleasant ocean breeze keeps the heat down. A terrific plate of ceviche was brought to the table as well. As we were leaving, the server treated us to a couple of nice beers and encouraged us to climb the spiral staircase to a gondola with a lovely view of the Pacific. There are plenty of thirsts and souvenirs and of course, art available for purchase, and the walls are covered with framed photos of the ZZ Top loveable curmudgeon owner surrounded by giggling beautiful tourists! Not your standard tourist trap and definitely worth a visit. If those walls could talk . . .

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Art and Beer also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Nueva Odisea, Baja California
 
Baja California Norte, Baja California
Baja California Sur, Baja California
 

Been to Art and Beer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing