We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sad to leave” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Crown

The Old Crown
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Ashton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Choose from a selection of tapas, main meals and of course a delicious roast on Sunday. FOOD SERVED MON-SAT 12.00Pm - 2.30Pm 6.00Pm - 9.00Pm SUN 12.00Pm - 5.00Pm
Northampton, UK
Level Contributor
112 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Sad to leave”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We lived a couple of villages away, one that has two pubs both indifferent, but have now moved away. We ate here the night before we left and the food was as excellent, and also reasonable, as ever. I am not much in favour of the dog wandering around but he does not make a nuisance of himself and is very well behaved. I have seen guests there who I would sooner see leave! The couple running this pub try very hard and deserve and earn the support they receive.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Crookedbillet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    52
    10
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“return visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

On arrival, a Saturday evening, we found that they had no record of our phone booking made three days previously - seems strange when they read back the details to you. Woops - let's see how they deal with this. Fortunately there was a table for two available and with drinks in hand we were soon settled. Orders were taken promptly. We'd ordered squid and scallop dishes for starters and stir fried pork and slow cooked beef cheeks as mains. We thoroughly enjoyed our food, well presented and tasty. It's worth checking what vegetables come with the main dishes as you may find you have to order some items separately. The wine list isn't overlong but both the choice and prices are reasonable.
Service was friendly and we didn't have to wait long for our dishes to be served. The atmosphere at the Old Crown is informal and there are people just having a drink which gives a relaxed air to the place without imposing on you. Next time we book we'll double check that the booking has been writen down!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Exceptional food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

The pub grub here is exceptional. Interesting choices made with good ingredients.This chap knows how to cook
Lovely to have the old dog wandering around making it very informal.
Would give 5 stars but some staff could be a bit more welcoming......come on smile!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chuck42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice food & good service, shame about the dogs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had lunch here at the end of February 2013 with some friends. I saw the reviews which encouraged me to decide to book lunch here and would be our first time.

We enjoyed the lunch, the good service and friendly staff. We are animal lovers, as we have a cat. However, my wife saw two small dogs sitting quietly under a table and there was a greyhound walking around freely, which we were totally surprised to see in a Restaurant. I definetly don't think it's hygienic to have dogs in a restaurant.

We would visit again, providing there's no dogs.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tr1pStarr7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fab food and service...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Webt to the Old Crown today for lunch, as we hadn't been there for a long time and were not disappointed. The menu on it's website doesn't do it justice. Currently serving their Spring Menu, my husband, son and father-in-law had the following to start respectively: king scallops in pancetta with black pudding, coarse pork terrine with capers & toast, deep fried squid & garlic with chilli mayonnaise and I had pan fried halloumi with chopped tomato, onion & basil salad. To follow my husband had slow cooked beef cheeks with beetroot & blue cheese risotto (the beef cheeks were SO tender you didn't need to cut them). My son had one of the specials: Venison pie with mash, my father-in-law had the chicken & chorizo risotto with fresh basil & parmesan and I had chinese roasted pork with stir fried noodles (which was delicious as it was belly pork, with veg and noodles in a gorgeous dressing, all served in a mini wok!). We all managed to squeeze in dessert, 2 of us had the praline parfait with caramelised banana, maple & caramel sauce and the other 2 had chocolate & pecan tart with vanilla ice cream. We all really enjoyed ourselves, and the pub has a lovely relaxed family atmosphere. The Staff are very friendly and we received great service. The final bill was very good, as we had a few drinks too - all in all very happy customer and will definitely be returning! P.S. loved the pub dog Archie who was very well behaved!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fluffster68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Crown also viewed

Shutlanger, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Towcester, Northamptonshire
Stoke Bruerne, Northamptonshire
 

Been to The Old Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing