We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dissapointed”
Review of Aurora Restaurant

Aurora Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 44 Restaurants in Selimiye
Price range: $12 - $41
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: DIFFERENT TURKISH STARTER 150 EVERY DAY DAILLY FRESH FISH SPECIAL TURKISH MEAT DISHES IT IS VERY SPECIAL RESTAURANT WITH DIFFERENT FOOD,RULES AND AMBIANCE THEREFOR THE PEOPLE LIKE IT VERY MUCH OR THIS RESTAURANT WILL MAKE THEM NOT VERY HAPPY ....
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very dissapointed”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Service was too slow, meals were decorated but tastless. Over priced. Rude owners. Dont waste your money and evening.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank ALI E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    23
    16
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ramsey, Isle of Man
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Different Take on Turkish Cuisine”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We had two superb meals at Aurora on our recent trip to Turkey.We arrived by car and were made very welcome by Huseyin. Suzanne took us through the extensive menu and her descriptions had our mouths watering. Her speciality sea bass casserole was magnificent, and the mezes were a Scandinavian take on traditional Turkish dishes , very tasty and surprising. I would have no hesitation in suggesting anyone in this area of Turkey to go to Aurora by sea or land.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The Talking Menu - beware no prices!!”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

The Aurora has a deal with those yacht/boat owners that moor at their restaurant front. They have to eat at the restaurant!! This is NOT a good thing for sustained good quality. Other reviewers describe how the restaurant is not as good as it was 10 years ago. This was our first visit; I would not visit return. Nobody greeted us when we arrived and when we were seated we waited too be given a menu. Eventually we were told there was no menu!!! Or rather there was a talking menu - Suzanne, Huseyin's partner! A talking menu with no prices!! One should ALWAYS avoid restaurants where the prices are not up front!!! So we went inside the restaurant from the delightful quayside and met a very harassed Suzanne - the talking menu!! We were shown a selection of not particularly enticing dishes in a cabinet and told we could have lots of choices of fish. At no point in time were prices ever mentioned. We looked and thought a bit. We asked about a fish kebab. No fish kebab. Eventually were told why did we not try the sea bass casserole - the restaurant's speciality! So we both selected that. It arrived fairly fast but was basically half a filleted fish in a most extraordinary watery, dark brown sauce. Huseyin explained it was a very special sauce with herbs and ginger etc in it. No it wasn't - it was a concoction made from supermarket sauces at best; and poor quality supermarket sauces at that. I could hardly eat mine!! The sauce was also completely inappropriate in style, texture and taste for a sea bass!! We ate poorly, had no starter or desert and only had half a carafe on white wine; and yet our bill - no prices remember - was as high as many other places in the area where we ate like queens and kings. I would suggest a re-think for the owners - less focus on catering for people that HAVE to eat at your place…and more on getting the quality up - maybe back to what it was - so that you attract new custom. As things are at present, we will not return or recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Our return was very disappointing ...”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Oh Suzanne! 10 years ago we spent a magical evening here and were so warmly entertained. 2 wks ago, we were determined to find Aurora's before the storm hit us, and have a drink. Big bay, we got lost, but finally found Aurora's! Suzanne helped us tie up and asked if we were staying the night. We explained that this was a detour and we just wanted a beer. Her face fell, and she withdrew. We hung around the hot quay waiting and finally asked for a table on the quay. She hesitated before gruffly answering that maybe it was ok 'over there'. She disappeared back to read her paper! The waiter, maybe boyfriend appeared and I enthusiastically complimented the restaurant and our memories. 'I don't speak English' came the reply! We sat down, had a drink and enquired as to their password for WiFi. After checking with Madame, back came the reply 'Sorry Internet down'. Oh dear. No goodbyes from Suzanne! We really were disappointed, having so looked forward to a welcome. Hey Suzanne, retire, it's all too much for you and shame, no recommendation from us. Petal from Devon

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank petal12358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic setting. The Sea Bass floored me”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We parked our sail boat at their dock, and ate dinner there one night. The dining takes place right next to the water. The setting was wonderful--peaceful, quiet, with wonderful view of the bay. I ordered the sea bass in tomato sauce--it was fantastic. The sauce was killer. My wife ordered the steak and cheese skewers and really liked it. The service was great. One of the top meals on our trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aurora Restaurant also viewed

 
Selimiye, Mugla Province
Selimiye, Mugla Province
 
Selimiye, Mugla Province
Selimiye, Mugla Province
 

Been to Aurora Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing