We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely first-rate - you must stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Loca Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Selimiye
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I have been wanting to get to this review. If you are in this region of Turkey you MUST stay here. It's a little hard to find but get a nav system and there's no problem. Run by a family who lease the hotel side but then built next to it a pool with restaurant where the cooking is just outstanding. There isn't anything this family won't do for you. Was traveling with friends by motorcycle/car (steep hill to hotel, let them park your car for you!) and this place was truly an oasis for two nights. I expressed an interest in fishing, one call was made to a neighboring fishing village and the next day I was fishing with a guy ("Sheriff" or Sharif, I could never get it straight!), his wife and their two young boys on a very small boat, as this guy was a real fisherman, not a charter boat. The advice the son of the owner gave us (he's the English speaker and has a degree in engineering) was invaluable and we also had some interesting cultural discussions. Running a hotel was this family's dream (they are from the city) and they just went out and did it and are very successful as far as I can tell. The room prices are very reasonable and I think once word gets out about how good this place is - it should be in Rick Steves - the prices will inevitably go up. Wi-Fi worked everywhere which is unusual in Turkish hotels and restaurants. Great pool which we couldn't use due to the season. But it looks fantastic. Climate control in the room, unlike many places we stayed in a month in Turkey, was fully functional. Filter coffee at breakfast was a treat - not Sanka which appears to be the norm elsewhere.

If you are going to Turkey, want to see the SW coast (it's only maybe 45 KM south of Marmaris), like great views, great service, great food and hotel owners who actually care about the quality of your stay, then you have got to stay here. Best hotel we stayed in in Turkey out of maybe a dozen hotels. As we pulled away the father threw water on the trunk of our car which is supposed to bring you back someday. Rick Steves, Lonely Planet, take note of this place.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a balcony and the view across the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Debbie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 278 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed here for four nights in September 2013. It's a really wonderful little boutique hotel. Very simply but beautifully furnished and so clean, tranquil and peaceful. The views from the pool area are fantastic and the food from the a la carte restaurant is great. Best of all are the owners and staff who can't do enough for you - they think of every little detail down to hotel baseball caps for the day-long boat trip they booked for us! The hotel is up a hill from Selimiye but it's only a short 15 minute walk downhill and there is a shuttle to pick you up. It's one of the nicest and sweetest hotels I've ever stayed in :).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank sonias1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed at the Loca for one night whilst exploring the area. Run by a lovely family who could not do enough for you. The view of the bay from the Hotel was so stunning it brought tears to your eyes. The food was also amazing. The peppered steak was the best I have ever had anywhere. The room was also beautiful. You have to climb uphill to get there but if you did not then you would not have such a wonderful view. Hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank DevonEaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed for three nights and enjoyed every minute. Rooms are small but clean and comfortable. Food is excellent and Kansu's gin and and tonics are unbeatable. Nothing is too much trouble and Loca is a place to relax and enjoy the magnificent views.

We will return for another stay at the Loca later this year.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Roy_B121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

very nice hotel with good service, nice rooms, amazing view!! owners are very helpful, service is good and clean. ıt is not on the sea side, you have to climb a hill but it is worth it and hotel is helpful to make arrangements for your logistics.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
7  Thank ilovetrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

You really must stay here. We stumbled across this fabulous guest house in the quiet resort of Selimiye. It is perched on the hill above a beautiful little harbour lined with restaurants and bars and a million miles away from Marmaris and other Turkish resorts.

The reception we received from the owners was charming and attentive and nothing was too much trouble during our, sadly too short, stay. Breakfast and dinner were delicious and served by the amazing pool with spectacular views down to the bay.

We will definitely being staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank fogey67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We came to Selimiye on advice of local friends and by chance arrived at Loca Hotel. This is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. It is set with commanding views of the surrounding bay. Every room in the hotel shares the spectacular views. The hotel itself is spotless and has a relaxed air. There is an eternity style swimming pool on the top balcony where the delicious breakfasts are served daily.

The unique selling point of this hotel though is the lovely family who run this property. They make you feel at home at their hotel with their kindness and consideration. Nothing is too much trouble. They have sourced amazing ingredients from across Turkey for the meals cooked by their expert cook. Make sure you have evening meals at the hotel, you will not be disappointed. I am still looking for the recipe of the delicious aubergine yoghurt dish we were served for one of our many meals. Needless to say we were sad to leave Selimiye and Loca Hotel behind.

There are a lot of locals holidaying in the area, which is a real contrast to the nearby resorts.

If you are looking for a thoroughly relaxing holiday with the quintessentially turkish hospitality, then this is the place for you.

We can't wait to go back for a longer stay. Loca hotel please don't change!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Quadisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selimiye
1.1 mi away
Selimhan Hotel
Selimhan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Selimiye
67 reviews
4.1 mi away
D Maris Bay
D Maris Bay
#1 of 1 in Hisaronu Bay
587 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jenny's House
Jenny's House
#2 of 5 in Selimiye
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Lemon Garden Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Luna Begonvil Tas Evler
Luna Begonvil Tas Evler
#3 of 5 in Selimiye
74 reviews
1.0 mi away
Swan Lake Butik Otel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loca Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loca Boutique Hotel

Address: Yukari Gemecik Mevkii, Selimiye, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Selimiye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Selimiye
Price Range: $56 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Loca Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing