We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great, central Beach Hotel!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Gin House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Old Gin House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in St. Eustatius
Bonaire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great, central Beach Hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

The Hotel was pretty laid back and very clean, I didn't have a fridge in my room but other rooms do. You get in the room two free water bottles and a ice bucket. At the flights of stair you can get as many ice as you want. The place is nice and quiet, every day there is something different at the restaurant. You get a big bed fluffy pillows and a nice flatscreen tv with lots of channels. Free Wifi! There is a continental breakfast or you can just order from the menu. The beach is 1 minute from the hotel, just a walk away. The staff was very polite and always there to help you. I had a great stay. The place to stay on Statia!

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs ask for a ground level room with a fridge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ethuriel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    47
    24
    10
    2
See reviews for
12
42
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crestview, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

I made a solo island hopping trip to go diving and was referred to the Old Gin House by the dive shop that I used, as well as the wonderful online reviews of the hotel. I must say that this hotel is awesome. It has a very laid back feel and is clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly from the moment that I arrived and helped to ensure that I had a taxi waiting for me at the airport upon my arrival.

The hotel is clean and my room was very spatious. The air conditioner worked VERY good (Brrrrr!) and the view was awesome. The bar was convenient and the restaurant's food was extremely good. Breakfast was included and was more than just your typical continental breakfast. You actually get to order off of a menu! Be prepared to wait quite some time for your food, but that's what "island time" gets you! It's well worth the wait, though!

I am already planning a trip back to Statia and will, without a doubt, stay at the Old Gin House!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GalScuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
896 reviews
387 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

This is the best hotel in Town. Princess Beatrix stays here when she visits Statia. The Winair pilots also stay here.

The common areas are lovely. The reception is in a lovingly restored Gin House and the bar/restaurant across the street is also very chic. You get a very good Wifi connection here (free but you need a password). If you don't have a laptop, a computer is available in the lobby.

We were in a garden room overlooking the pool with a King size bed and a single bed. The room was small and like an oven without aircon as there is no breeze that flows through. There were no windows--just a mosquito screen and wooden slats over them, so much of the cool air escaped--even though the aircon worked fine. The rooms and grounds could be kept cleaner. The pool in particular asa a lot of bugs--but you are in the tropics. The room was very dark and one of the lamps didn't work adding to the problem. TV is small but you get a decent selection of US, French and Dutch stations with the cable connection.Beds are very soft and so not good for those with bad backs.

Their former chef now works at the Blue Bead restaurant down the road opposite Golden Rock dive shop so they only serve breakfast. (Note Blue Bead is closed from July 23 until October, so you have along walk up the hill inot town for a meal.) They hope to bring in a Dutch check starting in September though. Breakfast is very good. Your choice of eggs, pancakes or French toast plus a selection of cereals, juices, yoghurt, muffins (packaged) and fresh fruit.

Receptionist was very friendly. One of the ladies that does breakfast is very nice too.

There is a tiny black sand beach in front of the hotel. If you are not diving there is little to keep you here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank poleinahole1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed at The Old Gin House in March 2012. The hotel was quite nice, clean and spacious, and seemed to be the obvious choice when visiting Statia. The hotel property is parted by a narrow, main road (but there's hardly any traffic). There are rooms on the hillside and some on the bay side. Our suite overlooked the bay and was one of the best ones on the property (so we were told). Wifi only in lobby area, but connection was quite good. Not a destination for children.

The food was good, although I thought pricey for such a small island. Restaurant service was absolutely sub-par. We were there for a week and could not believe the lack of hospitality the wait staff possessed. Some were outright rude.

Nice room, nice view, nice location, not so nice staff.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the bay are more expensive than those across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melnfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

We stayed at the OGH for one week in early May. Location is good, has waterfront and about 5 min walk from the Golden Rock Dive Center and Scubaqua. The rooms are spacious and fairly clean. A few staff try to be helpful but some seem indifferent. The pool was not filled and the wifi is limited to lobby and beach bar. Our dive/stay package included free breakfast which served better than other free breakfast places in dive resorts (freshly cooked eggs, french toast, and omlets).

Statia is still a Caribbean island undiscovered by most tourists and cruise ships, as it can't compete in beaches with other neighboring islands. This means the restaurant, bar choices are limited (recommend going up the steep hill to town which has better options). Statia has small beaches with black volcanic sand. Having said that, diving is spectacular (also, hiking to volcano I've been told) and if you're looking for a laid back place to relax and don't care about duty free shops and partying noises, you'll enjoy the trip. The island has less than 100 hotel rooms in total and this is the place to be. Recommend the Golden Rock Center.

Room Tip: Try to get the oceanview rooms if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snowfusion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Our stay at the Gin House was part of an overall magical experience in the Caribbean. When we arrived in Statia from Ontario, Canada, we had just had what we understand is a typical WinAir experience; a slight delay, followed by several more delays, coupled with no information about flight times. As a result, we arrived in Statia under cover of darkness. When we pulled up to the Gin House, it was lit up with a magical glow. The rooms were spotless and divinely air conditioned, the beds were so comfortable that the island residents we were visiting decided to stay a night as well.
We had great service from front desk to restaurant. Staff were almost always visible and available to help or offer more towels, since wet things never dry in that climate!
There are many common areas such as the open air table and chairs outside of the lobby, the poolside loungers, the loungers on the beach. These areas were all well maintained, very comfortable and ideal for our large group to congregate...or separate.
Our only frustration was that the cost was significantly higher than what we had been quoted. We had been quoted a price of $195 per room, per night, which included all taxes and fees. We were charged $225 per night plus all taxes and fees. The manager explained that the extra charge was for additional guests in the room, however we had made the reservation for the number of rooms and explained how many of us there would be.
That being said, I have plans to return to the Gin House. Statia is an island worth seeing twice and the Gin House is the place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbird_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonaire, Netherlands Antilles
Level Contributor
187 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

The old Gin House is a really nice hotel on St. Eustatius. The setting is quite spectacular in the bay of Oranjestad. The breakfast area is really nice and tropical, right on the sea side and breakfast is actually quite good and included with the room price. You can cross the road and swim right in the sea. There are some down sides: there is no internet in the rooms; only in the lobby area or on the porch you can catch a WiFi signal. Another downside was that most of the times there was no one at the front desk. And last but not least, the restaurant at the hotel was not serving any dinner during my stay there. On the other hand there are other options in walking distance. I would especially recommend the Blue Bead, which is just down the road towards the harbor. Also recommended is the steep walk upstairs to the Fort, just a few steps from the hotel. Spectacular view of the whole bay. All in all, despite of the small down sides i described, I really liked the experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonairetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Eustatius
0.3 mi away
Golden Era Hotel
Golden Era Hotel
#4 of 4 in St. Eustatius
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
18.0 mi away
Ottley's Plantation Inn
Ottley's Plantation Inn
#1 of 6 in Basseterre
5.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
21.4 mi away
Ocean Terrace Inn
Ocean Terrace Inn
#2 of 6 in Basseterre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - Queen's Garden Resort
23.9 mi away
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
18.6 mi away
El Momo Cottages
El Momo Cottages
#1 of 3 in Windwardside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Gin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Gin House

Property: The Old Gin House
Address: Oranjebaai 1, St. Eustatius
Location: Caribbean > St. Eustatius
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in St. Eustatius
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Gin House 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Old Gin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Gin House Hotel St. Eustatius
The Old Gin Hotel
The Old Gin House St. Eustatius, Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing