We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and good food”
Review of Golden Era Hotel

Golden Era Hotel
Ranked #11 of 12 Restaurants in St. Eustatius
Restaurant details
Willemstad, Curacao
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great view and good food”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Food is good, service is nice and you sit on a terrace on the sea. Very nice place after hiking a full day or swimming in the sea.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Curtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    9
    8
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great option for lunch”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

We had lunches there in between our dives. Good value and delicious.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank snowfusion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Nice lunch. Would definitely return.”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We had sort of saved up our appetite and cash to splurge for lunch at the outdoor patio restaurant at the Golden Era Hotel and were surprised to find that for only slightly more money than some of the other island restaurants we felt we got a lot more in terms of service, presentation and flavor.

The location is great, down on the harbor, if you happen to be down there during lunch time at one of the scuba centers, like we were.

Unfortunately they were out of one of their specialties which we had planned to order, and the couple at the table behind us wanted as well. Instead I had a kind of spicy chicken sandwich which was quite nice.

At a table nearby we eves-dropped on some locals who were entertaining an off-island friend and they had obviously dress up to show off what they believed was the nicest lunch spot around. We agreed.

Beware...their signs said lunch only...not open for dinner. I don't know if that is always or a week by week thing.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElectricalEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Hidden, but worth looking for!”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

The outside terrace here gives you an excellent view of the sunset. The sound of the waves makes it a special treat. We had lunches here and especially enjoyed out dinners. Service is slow, but the food was worth the wait. We had a large group, often 10 people, and the girls did a good job waiting on us. The price of the food, its taste and preparation make it a good value for the $.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank BonDiver_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“good view”
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We only ate lunch there once, and it was good. Fried chicken like your mother used to make. And nice sides. Open air right on the Caribbean. No idea what the rooms are like, but it is right beside the Sea, and I gather the cheapest that you can get for that spot.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank fraidofflying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Era Hotel also viewed

 
St. Eustatius, Caribbean
St. Eustatius, Caribbean
 
St. Eustatius, Caribbean
St. Eustatius, Caribbean
 

Been to Golden Era Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing