We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very clean, friendly and cheap!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carleton Motel & Coffee Shop
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Borden-Carleton
Reviewed August 2, 2013

my children and i stayed at the carleton motel last week as we vacationed on pei, i hesitated on the location and considering the price, i really wasnt sure what i would end up with? to my pleasant surprise it was a little outdated but the cottage style room was cozy and really really clean! internet was such a bonus too with a rainy evening and two pre-teens. the staff treated us like royalty! they called us all by name by day two and really went out of their way to help us, suggesting different places to sight see and things they thought would be age appropriate for my children. one of the cleaning staff even helped us pack up our car seeing us struggling to fit all of our luggage and bags back into the car! PRINCE EDWARD ISLAND IS THE PLACE TO VACATION AND THIS IS THE PLACE TO STAY!!!!!!

Room Tip: if you have children ask for one of the rooms in the back, because there is also a playground!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coline w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 24 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

The furnishings are old and mis-matched, however, our room had two twins and a single; which fit the four of us comfortably. Add in the fridge, microwave and TV and it's possible to over look the stacking chairs and 70's era wainscoting.
Thought being right on the main hwy would be noisy but with the A/C on, it was fine.
Corner Gas, har har. Great help from the ladies at the counter, who embody Maritime hospitality.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dutchbolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Spent last night there. The room was clean and comfortable and a good size with a kitchenette. What really got my attention was the staff. I asked for directions and the girl in the cafe brought out her mom who took the time to go over a map with me showing me the route and also showing me nearby swimming beaches. I grabbed hot beverages and bacon for breakfast in the morning and the woman cooking and the man working were equally friendly. The cafe has a real 'corner gas/Ruby's' feel to it. There were even 2 RCMP officers eating breakfast:) I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunnydaze1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This motel is definitely showing it's years. Bed covers and linens are very old, paper thin.
The room had a large bed that was showing it's years however I slept like a rock (I also had been driving for 15 hours so it may have been exhaustion).
TV was available however not enjoyable to watch as it was outdated.
Room had an old couch, old dining room table, full fridge and full cooking facilities.
This is a great motel for a family with children as it is very spacious and the cooking facilities are a nice bonus. I was alone and paid $70. ((Can't beat that))
WIFI was very good in the room. This was important to me.

The owner greeted me late and processed me quickly. Service was very friendly!

Room Tip: My room had a terribly noisy fan in the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Me and my girlfriend just checked out today after staying there for four days. I must admit the first day there we had are doubts about the place, But after we settled in them doubts kinda drifted away. The room we had was very clean, the staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. All in all its not to bad of a place to stay and id definitely recommend it to other people ,only problem is its quite a way from any of the major tourist destination places... and for the persons comment below we had cabinet for tv ,,each room must just be diffrent

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike79135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I recently stayed at this establishment and I was very impressed! I had read the reviews before I booked but went for it anyway. Sure it's not a five star hotel but it isn't a five star price either. The service was excellent and the staff very friendly. The rooms were clean and we were given permission to use the full grounds. Efficiency units were available as well as barbeques. Adjoining rooms were also very convenient!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nursehope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

We stayed here for 1 night before a week long biking/camping trip on PEI and it was recommended because it was located so close to the start of the ride. That was pretty much the only thing it had going for it. The room furnishings were old, like vintage 70's maybe. Considering the age I guess they were in decent shape. The woman who checked us in was not helpful and it appeared she just wanted to get it done as quickly as possible so she could back to whatever she was doing before we walked in the door. We asked about breakfast the next morning (the front desk is in the coffee shop) and she gave us incorrect info on when it would open. Either she didn't know or didn't care, either way, it was annoying.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MspTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borden-Carleton
9 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites
14.6 mi away
Slemon Park Hotel & Conference Centre
13.5 mi away
Traveller's Inn
Traveller's Inn
#5 of 14 in Summerside
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
10.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Garden of the Gulf
5.9 mi away
Anchor Motel & Suites
Anchor Motel & Suites
#1 of 1 in Bedeque
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carleton Motel & Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carleton Motel & Coffee Shop

Address: 23650 Trans Canada Highway | Box 2915, Borden-Carleton, Prince Edward Island C0B 1X0, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Borden-Carleton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Borden-Carleton
Price Range: $78 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carleton Motel & Coffee Shop 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carleton Motel and Coffee Shop was built in the 1961 but provides the accommodations of the 21st century. It's perfect for a relaxing getaway or a cozy overnight stay. We have 13 housekeeping/efficiency units and 9 overnight units for your convenience. Located just 2 kilometers from Confederation Bridge, the gateway to Prince Edward Island, you can do what your heart desires. From golfing, biking the Confederation Trail, swimming, shopping to just reading and relaxing there are endless possibilities! Other adventures is a historic tour of the Parlement Buildings where the founding fathers of the building of Canada met in 1864. Tour the Island for a look at all 18 lighthouses on Prince Edward Island. And also there is our famous Anne of Green Gables attraction for your enjoyment. Centrally located, we are just 35 minutes from Charlottetown, or Cavendish, and just 20 minutes from Summerside.In the mornings, one of the Coffee Shop cooks will entice you with a delicious home-cooked breakfast. Made of your choice of eggs or pancakes, bacon, ham or sausage and juices, our own special blend of coffee, or tea our breakfasts are made to get your day started right. Or if you prefer, you can cook something for yourself in our fully-equipped kitchen unit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Carleton Motel & Coffee Shop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing