We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely Lucky” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Playa Manglares Isla Baru

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Playa Manglares Isla Baru
Ranked #1 of 11 Isla Baru B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“Extremely Lucky”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We were extremely lucky to end up at Baruchica as the choices are limited for a few days outside of Cartagena unless you have a major bankroll to spend. If you are looking for a place that is neither a cookie cutter resort nor a high end spa this is the place to relax and meet fellow travelers (mostly from South America). Olga, Marcello and staff are wonderful people who make you feel at home and help you explore the area. The food and rooms are excellent. If you like birding bring your glasses and enjoy. Ask Olga if you can go with her as she drives around to get the freshest local fruits,eggs and fish and you will see a real slice of coastal Colubia which 99% of tourists miss.Olga is a very special person who makes sure everyone is involved in the dinner conversation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jym703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlgaPaulhiac, Owner at Hotel Playa Manglares Isla Baru, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
What a lovely review you had give to us. Thank you to yo and your lovely daughter to com and being part of our daily life during those magical days. We´ll never forget you. Please come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    13
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
37
55
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had a wonderful time! The setting will take your breath and your concerns away. Olguita is an amazing hostess who goes above and beyond to ensure your stay is unforgettable. We hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlgaPaulhiac, Owner at Hotel Playa Manglares Isla Baru, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you Helda, for you very nice review ! December would not be the same with out your visiting us.

Best regards for you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

From all the places I've been and will like to go back, baruchica will be the first to pick, it is what I call a vacation a chance of pace, a place where you can leave the hectic world behind to gather your thoughts to look ahead, and when the sad time comes to depart you take with you the energy and refreshingness to go on
Every breeze and every leaf seems to care about you and not even mention the kind words and delicious food to fill and nourish your heart and soul
thank you dear Olguchica for your hospitality

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlgaPaulhiac, Owner at Hotel Playa Manglares Isla Baru, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you dear Angela. We will always waiting for you and your dear family to come back and take care of all of you.
Love
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

I don't have all the words to say how beautiful Baruchica is! My girlfriend who is originally from Colombia booked our stay here last month. Olga and her staff couldn't have been more professional, sweet and made us feel at home from the second we arrived. We came from Playa Blanca and enjoyed a beautiful outdoor shower. They then cooked us a fantastic fresh dinner, salad, fried fish caught that day, coconut rice and platanos. We relaxed in the hammocks and enjoyed such a nice sleep, so romantic enjoying the balcony view as well. We woke to a declious breakfast of fresh banana and papaya and fresh juice! We enjoyed a nice walk on the private beach taking in all the scenery after breakfast. The two girls who work for Olga couldn't have been more sweeter and capped our experience there. I honestly can't say enough about our experience here and wish the best of luck to Olga as they are building another house on the grounds to expand. I can't wait to go back and see their additions. Thank you so much to everyone there!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlgaPaulhiac, Owner at Hotel Playa Manglares Isla Baru, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you very mucho to both of you for this great description of the Baruchica ; Thank you also for the very nice pictures and the great wishes. We hope you will come back soon!

all the best for you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Bolivia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is just a beautiful ecolodge!lovely atmosphere, tasteful décor, excellent location but most important of all was Olga who made us feel like home opening not only her house but also her heart offering an unforgettable experience!we were very well looked after, lovely meals! (Albita cooks with love! that's her secret!) and they also helped arranging transfers from Cartagena as well as to Playa Blanca for much fair prices than the ones you get on your own and making sure you are safe first!we became very fond of this place and we hope to be back soon...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaoliG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlgaPaulhiac, Owner at Hotel Playa Manglares Isla Baru, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear friends from Bolivia; we enjoying very much your presence with us, the all histories about the beauty of your country and your special way of being.

Thank you very much for coming!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Baruchica, like it's owner Olga, is magical. My wife and I spent 1 week there last summer lolling in the hammocks, picnicking on the nearby beaches, and swimming in the sea. We explored the island with our hostess who knows and is adored by absolutely everyone, so we journeyed to places that tourists rarely get to see. The compound itself is nestled in the trees on the edge of the bay, perfectly integrated into its enviornment. BBQs at night, sleeping almost under the stars. An unforgettable experience.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank efeinblatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlgaPaulhiac, Owner at Hotel Playa Manglares Isla Baru, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Erik and Katherine. to have you here was the must remarkable experience of the last year. I always dream the bebe start here! all my love. Thank you for coming!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Baru
13.5 mi away
Hotel Sport Baru
Hotel Sport Baru
#2 of 4 in Isla Baru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
10.1 mi away
Baru Playa Eco Beach Resort
7.4 mi away
Hotel Playa Scondida
Hotel Playa Scondida
#4 of 4 in Isla Baru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#15 of 148 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#31 of 148 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,930 reviews
2.1 mi away
Decameron Baru
Decameron Baru
#1 of 4 in Isla Baru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Manglares Isla Baru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Manglares Isla Baru

Property: Hotel Playa Manglares Isla Baru
Address: Km12, Via Playa Blanca, Isla Baru 130017, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Isla Baru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Baru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a calm and exclusive hide away, easily accessible from Cartagena de Indias, for a family stay, a honeymoon, or simply a reading break, then Playa Manglares is the place for you. Playa Manglares is a perfect hide away, 60 minutes by car from Cartagena. The hotel is reserved and exclusive, with only three rooms, each with original rustic, yet careful decorations and a tropical home-like atmosphere. With capacity for up to 10 guests in all, we garantee a personalized service to ensure a confortable, pleasant and well informed stay at Isla Baru. The hotel has exclusive amenities and services such as a private beach with hammocks under the mangroves, low fare personalized tours of the Rosario Islands, and other activities we'll be glad to arrange for you. It's also a place to relish on the tipical dishes prepared by our marvelous cook. Looking forward to hosting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Playa Manglares Isla Baru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing