We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Sport Baru
Nearby Hotels
Baru Playa Eco Beach Resort(Isla Baru)
$266
$226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Cocoliso Island Resort(Islas de Rosario)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Estelar Oceania(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
$81
$56
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Dubai(Cartagena)
$137
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Dann Cartagena(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Decameron Baru(Isla Baru)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Reviews (379)
Filter reviews
379 results
Traveler rating
152
115
62
25
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
152
115
62
25
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmin boat rideluminescent planktonmaria fernandaplaya aguaprivate beachcoconut ricerosario islandsplantainsping pongcevichesmall hotelbaruhammockspargocartagenavendorsloungers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 379 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We have not spent the night in this hotel (although we are considering it in the future), BUT there is a great day-trip option that they offer! You catch a boat at their office in Manga, spend the day in quiet, relaxing solitude, and head back in the afternoon. No vendors to bother you at the beach, no negotiating with the tent guy to pay for shade.
Lunch is included in the day trip and it is tasty. There is also a bar for drinks where you can run a tab and even pay with a credit card if you want.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kzilbauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

After booking our hotel for a two night stay through booking.com, I was still left with the task of figuring out how to get there. In short, you must go thru the Hotel to coordinate transportation to and from the resort. In addition, you have to buy their food. After these two added costs, you're now paying more than double your room cost. If you want a juice, beer or even water, you will pay additional costs. Water? Seriously? If you want air conditioning, they are going to charge you 30,000 pesos a night additional. I felt I was getting nickel and dimed AFTER paying what I thought was way too much.

The snorkeling was fun (of course, at an additional cost). They do, however, have kayaks that were nice for tooling around the area at no additional cost.

I got bit up by some nasty bugs while I was sleeping.

Their beach is nice and relaxing, the staff is friendly, but in the end, the value just isn't there with this hotel. They have 14 rooms, but only a few are occupied at any given time. Here's a thought: lower your costs, stop nickel and dimeing, provide water like you do coffee, and fill your rooms!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eganuw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

As I received a visit from some friends from europe, we organized a short stay at this lodge. I couldn't believe it when I arrived there. I live in Colombia, but had no idea we had such great beaches in our country. This hotel is just in the middle of some of the best beaches I have ever seen! Apart from that, our rooms where comfortable, with an amazing view of the Baru islands, and each day we received the best attention from the owner, Aura, who cared so that we had great food every day and, most important, gave us suggestions as to what islands to visit each day so that our stay would be exactly as we wanted. Could not ask for anything more!

Room Tip: ask for the suites that are on the second floor, so that you get some really cool sea breeze
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saleopardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We sailed our boat into Cholon and enjoyed the hotel and amenities for two days. We tried to stay in a hotel room for one night but an approaching storm impelled us to go back out and take care of our boat.
The room was clean and spacious though and we will stay another time.
The food was very good. The service was great. A very kind and sweet family run the hotel. We will definately be going back on a regular basis to get away from the city.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LOST33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed for three nights at the hotel and after booking through the internet we read about difficulties getting there. On the website there was no helpful information so we asked our way through, first at the Muelles in Cartagena and then finally were sent to the Sport Baru offices in Manga, which were really difficult to find and the office looked a bit dodgy from the outside. But the next morning we were picked up by the boat as promised and welcomed with drinks and a nice introduction in Spanish and English. Unfortunately, the beach itself is not as white with clearblue water as we hoped, so they offered an additional trip to a beautiful beach nearby. It is also possible to take a boat to Playa Blanca, which the staff was helpful to organise but took a while. The hotel offers several sporting activities, some of which have to be organised at additional cost. The place itself is nice, well maintained and the staff is really friendly. There are many moscitos and sandflies and the rooms do not have any moscito nets or air conditioning. The quality of the food, which overall is very pricy, varies. If you are looking for some quiet days to relax and hang around, this is a good choice. But take something against the moscitos and take some food and water with you as there is no option to buy something except the restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews