We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Loved it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Decameron Baru

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Decameron Baru
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Isla Baru
Certificate of Excellence
Dhaka
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Had a great weekend there....my wife and I are from Bangladesh and were in Colombia for a work assignment from my office. Since we got married very recently we wanted to go somewhere nice and were referred to this place. Its just as great an experience as it sounds. The service is fantastic and the environment was very relaxing. Food was good, room comfortable, beach was clean and lots of fun activities....well mannered staff. Only issue was it took about an hour and half to get our luggage delivered to the room.

Room Tip: Book in advance by a few months to get good deals....or else can be a little expensive. Although the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mifta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,250
    961
    372
    127
    83
See reviews for
950
1,201
32
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

The prices are affordable, yet the most expensive Decameron there is. Amazing location and a very nice infrastructure. If you like the "All inclusive" type of vacations, this is definitely a top 5 hotels to go. They have great facilities for this. and tons of services. But it's way too crowded.

For me it was not the place to go. I like to walk along the beach and be sort of alone, or with few people around, meaning, no lines for a restaurant, no curfew, being capable fo reserve the menu restaurant by phone and not having to show up at 7Am. I expect good quality food and I definitely I'm hoping to stay in a Hotel with some sort of Green Policy (at least). Here there is nothing close to that next to the obvious. It's an island so they have to watch out with the water. There is not water during night time in your room.

If you are with a bunch of friends and want to party together and go crazy for a bit. This is the place. But it's not if you want to be in a romantic get away. I appreciated the trying from the Staff as they were in general kind, but the hotel it's just not build for couples.

Room Tip: I stayed in the section 4. It was quite and private. Also very centric. If you can get a higher floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank German C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I visited Royal Decameron in July 2013 along with 55 others from Trinidad. We are still missing the place! Great service, beautiful grounds and food galore! There was so much to do that you did not have enough time to do everything. The staff are continously working, you never see them idle one moment. The night shows were superb and very entertaining. My huisband and I stayed on the top floor and had a breath-taking view of the beach. We are back home two weeks now and everyone of us is still talking about the fantastic time we had. I would always recommend this place! You cannot give this hotel a bad rating, to do that would be dishonest!

Room Tip: Top floor has a fantastic view of the coast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alicia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

This hotel is located about 1:40minutes driving private bus transfer from Cartagena city

The hotel architecture and design is superb, pools are nice and the rooms are really good,

The food is more below average compared to other resorts. The wine is below a table wine and very cheap. The coffee super bad and we got abdominal cramps everyday.

The only way to get an espresso or cappuccino is to go to the bar near the reception the other do not have the espresso machine

There was no shampoo provided on the second day, we asked for extra towels and never got them and the towels are super old and already becoming gray

Poor service and POOR MANAGEMENT and they need more personal keeping in mind that they have around 330 rooms and they are fully booked with people from South America . If every room has an average of 3 people there are around 1000 people in the resort, so if they are saving one dollar per person everyday they would save 360,000 $ a year so that is the reason for everything

We paid around 150$ per persona and 125 for our toddler, pretty expensive for the poor service and cheap food we got it

I would never travel there again and/or recommend it

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Stef_New_York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

I used to love decameron but after some visits to different hotels you found there is a lot of other options that would exceed your expectations for less money, this hotel is located far from Cartagena city about 1:30 private transfer shuttle, the hotel infraestructure is superb, pools are nice and the rooms are really good, we booked trough hotels.com and found there the room we booked was not available, we almost got into a fight with the hotel manager since he just wanted us steep aside and agree with everything they wanted. I recommend to get a room on the 3rd or 4th block since the hotel is big and you don't want to spend your time walking to get into your room or any of the other services. Beach is narrow but clean, anyway if you don't like to be cramped you can take a small ferry that pass your trough a southern part of the beach where you can find more space and beach chairs to relax. The food is average compared to other resorts. Anyway i would not return to this hotel and i recommend it for someone who just want to enjoy a beautiful hotel building but poor service.

Room Tip: Try to get a Deluxe Room, those are oceanfront and would be central to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andres P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful resort but does not live up to promises when comes to weddings only thing we got that we asked for was wedding on beach they screwed up everything else,wedding cake was ruined flowers were wrong and they did not keep other guests away from we doing and party so all pictures were screwed up Bcus people standing in background in bathing suits! Again beautiful all inclusive resort but not good place for weddings! And don't waste money on massages weak and short not worth money

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Slaphappyfishguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoneycreek
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Traveled to this resort week of march 15- 22/13 with another couple and loved the resort. The resort is relatively new and this was apparent by the condition of the rooms, the pool and deck chairs, restaurants, beach area, meaning that all were in excellent condition. Any pictures posted on any website are very accurate- the place is beautiful.We were surprised by how lush and mature all the vegetation was and seemed as if the place had been open for many years. They are still planting on the grounds and at the island/ beach area which will make it even more beautiful. As in most other reviews it is HOT but the breeze made it tolerable around the pool and there were plenty of umbrellas available. I think we were there at a low time because it seemed like the chairs at the pools were always empty and we had choices every day or simply because there are 3 large pools to choose from. Many locals and South Americans were at the resort and they seemed to prefer the beach which may have contributed to the excess spaces at the pool. We found it cooler by the pool as it seemed that the beach did not receive the breeze.Overall the food was good for an AI, plenty of choices and always hot and I actually prefered the buffet to the a la cartes and of course the coffee- delicious. The resort is built on the side of a hill and therefore many stairs- we didn't mind, needed to work off the food we ate- but for those with mobility issues or small childen it would prove difficult. They do have ramps as an alternate but less convenient than the location of the stairs. The island/ beach area that is a 30 second boat/ferry ride is a must if you want to walk a beautiful beach, Playa Blanca, and just a word of warning, it is not part of the resort so you are required to sign out and in with security when exiting the resort property. There are alot of hostels and stalls and therefore peddlers on Playa Blanca so it makes for an interesting walk. Snorkelling at the resort is best done by the rock breakwalls- beautiful fish- we did this instead of taking the day trip and it was enough for us. We took a trip into old Cartegena by way of the "shuttle bus" run from the hotel, $25.00 return and it dropped us off right outside the old city. We had a bit of "communication" issue with the Nolitours rep who insisted this wasn't and option and tried to sell us their 180.00/person boat and tour trip. Check with the front desk Decameron Explorer people and they can set up the do it yourself trip- this all depends on what day they are going to the airport to pick up people and we were told we could only do this on the tuesday but heard from other guests they went on wednesday- the story changed every day so check often. The nice part is that Decameron Explorer has a concierge office in the old city and you can go there to cool off (and you will need to!), get a drink, use the washroom and get a map and directions from the staff there- very convenient. The people at the resort and in the city are lovely, very open, and more than willing to talk about themselves when asked (and help with our very minimal spanish). Getting to the resort is a bit of a trip but interesting scenery once you are outside of the city, rough roads for some parts, small ferry, and of course the time it takes all depends on the traffic. The trip in to the resort was 1.5 hours (was at night) and the trip out was 2 hours- all because of the time of day and the wait for the ferry. Just bring snacks and you are all set. Remember the distance away also makes the resort more appealing, i.e. quiet, crystal clear water that you can swim in (heard that you cannot go in the water at the resorts in the city). Overall, a fantastic trip and would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Most rooms face the water in blocks 6, 7, 8. Block 6 is on the same level as the diningroom and has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sarah p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Baru
13.4 mi away
Hotel Sport Baru
Hotel Sport Baru
#2 of 4 in Isla Baru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baru Playa Eco Beach Resort
7.1 mi away
Hotel Playa Scondida
Hotel Playa Scondida
#4 of 4 in Isla Baru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#29 of 146 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,725 reviews
12.1 mi away
Decameron Cartagena
Decameron Cartagena
#82 of 146 in Cartagena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,691 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hakuna Matata Cabana
Hakuna Matata Cabana
#15 of 19 in Isla Baru
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Decameron Baru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decameron Baru

Property: Decameron Baru
Address: Baru Km 7 | Sector Portonaito, Isla Baru 130017, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Isla Baru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Isla Baru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Decameron Baru 3.5*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the paradisiac Baru peninsula, 75 minutes from Cartagena and member of the TripAdvisor ‘Hall of Fame’ for its certified excellence during 5 consecutive years, the Decameron Baru allows guests to enter a magical experience that will disconnect them from the outside world. The resort is located amidst a tropical forest and its architectural design intermingles with an ecological environment surrounded by many beaches, among which is the popular ‘Playa Blanca’, considered one of the best beaches of the Colombian Caribbean, and the luxurious ‘Playa Puntilla’ beach, where our travellers may enjoy a private club and several sports such as kayaking, rowing, scuba and snorkeling. Partying and enjoyment are guaranteed, enlivened with the rhythms from the countries of the great Caribbean basin such as ‘champeta’, a genre that mixes African and Colombian Indigenous sounds and that introduces travellers to the local culture. As a complement to pleasure, you may sharpen your senses with the delicacies of typical and renowned Colombian Caribbean cuisine. From this destination you may explore Cartagena’s colonial history and visit other important cities from Colombia’s northern territory such as Barranquilla, a commercial, river and sea port and seat of the multitudinous Carnival, as well as historic Santa Marta, considered the most beautiful bay in America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Decameron Baru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Baru Hotel Isla Baru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing