We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We absolutely loved it! It was our dream honeymoon!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Playa Scondida
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Isla Baru
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“We absolutely loved it! It was our dream honeymoon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in Playa Scondida. The location of the hotel is lovely right in the middle of mangroves, the owners were very welcoming and food was absolutely delicious. When we mentioned that it was our honeymoon they prepared a very romantic dinner on a small hotel pier with Champaign and candles. At some point we were so fascinated with the food that I even asked Ledies (the cook) to give me some cooking lessons, which she did with a great enthusiasm. Our lovely room and bathroom were cleaned every day. We were looked after very well and we enjoyed every minute of our stay. We hired a motorbike and rode it along a village road; we also took a kayak and visited empty picturesque paradise looking beaches around. We liked the place so much that we stay 3 days extra. Beatriz and Fernando (the owners) felt like part of the family by the end of our stay. We definitely would like to come back. Ksenia and Mark, UK.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KseniaandMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    21
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
8
41
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2011

To visit Isla Baru and the nearby Islas del Rosario, I wanted a more laid back, earthier experience than what I was getting in Cartagena, and I found it at Hotel Playa Scondida. The establishment really captures the natural beauty of the islands, but offers an exceptionally comfortable experience. Fernando and Beatriz, the owners, are like old friends by the time you sit down for dinner, one of the many and delicious meals included in the price. All sort of activities are at your disposal - kayaks and snorkeling gear are also provided, and it's very easy to arrange excursions to other islands - do not miss the aquarium or aviary on Isla Grande, and the coral reef snorkeling is absolutely fantastic.

If you want to commune with nature, make some new friends, and enjoy all the best of island culture, then Playa Scondida is for you!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krisrolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2011

This place is definelty worth booking if you are wondering how best to spend time whilst you are in Cartagena / Ilsa Baru. Personal service, excellent meals provided and nearby to some of the nicest beaches in the locality. Forget day trips to Playa Blanca etc this is a much nicer way to spend your time, no matter what age. Nothing is too much for the owners / operators who will bend over backwards to ensure you enjoy your stay. Take out the kayaks and paddle around to some beautiful secluded beaches, Playa Scondidia will even pack you a ice box full of (cheap) drinks to take with you and pick you up with their small motor boat should you not wish to paddle back. Really great for couples and families.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olaeurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2011

Owners treat you like family...
My family and I stayed 4 nights... We were a group of 6 people..
Fernando (one of the owners) is always available with a private boat... there is always activities to do... food was always different...
and the view is magnificent!!
A perfect place to go an relax... Away from the cities....
We were lucky enough to see a lunar eclipse there.. and took a bunch of "portrait" pictures... In other words...
Great Place!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra154989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2011

I went to this hotel looking for a place to relax and take a break from the crowds of bogotá, and found the perfect escape, right in the middle of barú with clear waters and beautiful sunsets.

Beatriz and Fernando, the owners of the hotel are always looking forward to make you feel home with their great vibe. They will also take you to different private beaches around barú where in the proper season, there will only be you and he ocean..

Transportation its a little difficult given that playa scondida is located 1HR away by boat from Cartagena and that it is a small hotel without a private service. Nonetheless, they offer you alternatives that vary in price according to your budget and preference, cheaper ones depend on availability as there is only a non official local transportation service, without regular schedules. It is just a matter of talking to the owners on advance and be clear about this aspect.

if you are lloking for something fancy and full of luxury this is not the place, but if you rather somewhere quieter, smaller, natural and with a local warmth taste, don`t hesitate to visit it!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rufoandres84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2011

After a week of family and siteseeing in Medellin and Cartagena, Playa Scondida and Baru were a welcome and perfect getaway. The owner was very accommodating and helped to ensure that our stay was everything we expected. From relaxing on the dock to kayaking or snorkeling around the islands, Playa Scondida/Baru offered a relaxing and entertaining 3 days. If you dont mind the adventure of an off-the-beaten-path destination, away from all the touristy resorts, look no further than Playa Scondida - es un paraiso!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RubenAlonso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2011

I went with my wife for our honey moon on July-09.
The place is so beautiful... the owners are so nice and very kind people! it was an awesome vacation time.. trips to a beautiful beach, trip to snorkel, they will give a ride to any place you want in their private boat.
The property has bicycles to a ride to baru and they have kayaks to go around by your self
The food was really good (breakfast, lunch and dinner included), beverages were not included but the owners trust you a lot and let you get any drink and you just take note in a notebook and pay at the end of your trip (cheap beer, water, and sodas)
I want to make a comment about the last person. It is well known and the property owner always told us. the boat at 5:30 in the morning is a public boat and it is cheaper. if you do not want to wake up early pay more and get the private boat. prices can vary because those boats are operated by people from the region. but the price is so cheap... do not get last person comment!
finally, if you want to go to paradise, forget about real word, be treated as a king!!! visit this place! Beatriz and fernando are awesome!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juan_utsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Baru
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sport Baru
Hotel Sport Baru
#2 of 4 in Isla Baru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
2.7 mi away
Baru Playa Eco Beach Resort
17.9 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#31 of 149 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#17 of 149 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
7.1 mi away
Decameron Baru
Decameron Baru
#1 of 4 in Isla Baru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,054 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel Playa Manglares Isla Baru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Scondida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Scondida

Property: Hotel Playa Scondida
Address: Ensenada de Cholon | Km 26, Isla Baru 130017, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Isla Baru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Isla Baru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Playa Scondida 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our eco-hotel is located in the island of Baru, 20 miles south of Cartagena, Colombia, in the bay of Cholon, amidst mangrove trees, white beaches and blue waters. We have two wood cottages with two rooms each, no air condition. You can enjoy kayaking, snorkeling, bicycle riding, sailing sports or sun bathing. We can arrange scuba diving trips, at near by Rosario islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Playa Scondida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing