We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply the best”

Review of The Long Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Appleton le Moors, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sheilanor...
Northampton
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed January 2, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We have just spent the most wonderful Christmas week at The Long Barn. We've been doing 'the big Christmas house party' every two years now for the past 16 years as well as numerous other holiday rentals and without a shadow of doubt this property is 'simply the best'. Ian and Jackie have created a beautiful, warm and comfortable home where the quality of everything is of the highest possible order. We were a party of 6 adults and 6 grandchildren with ages ranging from 3 to 78, plus 3 dogs and The Long Barn met all of our every needs.

It is an extremely spacious property - more so than the photographs would suggest - so the younger ones had plenty of room to play and to run around while the older ones could always find a quiet space when wanted. The games barn is particularly impressive and the younger members of the party (and some of the not so young) spent many a happy hour there, if not honing their skills at table tennis,table football or one of their Xbox games then watching movies on the enormous screen.

Each and every bedroom is a delight so no one felt short-changed in that department. The endless supply of hot water, lovely toiletries and bathrobes were the icing on the cake there. For the keen cooks in the family the kitchen was an absolute delight. We tried hard to think of some piece of equipment which was not supplied and failed completely. My son-in-law, who had recently developed a love of gin martinis, was particularly impressed to find a supply of cocktail glasses and shaker. With two ovens, two dishwashers, two wine fridges and a vast supply of crockery, cutlery and glasses, I defy anyone to find a better equipped kitchen in a rental property - or where everything is of such high quality.

The large spacious lounge, complete with log fire, manages to be at the same time both very stylish and extremely comfortable and the dining room with its huge vaulted ceiling and large wooden dining table made for wonderful family meals.

Having rented properties in the past which proclaimed themselves to be 'dog friendle' but were clearly not so, this is not the case here. Dog towels and poo bags were provided. There was a hose outside to wash down the larger dogs after walks (at this time of year most places were rather muddy) but also a deep sink in the games barn with a hot shower tap where we were able to wash down the smallest dog. The spacious and warm boot room was a perfect place not only to house all the coats and boots, but also to leave the dogs till they dried off after their walks. This room also housed a state of the art Bosh washing machine and tumble drier.

The surrounding countryside is beautiful and the walks we did were really lovely and enjoyed by all and the nearby towns of Helmsley, Pickering and Malton which we visited very picturesque and interesting.

I could elaborate even more about how amazing The Long Batn is but perhaps the best recommendation I can make is that on the second evening of our visit we decided, by a unanimous vote, to book again for Christmas 2019, in the clear knowledge that we simply would not find a better property which ticked all our boxes anywhere.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackoMaki...
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning”
Reviewed November 27, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

This has to be one of the most wonderful of places. Quintessential country cottage warmth, meets luxury which made for a fabulous surrounding to enjoy a short weekend break for a 50th birthday celebration.

Arriving on the Friday afternoon, we were greeted by the very warm and genuine owner (Ian) who took the time to walk us through the essentials within the 'Long Barn' (heating, surround music system that can be controlled via the smart tablet provided and an unbelivable games building - yes a stand alone GAMES ROOM which contained a full sized table tennis table, table football, a large screen including a projector, a sonos music system, a PlayStation and a spectator/chill out area with plush seating for those of a more relaxed disposition) allowing us time to explore this enchanting building on our own later.

This place has it all, we were a party of 11 and the space this building has allowed us not to trip over each other whilst communal areas enabled us to sit together as a family without feeling we were in a sports hall.

Everything within this building was built with love, it's obvious to see by the high spec interior, beautiful decoration throughout and the little touches (bath robes in each room, high quality linens and the homemade treats) that the owners really care about what they are doing (and doing it VERY well) which all made for a remarkably fantastic weekend.

Each beautiful bedroom had an equally beautiful bathroom stocked with everything you need and the kitchen was out of this world, fully stocked with every item any budding chef would require.

We really cannot praise 'The Long Barn' highly enough and would most definitely recommend a visit - we will be going back!

Thank you for a great weekend.

Ps your homemade brownies and lemon drizzle cake are amazing! Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca30...
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Luxury Self Catering Converted Barn - We want to live here!”
Reviewed October 23, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

7 beautiful en-suite double bedrooms (3 of the bedrooms can be converted into twin beds) all unique and beautifully decorated with flat screen TVs and luxurious bed linen. The bathrooms are boutique style with huge towels and cosy bath robes. There is so much living space all so tastefully decorated with lots of gadgets and large TV screens and a great music sound system. The kitchen has everything you would want plus 2 dish washers; marvellous coffee machine; dedicated wine fridge; on-tap ice; and more than enough crockery and cutlery. Plus there is a massive game/chill-out room which houses a table tennis table; HUGE TV screen and chill-out area. Ian and Jackie have created a unique and beautiful space to be enjoyed by all ages and have lovingly made it into a place that you just want to come back for more. They are also are more than helpful but never intrusive and we loved the small touches - home made cake on arrival and chocolate brownies for our trip home! There is a lovely village pub just minutes away by foot and so much to see and do during the day by foot or car. WE WILL BE BACK...

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joeyg30
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed September 4, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We stayed here due to having a wedding in the area. The house was perfect, and has every gadget going! Ian was really welcoming and there was cake on arrival and when we were leaving! All of the bedrooms are gorgeous and there is plenty of living space for large groups. There was even a games room to keep people busy!

There is nothing we can fault about this place! The surrounding area is gorgeous as well and there is plenty of information provided at the house about what to do in the area.

Would recommend a visit :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray P
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A real "wow'”
Reviewed June 14, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

I was one of a group of ten that stayed at Long Barn for three nights in June. We are a walking group with all but one of us pensioners, albeit fit pensioners. We are use to staying in high quality hotels or B&Bs for our residential weekends. This was our first try at self catering. It proved to be extremely successful and this was largely due to this wonderful facility offered by Ian and Jackie and to the beautiful Yorkshire countryside there and around. We could not believe just how well equipped the barn was, with everything that you can possibly require. The bedrooms all had ensuites and were extremely comfortable, the lounge was large with comprehensive TV facilities, the dining room seated14 and the kitchen had every gadget you could imagine. Ian and Jackie themselves were very considerate hosts and were always on call if we needed any assistance.
If you want to give yourselves a treat book Long Barn.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz H
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation in a lovely venue”
Reviewed June 12, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Before my friends and I left The Long Barn for our homes last week, we'd booked to stay there again next year. That, in itself, testifies to what fabulous accommodation it is, and to the warmth of the welcome from Ian and Jackie. The property was extremely attractive, stylish and comfortable, and was spotlessly clean. It was extremely well equipped, and there was everything that one could possibly want for a highly enjoyable stay. The area around Appleton-le-Moors is lovely and offers a lot of different things to do, and in addition to walking in the countryside and visiting nearby towns, we went to the coast. Before we left for home, we made sure that we got the recipe for the really delicious lemon drizzle cake which was part of Ian and Jackie's Welcome Pack, and which is highly recommended. We are now very much looking forward to our next visit there.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WirralBun...
Wirral
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic 2nd stay!”
Reviewed May 22, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This was our second stay in the Long Barn. We are a group of friends (couples and singles) meeting up mainly to do some walking. After our stay last year, we were eager to book again - the Long Barn meets our needs perfectly!
The location is excellent, being in a small village near Pickering with a good local pub up the road. There are plenty of walks from the doorstep and of course across the North York Moors and about an hour from the coast - we did a circular walk from Whitby. Details of many walks are kept at the Long Barn.

The owners are very helpful. They provide an excellent welcome pack of homemade goodies and a good amount of detail about the Long Barn before your stay. They are always ready to answer any questions you have.
The accommodation itself is splendid. The seven bedrooms are all very spacious, comfortable and attractive and the ensuite bathrooms in each of them are well equipped with walk in showers or baths or a combination and have bath robes and high quality towels. All bedrooms are all equally good. There is plenty of room in the living areas for everyone, whether you are all together or doing your own thing. Or you could sit in the garden which has chunky wooden furniture and is a bit of a suntrap in places. The kitchen has everything you can think of to prepare any kind of food and there is masses of crockery and glasses and storage space.
And then there are the mod cons like the Sage coffee machine and the Sonos sound system with accompanying tablet for control, Sky TV (including Sports) and the woodburner, huge gas BBQ... I could go on! There is an adjoining barn which is due to open soon as a games room - will there be any time to fit in a walk next time?!

I said last year that the Long Barn is "top notch self catering". This hasn't changed - if anything it is even better this year - Ian and Jackie are doing a wonderful job maintaining and improving standards. If you are a large group wanting a stay in beautiful surroundings and luxury accommodation, you must stay here!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing