We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent accommodation in a lovely venue”

Review of The Long Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Appleton le Moors, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Liz H
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation in a lovely venue”
Reviewed June 12, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Before my friends and I left The Long Barn for our homes last week, we'd booked to stay there again next year. That, in itself, testifies to what fabulous accommodation it is, and to the warmth of the welcome from Ian and Jackie. The property was extremely attractive, stylish and comfortable, and was spotlessly clean. It was extremely well equipped, and there was everything that one could possibly want for a highly enjoyable stay. The area around Appleton-le-Moors is lovely and offers a lot of different things to do, and in addition to walking in the countryside and visiting nearby towns, we went to the coast. Before we left for home, we made sure that we got the recipe for the really delicious lemon drizzle cake which was part of Ian and Jackie's Welcome Pack, and which is highly recommended. We are now very much looking forward to our next visit there.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WirralBun...
Wirral
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic 2nd stay!”
Reviewed May 22, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This was our second stay in the Long Barn. We are a group of friends (couples and singles) meeting up mainly to do some walking. After our stay last year, we were eager to book again - the Long Barn meets our needs perfectly!
The location is excellent, being in a small village near Pickering with a good local pub up the road. There are plenty of walks from the doorstep and of course across the North York Moors and about an hour from the coast - we did a circular walk from Whitby. Details of many walks are kept at the Long Barn.

The owners are very helpful. They provide an excellent welcome pack of homemade goodies and a good amount of detail about the Long Barn before your stay. They are always ready to answer any questions you have.
The accommodation itself is splendid. The seven bedrooms are all very spacious, comfortable and attractive and the ensuite bathrooms in each of them are well equipped with walk in showers or baths or a combination and have bath robes and high quality towels. All bedrooms are all equally good. There is plenty of room in the living areas for everyone, whether you are all together or doing your own thing. Or you could sit in the garden which has chunky wooden furniture and is a bit of a suntrap in places. The kitchen has everything you can think of to prepare any kind of food and there is masses of crockery and glasses and storage space.
And then there are the mod cons like the Sage coffee machine and the Sonos sound system with accompanying tablet for control, Sky TV (including Sports) and the woodburner, huge gas BBQ... I could go on! There is an adjoining barn which is due to open soon as a games room - will there be any time to fit in a walk next time?!

I said last year that the Long Barn is "top notch self catering". This hasn't changed - if anything it is even better this year - Ian and Jackie are doing a wonderful job maintaining and improving standards. If you are a large group wanting a stay in beautiful surroundings and luxury accommodation, you must stay here!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muchtrave...
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Idyllic & luxurious accommodation in a great location”
Reviewed December 29, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

14 family members and friends decided to get together and we have just had a wonderful Xmas in The Long Barn. The accommodation is very luxurious and the 7 en suite bedrooms were all so good that we struggled to pick one, even though we were first to arrive! Comfy beds, high quality bed linens, robes and towels. Plenty of space for all of us in the sitting room, complete with wood burning stove and large TV with SKY etc. Had a wonderful Xmas lunch in the large dining room. Kitchen is fully equipped with plenty of crockery, wine glasses etc. The Sage coffee machine made wonderful coffee. Lovely welcome from the owners, including a number of home cooked goodies such as bread and lemon drizzle cake. Great location too with walks on the doorstep plus the coast a short drive away. Village pub a few mins walk away and serves great food. Thanks Ian and Jackie - we will be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ceb88
england
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfection.”
Reviewed November 28, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Don't look anywhere else! Fabulous accommodation, hosts, special touches, village, locals.. just everything about this place is special. Best place any of us have been, and everyone fell in love as soon as they walked through the door. Just perfect. We will most definitely return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unbelievable experience”
Reviewed November 1, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I have just returned from the most amazing weekend with friends, 14 of us in total - some old friends, some new. This experience worked so well because of the beautiful Long Barn - it was equipped to a very high spec with everything required to make a wonderfully comfortable and luxurious stay. Every room, bed, pillow , duvet, towel and linen was delightful. The communal areas we're gorgeous and our fantastic hosts, Ian and Jackie have ensured not only does it sleep 14 but comfortably enables 14 to eat together, sit together and even party together. But still big enough to spend time alone if necessary. The outdoor living was gorgeous and we took advantage of that too. The welcome pack - well it clearly reflects our hosts; generous and thoughtful. THANK YOU Ian and Jackie x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing - all amazing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunny-Tou...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect 50th Birthday Celebration!”
Reviewed October 5, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Just spent a fabulous weekend at The Long Barn celebrating my cousin's 50th Birthday. Ian & Jackie have thought of everything to make your stay absolutely perfect, from the luxurious accommodation (all 7 bedrooms/en suites are beautiful) to the delicious goodies they provide on arrival and departure. There were 11 ladies in our party and everyone agreed that we couldn't have asked for more. We will definitely be back! Thank you for everything :0)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfy beds, great kitchen equipment & lots of crockery, glasses etc.
Liked least: Loved it all
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna B
Sheffield
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect long weekend with friends”
Reviewed August 8, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the The Long Barn and I was so impressed that I wanted to review immediately!
There were 14 adults, 2 babies and 3 dogs in our group and all of us were highly impressed with everything at The Long Barn. Every detail has been thought of, the barn is beautifully decorated and every couple had a stunning bedroom with a beautiful en suite. The facilities are excellent with everything provided including: a gas BBQ (with gas), a fully stocked kitchen, large group seating inside and out, Sky tv, an impressive coffee machine and homemade treats on arrival and departure! A truly wonderful weekend in a beautiful setting. We will definitely be back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing