We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Luxurious accommodation”

Review of The Long Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Appleton le Moors, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SallyC635
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Luxurious accommodation”
Reviewed April 17, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We rented this amazing place for a 80th Birthday family get together, from the moment that Ian met us and showed us around we knew that we had chosen a gem. Everything that you could possibly want when self catering for a large number of people had been thought about and supplied, we really wanted for nothing. As other reviewers have commented on the basket of goodies is a lovely gesture but the present for the journey home leaves the best to the end! Each of the 7 bedrooms are tastefully decorated and well appointed, no need to squabble over which one to choose as they are all fantastic rooms. We were fortunate that the weather was kind enough to allow us to spend a few hours outside to enjoy the lovely courtyard garden. Finally to show just how generous the hosts are, the few things that were inadvertently left behind were posted back, completely free of charge......you really can't expect more than that!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BangleyTr...
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent venue for group of friends”
Reviewed March 18, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We're seven couples (friends and neighbours) who've stayed in country houses/farmhouses etc before - all lovely but someone always gets the rubbish bedroom so when we found this gem of a property we were thrilled. Ian and Jackie have created the most stylish, comfortable, modern space where every single thing had been thoughtfully provided. The atmosphere is warm welcoming and relaxing and the welcome pack of goodies was completely wonderful. Endless crockery, glasses, sharp knives, kitchen equipment on hand, excellent bedrooms all with en-suites, huge relaxing sitting room with Sky TV if wanted - and all the with Moors Inn pub within walking distance for drinks and dinner when you don't want to cook! Ian was on hand for us with any help or queries but not at all intrusive. We would all go back without a doubt!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was just right
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keilahbee
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful 5* barn and very friendly hosts”
Reviewed February 8, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I booked the Longbarn for a weekend away for my friends Hen party and we were all bowled over with the barn and the very kind owners. The accomodation is absolutely faultless, incredibly stylish yet homely and practical.

All of the very elegant rooms had their own ensuites, hairdryers and bath robes - ideal for a girly weekend away. The kitchen was well stocked with all mod cons and the inclusion of 2 dishwashers was very useful for a group of 14. On arrival Ian the owner had kindly signed for our tesco order which had just arrived and had put our champange in the wine fridges to chill. His wife Jackie had made a wonderful lemon cake and we also were left a welcome pack of homemade granola, marmalade, bread and sloe gin - such a lovely thoughtful touch. The large dining room is ideal for dinner for 14 and the very large lounge has comfy sofas and an excellent wood burning stove. There is even a boot room, equipped with a washing machine and drier for your clothes after a wet walk.

It is set in a pretty village in North Yorkshire that even managed to look lovely despite heavy rain.
We would all highly recommend the place for a group holiday or a hen party destination. Thank you Ian and Jackie for letting us stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RTC_SRD
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect for a large family Christmas”
Reviewed January 2, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at the Long Barn for Christmas week in 2015 and just can't fault it at all. We were a group of 8 adults and 6 children (kids aged 3 to 11), and one dog. The barn is just a great place for an extended family trip. Being December, and one of the wettest Decembers on record, there were limited opportunities to be outside, but amazingly this didn't seem to affect us. The kids had plenty of space to play, some games of hide and seek went on for ages as it's such a big place! By the time they had ran up and down both flights of stairs and along the very long landing a few times, they'd probably had more exercise than if we'd taken them for a bracing walk in the countryside!

Christmas day worked very well - the carnage of 6 kids opening presents at the same time was easy to manage in such a large space and there was plenty of room for people to have the space to build lego and play with various new toys without getting on top of each other.

The dining area works well with such a large group, endless high quality crockery and cutlery means you aren't scrabbling about to find enough at each meal, and the area works very well for everyone sitting down to play board games, do crafts etc.

The kitchen is fantastically well equipped, I was amazed to even find a top of the range food processor. It's thoughtfully planned for the size of groups that are there, with very large serving dishes, lots of baking trays etc, and two ovens and two dishwashers. We had no problems at all catering for 14, and over Christmas too which of course meant lots of baking and icing of cakes and the sort of thing you wouldn't normally do on holiday. The kitchen is also well laid out, so even with too many cooks involved in a lot of the meals, we weren't really in each others' way very much.

All the bedrooms are lovely, good quality linen, towels and robes, there's always plenty of hot water etc. If some members of the party are light sleepers, then two of the rooms are off in the left hand half of the house which is a good way from the living room and kitchen so any amount of raucous behaviour downstairs wouldn't wake them. For those with limited mobility, the ground floor rooms would work well, though perhaps not for someone entirely reliant on a wheelchair as there are two steps up from the hall to the kitchen.

The boot room and laundry room is also great, with so many people (and such poor weather) it did mean that whenever we came in there were a lot of muddy boots and a wet dog to deal with (dog towels were provided), which could all be done without messing up the main part of the house.

Having said the weather was awful, we did get the opportunity to go out a few times, the local loop walk (about a mile) is nice with small kids, and the walk to Lastingham is lovely. Also recommend a visit to Sutton Bank, Robin Hood's Bay and the market town of Helmsley, and there are lots of other places in the guidebook that the owners, Ian and Jackie, have put together. They also provided a lovely welcome basket with some home baking and home made sloe gin that was a really lovely touch.

If you're looking for a large property in a lovely area of the country, I just don't think you could do much better than this. For Christmas it was very special, and I am sure if we had been lucky enough to see some snow it would have been even more memorable still!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakeyjone...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Cracking accomodation in a fantastic location”
Reviewed December 13, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We spent a long weekend at the barn in September and enjoyed every minute of it. The barn was fantastic value for both the size, spec, and location, and the hosts were very friendly (even got some home made cakes). We enjoyed some great walks right out the front door, and the pub less than 2 minutes walk away was a great way to spend an evening (great food and ales) .

We are already planning our return visit next year.

Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Roweb
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best group accommodation I've ever stayed in”
Reviewed November 26, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The Long Barn is without a doubt the nicest group accommodation I've stayed in. A beautiful house in a beautiful setting, perfect for big groups wanting a special stay. Everything you could want has been thought about - from the endless hot water to the excellently equipped kitchen with two dishwashers and a coffee machine to the finishing touches that make it feel extra special - a welcome pack with homemade goodies, dressing gowns and posh towels.
Lots of great walks out the front door and brill country pubs nearby. We had a great trip and with a couple of taxi journeys from the station, didn't need a car.
Yorkshire at its best.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Dream kitchen
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing