We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Visit”
Review of The Moors Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Moors Inn
Certificate of Excellence
HULL England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable Visit”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed 9th June for one night on our way back from Chester to break our journey home to HULL Guy greeted us and made us feel welcome. Stayed in room 7 above the bar not in one of the courtyard rooms. The room was basic but adequate after having to pull out bed to plug in bedside lights. After visiting Pickering where there was a Sixties gala with lots of people making the effort to dress in Sixties clothes and was good fun, we returned for our evening meal. The meal was excellent with a varied interesting menu and well above "pub grub" standard , very reasonable in price considering the quality. A selection of good well kept beers was also available. The staff were attentive without being intrusive and nothing was too much trouble The place is very popular and seemed to have regular diners which is always a good sign.We would definitley stay there again.... Ray & Carol Hewitt HULL

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RayCarol81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    42
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
26
125
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

a lovely welcoming pub and an excellent sunday lunch. also good price £17 for 3 course. everything superb!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saratonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

A small party of us stayed recently for 2 nights. This is an unpretentious old fashioned country pub with friendly staff. The rooms although not large are quite adequate and the price is very reasonable.
The food for evening meal is excellent both in choice and quality - don't expect an artistic display on your plate - this is country pub food at its best.
We will be staying there again without doubt.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snoweyholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
145 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

A party of eleven of us booked a meal on a busy Saturday evening and had nothing but praise for the efficient and friendly service, the varied menu and, of course, the quality of all the food served. Finally, the cost was very reasonable indeed.
Highyl recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pengowls1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

From the moment we arrived we loved the place. welcoming dog friendly clean. Breakfast was spot on. Staff friendly and very helpful

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonediz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Admittedly this review is a few years late - we stayed here in May 2007 - but certainly wanted to leave a review..... We had a lovely stay at the Moors Inn - chosen so we could bring our dog and they didn't disappoint. Centrally located for exploring both the Moors and the Dales of North Yorkshire. Our room was clean, cozy and comfortable. Meals were delicious and the service was great! Enjoyed coming back to the Inn after a long day of exploring. We didn't realize that they didn't accept credit cards and the owner was kind enough to let us mail her a check for our 3 day stay (including all of our evening meals too) which we did promptly! That wouldn't happen at home in the States!! Go to relax and explore the beautiful countryside!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissScarlett67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2011

we were moved to The Moors Inn at the last minuet when our original booking turned out to be unsuitable. I think we got the better deal. My sister and I took our 74yr old mother as a birthday treat.
The hotel is very clean and quiet which is just what we were looking for. Sally, who was on the bar arranged for sandwiches and chips even though the bar and kitchen had closed. These were much appriciated
Breakfast was well cooked and there was a lot of choice. We all agreed that we would like to go back again and will definately recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appleton le Moors
8.0 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,532 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirkbymoorside
136 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lastingham Grange
Lastingham Grange
#1 of 1 in Lastingham
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
683 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
713 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fox & Hounds Country Inn
Fox & Hounds Country Inn
#1 of 3 in Sinnington
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moors Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moors Inn

Property: The Moors Inn
Address: Appleton-le-Moors, Appleton le Moors YO62 6TF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Appleton le Moors
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Appleton le Moors
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Moors Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run, traditional inn located in a quiet National park village near Pickering, the beautiful North York Moors and the scenic Heritage Coast, offering good home-cooked food, real ales and roaring log fires.Recently taken back into family ownership by the Frank family, The Moors Inn is located in the quiet village of Appleton-le-Moors on the edge of the North Yorkshire Moors, within the popular National Park. The Inn, dating back to the 18th Century is a grade II listed building and has been restored by the current owners to reflect its past whilst providing modern comforts and a high standard of accommodation. The location is peaceful and picturesque, and perfect for both quiet relaxation and more active visitors. Listed in the Good Pub Guide, the Moors Inn offers peaceful and relaxing accommodation and a warm and friendly atmosphere in which to unwind.Rooms are located both above the main pub building, overlooking the village street and in converted barns found to the rear of the property. All rooms are en-suite with a shower and boast a range of home comforts to enhance your stay; televisions, shaver points, hairdryers and tea & coffee facilities all come as standard. Twin and Double bedded rooms are available and pets are welcomed at no extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Moors Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing