We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value & Kind staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunda Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunda Resort
Ranked #59 of 106 Hotels in Ao Nang
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Value & Kind staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2010

We stayed at Sunda for 3 nights midway through our Thailand trip. The Ao Nang Ferry included a transfer directly to the resort, so it was easy to find. Very lush tropical gardens and a raised boardwalk path to the rooms. Our room was big and clean complete with towel animals. The bathroom is semi outdoors and very tropical looking. The shower had great pressure. Keep the bathroom door closed to keep out mosquitos. We had a nice back deck that looked out over the river... some rooms had a front deck that was on the pathway- not private at all! The pool at our end was big and deserted- perfect for a day of suntanning and swimming.
The Staff were very friendly & helpful from the front desk ("Nana") to the guys that drove the tuk tuk shuttle into Ao Nang. We tipped him 20 Baht each time and he was very appreciative. Nana helped us book a snorkel trip, and also our ferry to Phuket. We recommend doing the long boat to RaiLay beach for a day- very funky spot with good food & swimming. We found Ao Nang to be very busy and touristy so were happy to hang out at the resort once & a while. Buy your alcohol in town though- they don't serve any at Sunda (Muslim).
Overall- we recommend Sunda very much, and would stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IslandGirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    201
    61
    26
    10
See reviews for
52
163
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2010

The rooms were clean and the quality of the service was pretty good.

Pros:
1) The cost of the hotel was very reasonable
2) The hotel offered a shuttle to downtown which was convenient but you basically had to take a taxi back if you stayed out past 9:30 p.m. The taxis were really cheap so this was not a big deal for us.
Cons:
1) The smell by the restaurant was HORRENDOUS! Not sure if the sewer was broken or what, but it was disgusting! Just be prepared of this when you eat at the hotel restaurant. Hopefully it was only a temporary thing.
2) The staff didn't speak much English so just prepared that you won't get much assistance if you are trying to ask the front desk for advice or any other assistance.
3) Location was sort of out of the way, but transportation was so cheap that it wasn't hard to get around at a reasonable cost

Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Chicago_traveler20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2010

This is not my first time staying at Sunda Resort when I was at Ao Nang, Krabi. The first time was very refreshing, different and memorable. Recently, I stayed again at Sunda Resort. Verdict ~ If I ever go to Ao Nang, Krabi again, I will definitely stay at Sunda Resort.

Sunda Resort is clean, huge and spacious. The resort itself really makes you feel as though as you are staying in "village" and close to the nature. When I said nature I did not mean by jungle or forrested area. A nice distance away from the buzz of Ao Nang.

This time around, I wanted to book the Pool View room but unavailable. I booked the Canal View Room. The first time I stayed, I booked the Garden View Room. I wasn't disappointed. The room is clean and spacious. Fantastic. For the price that you pay, it really worth every penny of it. The toilet is refreshing indeed. I do not know how to describe it. It is like "open-concept" where natural ventilation is present. Occassionally, you able to get lizards or frogs in the toilet. This is the cool part. I was freaking amazed that frogs or toads can literally hop up the wall and out of the toilet. Seriously, I am ticklish by the sight of lizards and frogs. Heheheh.

Breakfast spread was quite all right. Enough to last you till dinner. Nice and adequate. And Sunda Resort is Muslim-owned, so for the Muslims, you do not to worry about the food. There is a rule that No Alcohol Drinks is allowed in the cafeteria.

Sunda Resort Staff are superbz. They speak good english and they understand well of your intentions. They will go all the way to make your stay more pleasant and comfortable. To me, that's the bonus part. I would not want to be in a situation like "cow talking to a monkey". The staff remembered me. That made my stay more special.

There is a local market near Sunda Resort which open till 7pm. Local delights and other stuffs are going at a very good price compared to shops along Ao Nang Beach. But do not expect wide range of choices. The other best part is motorcycles rental. Sunda Resort has 5-7bikes for rental at 200baht per day. So you could rent the bike and go anywhere and still return the bike at Sunda Resort. Unlike other hotels which do not have this service. You got to go to motorcycle shop to rent. Ride to anywhere. And return it back to the shop. Then, you either walk back to your hotel or took the Tuk-tuk back to your hotel.

Sunda Resort also offer FREE Tuk-tuk service to and fro Ao Nang Beach. This really comes in handy if you do not want to walk to Ao Nang Beach which is roughly about 15-20mins walk.

What else is there for me to say. For the price dat I paid, it worth every penny of it. Sunda Resort manage to strike the balance between nature and urban. But still, Sunda Resort short-comings are forgive-able and very minor. For me, the only short-coming is the frogs and lizards.

Before I forget, there are 2 swimming pools and there are also mini padi-fields within the resort compound. Every morning you are able to see couple of workers working the padi-field. A very nice sight.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nazrin_Salim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2010

A beautiful resort. The bungalows are clean and well maintained. It is a short tuk-tuk drive to the beach. shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ang1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Köln
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2010

We spent 8 nights here in February for a bargain price. I would say this was the best resort we have been during our long Thailand vacation. Everything is perfectly clean, the bungalows are cozy with stylish outdoor bathrooms, only the balcony furniture could be more comfortable.
The staff is just too nice. I actually think their English is very good, so no communication problems there. Free WiFi works all over the place and the pools are great for kids, especially the smaller one because it has shade in the afternoon. If the rooms more comfortable balcony furniture, it would be perfect.
Food in the restaurant is very inexpensive and good, too. The breakfast buffet is huge, selection varies.
Be aware, however, that alcohol is not sold on premisese, but it is tolerated if you bring your own (available on the beach road corner, a 10 minute walk).
Too bad this resort is not directly on the beach, but the free tuk tuk service will take you there in only 5 minutes, and for the way back it won't cost you more than 60-70 Baht. The kids will love it.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sirtobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2010

We stayed at the Sunda Resort in November '09 for 3 nights. We got an incredible deal by booking through Agoda. Our room was situated next to the swimming pool which was fantastic. When we arrived, we wanted to book a few day trips to see the islands and to also go Elephant treking. The employees do not have the best English so be prepared to reference the trip brochures to get your point across. They were helpful in that they arranged the boat trip for us but when it came to booking the elephant treking trip they only had brochures for one company which we had heard really bad reviews on so we booked that trip through a travel agency in Ao Nang. The resort is located off the beaten track which i loved. We took the free tuk tuk everynight into Ao Nang beach for dinner and drinks and it was really inexpensive to pay for the tuk tuk home. On the last night we were there, the town had a Muay Thai event at the boxing arena and only when we were dropped off at the boxing arena did we discover it was down the street from the resort. The resort had INCREDIBLE breakfast buffets every morning- but that is the only time we ate there. The rooms were really nice and clean. The bathroom was half open air which was really cool except we had an issue with the shower- the first day the water was luke warm and then the next day, the shower hose sprung a leak- both times we called maintance and they were there within 10 minutes to fix the issues. I enjoyed my stay in Krabi and it is a great place to stay and do day trips to the islands (the resort provides you with beach towels so you don't have to worry about bringing your own).

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aduf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2010

Perfect place for nice holiday! We have been there with our 20 months old Son, the stuff was very-very helpful and very-very kind with him. Thanks a lot!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank topike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
1.3 mi away
The Verandah
The Verandah
#15 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.5 mi away
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
#27 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ao-Nang Sunset Hotel
Ao-Nang Sunset Hotel
#35 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
AliSea Boutique Hotel
AliSea Boutique Hotel
#10 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
1.2 mi away
Krabi Tipa Resort
Krabi Tipa Resort
#22 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
1.2 mi away
J. Hotel
J. Hotel
#52 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunda Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunda Resort

Property: Sunda Resort
Address: 19 Moo 3 | Muang Krabi, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
#19 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunda Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3-star-boutique resort in the villa or bungalow style. The property is provided 48 guest rooms and classified to 3 room types; The Canal Side, The Pool side, and the Garden View. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunda Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunda Hotel Ao Nang
Sunda Hotel Krabi
Sunda Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing