We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort for the cost”
Review of Sunda Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunda Resort
Ranked #65 of 110 Hotels in Ao Nang
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My daughter and I stayed one night at the Sunda Resort March 2, 2013. We were impressed with the lovely setting amongst the lush vegetation and the quiet nature of the resort. The two pools were spotless and we had them almost all to ourselves. The rooms while basic are clean and comfortable. The one downside to the room is that the door to the room is a glass sliding door with no screen so in order to have privacy you need to have your curtains closed when in the room. The breakfast was not the most extensive that we experienced while away but it was adequate. Please note, there is no alcohol served in the restaurant.
The staff were friendly and helpful. All in all, amazing value for the money and I would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a door versus a sliding glass door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (422)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 422 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

hi,
we stayed here for couple of days.
hotel was above expectation......
good rooms, excellent and friendly staff, free tuk tuk service to ao nang,
overall a very great experience staying at Sunda resort.
recomended.

Room Tip: you can choose a pool view or a garden view room both are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank akshat11032012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at the Sunda from 4th to 7th February 2013.
It is such a calm relaxing place, but only a 5 minute ride away from the centre of Ao nang and the beach. You could easily walk, but it was so hot, we decided not to.The hotel runs a free shuttle service. You have to phone to get them to pick you up again, but don't worry if you don't have a phone as the shopkeepers are more than happy to phone for you.
Our check in was smooth and we were greeted with a cold strawberry drink.
The rooms were simple but spotlessly clean. The shower rooms were open, although ours did have perspex so we didn't get any unwelcome guests (Bungalow 114). Our son's bungalow (113) only had a perspex roof and often had gekos in and out. No snakes found their way in.
The room was a little dark, but only to be expected with all the lovely trees and vegetation surrounding it. Our balcony was next to a stream and we thought there would be a problem with mossies, but all was OK.The evening meals were freshly cooked, tastly and substantial, as was the choice. Breakfast was a little disappointing on the first day. It was buffet and in fairness we did go to breakfast late so there wasn't much choice. However, once you knew what to expect, it wasn't too bad. The cost was reasonable and a lot less than our last hotel. Fruit juice 50baht, fruit shakes 100baht, chicken in oyster sauce with rice 100baht, desserts were about 90 baht.
My husband hurt his back whilst we were there and the staff were marvellous. They rang round to different doctors to find the one that would come out to the hotel for the least money. As he couldn't walk to the restaurant, they made up his meal so that it could be taken back to the room.
Because he stayed in the bungalow all day one day, the cleaner couldn't come in, but she left a bag of fresh towels, toilet rolls etc at the door
One swimming pool was in the shade, the other in the sun. The one in the sun was having new gardens planted and there were three new ponds there too.It'll be great once it's all established.
This is a muslim run resort so no alcohol.
It isn't a place for young people wanting lots of entertainment and night life. It is very peaceful and laid back.
Everyone was pleasant and helpful and we would definately go back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charliebrown44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed at the Sunda Resort at the end of January 2013. We booked a pool view villa for 4 nights. The first night we got villa P06 with a connecting door. We didn’t like this villa because the connecting door gave a lot of extra noise and the view from the terrace was terrible. We couldn’t see the pool from the terrace because it is facing a noisy machine room used for cleaning the pool. The last three nights we stayed at villa P17 which was much better. This villa had no connecting door and the terrace had a side view to the pool.

Both villa’s had the same large size. We found them very comfortable. The cleaning was done well because both our villa’s were clean all the time. The semi outside bathroom was fine but needs some improvements. Because it’s an open bathroom mosquito’s can easily come in. So keep the door to the bedroom closed! The shower was terrible. Water was spraying everywhere but not on our body’s. Water pressure was quite low also and water temperature was quite cold most of the time. The floor of the shower was made by three big stones which we found uncomfortable. Most of the towels provided were worn down (see picture). They definitely need to replace them.

The villa’s are situated in a nice garden. It gave a beautiful tropical feeling. But they should take care about the plants. Some of them were dried out and we missed the flowers. The buffet breakfast was simple but enough. We liked having breakfast outside every morning. We had dinner at their restaurant two times and the food was fine. A little more expensive than in town but the meals were very tasteful. The staffs at the the reception and at the restaurant we very friendly and helpful all the time.

Despite the necessary improvement we were very happy with our stay at the Sunda Resort.

Room Tip: Avoid villa's with connecting doors. A lot of noice is coming through these doors. Only a few of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CorTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Very relaxing, spotlessly clean, very friendly staff who were very helpful, they have a shuttle bus which is very helpful and can drop you off and pick up at different points in the local area. Tuk tuks very cheap in area anyway. Lovely beaches in area, would recommend. Nice pools to cool off in.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I was in Sunda resort for 1 week in November 2012. It was beautiful: the resort is surrounded by nature and there are 2 swimming pools. The staff is kind and nice!They have a free shuttle service that takes you to Ao Nang and Nopparat thara beach (10 Minutes) or they rent also scooters. In the morning you could find everything at the breakfast buffet. The only problem was the mosquitoes, but just have mosquito repellant and antihistamine cream and it's all ok!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Sunda Resort and found it to be a relaxing place to stay in Krabi. The location is great because it's located in a more secluded forestry area away from the tourist spots. It's not on the beach, but the resort provides free shuttle services every ten minutes to two of the beaches near by. What more could you ask for? Away from the crowds but easily accessible to the beaches and shopping areas. The staff was friendly and greeted us with a very refreshing juice on arrival. They provided us with new beach towels each day and helped us rent scooters when we needed one. The rooms were nice and clean; they changed everything each day and provided 2 free bottles of water, coffee, and tea each day. The only negative thing about the rooms was the bathroom. It's enclosed, but it's very comparable to a bath house at a campground - open air near the ceilings so the bugs can fly in. It's much nicer than a bath house at a campground with a nice toilet, tiled floors, and sink. But, the bugs can still come in and it's not air-conditioned. It wasn't a big problem for us. You just have to make sure to put a toilet at the base of your door leading into your room or else the bugs will get into your room from the bathroom. They exchanged the soap and shampoo each day, which was another big plus. Another great feature of the resort was the access to the pool. It was very relaxing to come back from a day at the beach and rinse off in the pool and maybe even lay by the poolside. In conclusion, I would definitely reccomend this resort to anyone. The staff were very helpful and made our stay comfortable. The price was fairly reasonable. The location was quiet, but the shuttles made it perfectly possible to also experience the more exciting parts of Krabi for no charge. Thank you, Sunda Resort

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nic J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.7 mi away
Green View Village Resort
Green View Village Resort
#50 of 110 in Ao Nang
293 reviews
0.0 mi away
Krabi Heritage Hotel
Krabi Heritage Hotel
#43 of 110 in Ao Nang
404 reviews
0.1 mi away
Krabi Tipa Resort
Krabi Tipa Resort
#24 of 110 in Ao Nang
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
J. Hotel
J. Hotel
#59 of 110 in Ao Nang
273 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anyavee Ao Nang Bay Resort
Anyavee Ao Nang Bay Resort
#58 of 110 in Ao Nang
276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aonang Top View
Aonang Top View
#72 of 110 in Ao Nang
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunda Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunda Resort

Address: 19 Moo 3 | Muang Krabi, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Ao Nang
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
#20 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range: $22 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunda Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3-star-boutique resort in the villa or bungalow style. The property is provided 48 guest rooms and classified to 3 room types; The Canal Side, The Pool side, and the Garden View. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunda Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunda Hotel Ao Nang
Sunda Hotel Krabi
Sunda Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing