We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An excellent large private villa with your own...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
7 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Ao Nang, Krabi Town, Krabi Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Gillian H
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed January 5, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Although the villa is well finished and laid out spaciously and is only a few kms from Ao Nang beach front it is in a very awkward area with no tuk tuks or taxis passing by so you can only get to the beaches/restaurants by pre arranged lifts either through the housekeeper or your own contacts. We found this a hassle as you always had to be fully planned with where and when you were going out. Tuk tuks back from the beach are easy to get but they had no idea where the villa was even with a proper street address given.

The main house is lovely but the cottage is on a busy main road a very noisy. Also smelled horrible. Major plumbing issues in both houses with toilets constantly blocking and issues with water pressure and not always having hot water.

Very disappointing overall

Housekeeper Oy was extremely helpful and trips etc she arranged were great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zhang F
Beijing, China
1 review
“An excellent large private villa with your own pool, great services from the housekeeper.”
Reviewed September 21, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I stayed at Umi Villa this August with my friends and we had a really good time there. The villa is very big, also we enjoyed the pool a lot. Every morning, the cleaner came to clean the place, so we came back home with a fresh clean house every day. The house keeper Ms.Oy is very nice and helpful. She also does private catering if you pre-book lunch and/or dinner with her - Best Thai Food I've ever had in my life. Definitely recommend! The location of the villa is not so close to the Krabi Town, but if you hire your own driver or transportion options, this shouldn't be a big problem.

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crysee
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Lovely place but could use clarification in its description”
Reviewed February 4, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
3
people found this review helpful

There was a little blip on arrival when our transport couldn't find us at the airport and then didn't know how to get to the villa. It was a little stressful to sort out given that you can only get Wifi in the airport by buying something at the café, and then you have to hope your phone works. Anyway sometimes these things happen. The house was beautiful and everything we had hoped. We felt like rockstars and our stay in this house was the highlight of our trip to Thailand. As other reviews have stated Oy was a great host and took care of everything we needed (and the meal she cooked for us was as others have said, amazing).

That said, we were very disappointed in the location of the villa, as we believed that "5 minutes to the beach" meant that we could walk to the beach in that amount of time. What they are clearly talking about is 5 minutes if you had a car (and even then I would think it's farther). So we felt dooped by this description and feel the ad should be more clear. IA walk to the main road where there are convenience stores, the market etc. is at least a 20 minute walk, and the beach is farther than that. We didn't even go to the beach due to the distance. And renting a tuk tuk from the shop across the street is really expensive. The first night Oy suggested we take one to buy food and liquor and round trip is was like $17 Cdn, which was ridiculous. We learned after that we could have walked down the road for some of what we had paid so much to get by tuk tuk. So the whole transport thing and distance from the beach put a damper on our stay there. I would also say that we felt that we were not given all the info about how much things would cost and that there were then surprises in the end i.e. the in-house meal and tours, which left us with a bit of a bad taste in our mouth. So in a nutshell, it's a lovely place, just be mindful that it is more isolated, that you need transport to get places, to get to the beach and to take care of your basic needs, and that you should ask lots of questions when you are booking things.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 5, 2016
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and we sincerely apologize if you feel our information was unclear or misleading. Our maps and location are clearly stated and the drive to Nopparatara Beach, which I make regularly, is exactly 3 minutes with Ao Nang Beach an additional 2 minutes for a total of 5 minutes.
It’s unfortunate that you did not get to explore the neighborhood, which has little shops and eateries within a very short walk. There is also a well known restaurant within a 5 minute walk away from the beaches and the night market that is a 10 minute walk, offers delicious eateries as well.
Ms. Oy is a fabulous cook but cannot always be available in which case she hires outside cooks at local rates. Rates are normally quoted as per person/per meal and based on the agreed menu. You are always welcome and encouraged to discuss menu and price with the cooks directly as we do not profit in any way from this service that Ms. Oy kindly arranges for you.
Most of our guests also find that Ms. Oy gets them very good rates on tours and that they save by booking through her rather than be gouged down at the beach but all our guests are free to book through any preferred channel. Again, we do not profit in any way from this service that Ms. Oy kindly arranges for you and as with anything, we encourage our guests to discuss and agree on price before participating so everyone one is clear and happy.
Thank you again for taking the time to give us feedback. We hope to host you again sometime in one of our properties and perhaps do better and should you return to Krabi we highly encourage you to explore the area…its actually very cool.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam L
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a place”
Reviewed February 2, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Well what can i say, this villa was everything we expected when we booked to come for a friends 30th. When we saw the pictures we thought it was too good to be true but when we arrived it was everything we had hoped for.
On arrival Ms Oy was there to greet us and what a fantastic and wonderful lady she was. She made our stay here amazing and we didnt want to leave. She helped with our trips to the local beaches, she came in one evening and made the most amazing feast for our friends surprise 30th meal one evening which was truly amazing.
The Villa was out of this world, great air con, spacious rooms, a lovely outside area and a wonderful pool to chill in throughout the day or after a long day at the beach.
You really dont need to leave this place as everything is there you could ask for. Its a great villa for large families or groups of friends like ourselves.
I look forward to going back again and seeing the lovely Ms Oy and her beautiful smile :)

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 2, 2016
Thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly T
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Even more Impressive than the Photos!”
Reviewed January 29, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I really can't praise this villa enough... we felt like VIPs living in modern luxury! Beautifully presented & spotless, it has everything you need for the perfect holiday. Floats & balls for fun pool games, lovely outdoor areas with plenty of space for large groups, huge comfortable beds with en-suite bathrooms & air con in every room, TV lounge area for those lazy evenings, fully equipped kitchen, separate annex and upstairs bedrooms, so the place never felt crowded. It even has an electric gated entrance for security.
The most special part of the whole experience was definitely Ms.Oy, our host, who couldn't do enough to make everything run so smoothly & easily. She speaks extremely good English and is happy to organise anything you wish. I'd thoroughly recommend the villa catering, which was the best food we ate in Thailand. Thank you Ms.Oy & friends.. you made our stay truly incredible. See you again one day, miss you already!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry D
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr”
Reviewed January 28, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Absolutely amazing staying here made our holiday. Ms Oy is a wonderful host. We wanted to take her home. We will definitely be coming back. Holiday of a lifetime.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debzw81
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing, amazing, amazing! ”
Reviewed January 23, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Wow, well what can I say about this wonderful villa and the incredibly dedicated host, Ms. Oy....it was just fabulous. A large group of us stayed here for 3 nights as part of the first leg of a thailand adventure and we literally couldn't have had asked for anything better. The villa is spectacular...large rooms, incredibly spacious and always cleaned daily. Our wonderful host Ms.Oy was exceptional..she promptly organised all the excursions we wanted to go on and she cooked the most exquisite birthday meal for our friend on one of the evenings. She provided us with a phone which we could use to call her for any questions, enquiries or problems we had. This villa is an absolute must for large groups of friends or family who are looking to stay away from the touristy beach resorts and stay in a place which offers incredible value for money. I would give this villa and Ms.Oy 10 stars if I had the option. Can't wait to return next year! :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 26, 2016
Thank you! We look forward sting you again one day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing