We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Palace Ao Nang

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Palace Ao Nang
Ranked #95 of 107 Hotels in Ao Nang
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beware”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

Becareful of your credit card n cash!
My credit card & cash got steal without notice it. Is my mistake leave my purse n hp in d hotel room when go for island tour. Giving them hv a chance to steal, but they dont steal all only those u wont notice so my advice pls beware of their staffs!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EdlynChiong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    28
    41
    28
    33
See reviews for
17
54
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melaka, Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

My sister went to this hotel with friends on 16-18May2012. After leaving Krabi, she received sms that her credit card was being swipe for an amount of THB27,000+ which was not being transacted by her. Cash USD300 was also stolen during the stay. She is 100% sure that this happened in The Palace Aonang Resort Krabi.
The way the thief(s) stole the cash was planned. Not all USD300 was stolen at a time. It was an accumulated amount at different time during the stay in this hotel.
**Traveling is an relaxing and enjoyable activity, however things could happen like above. We need to be extra careful in selecting hotels and safeguard our valuable items.
Disclaimer: above sharing is true story from my sister.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TTClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ao Nang hotels

Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

Room was lovely and had everything you'd need (except a toilet roll holder, but that's a Thai thing), Aircon, Fridge with two bottles of water each turn down service, tv, and if you're lucky a mountain facing room with a stunning view... If not you'll be overlooking the road, which is a busy vibrant street. The turn down service could have paid attention to smaller details such as even amounts of creamer for coffees or when toilet paper ran low.

Towels are available for the pool area and taking to the beach which is really great!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

We were advised to stay in this hotel mostly because of its location and the fact that it's not huge and crowded. And it's all true but as we can read in other reviews, Ao Nang Palace has really nothing to do with the palace. The rooms are basic, have old furniture, very thin walls that you can hear your neighbours loud & clear. Breakfast is nothing to talk about: very limited selection. On the other hand, it does have a nice swimming pool and is directly on the main street which may be bothersome if you get a room facing this street.
Also do remember that buying any trips from the agency next to the reception you will surely pay more than anywhere else on the same street.
If you book for just 2-3 nights that's just fine but I would not recommend it for longer stays.

Room Tip: make sure you get a room facing the yard not the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
181 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

Choosing the Palace to stay at in Ao Nang was primarily done on location and if that was the main and only criteria this hotel would be number 1 on the town. The Palace is in a good location, less than 100 metres from the beach and close to many shops, bars and restaurants. It is not a cheap hotel in Thai terms at over 2500 baht per night when i stayed in December 2011 so i was expecting something that was a little bigger and or more plush than the hotel actually was. The room was described as superior which may refer to the fact it was not on the ground floor. The bed was quite comfortable for a Thai hotel, not too hard, the TV (old CRT style) had English-speaking channels and there was a fridge and tea coffee making facilities with complimentary water, tea and coffee. The bathroom was poor, the toilet took some multiple flushes to clear all, the shower mounting was lose and shower temperature control was non existent. Breakfast was OK and included in the price. the staff were always nice and helpful. would i go back? Not at this price.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alant1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

This hotel is on the main road in ao nang very close to everything and less than a minutes walk to the beach. The hotel hallways,pool area and breakfast area is in desperate need of some refurbishment to keep up with its star rating and to justify its cost.High season 1800bht a night! lots of broken tiles in hallways,bad smell coming from next to pool area, cockroaches around the breakfast area. The staff at this hotel were very nice tho,friendly and always willing to help. The rooms are pretty nice s well!good air-con and seemed clean enough,We had a room at the front of the building so was very noisy in room,especialy in the morning. However the balcony was a great place to chill at times and watch the world go by.I hope this hotel gets a refurb soon as its so tired and could be a great little hotel again.

Room Tip: if noise is a problem request rear of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavle, Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

The Palace has a great location in Ao Nang, with barely one minutes walk to the beach and the main shopping street. Compared to other Thai hotels, it wasn't too cheap, and you didn't really get something extra for that extra money neither. The room was just fine, the hotel in general was a bit worn-out and the breakfast buffet was rather bland. The staff wasn't that outgoing, although they were far from unpleasant.

No big complaints, just not too impressed. Since there are a lot of other hotels in the area, I can imagine that you might find a better, and maybe even cheaper one quite easily.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T0mTraubert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.1 mi away
Aonang Top View
Aonang Top View
#73 of 107 in Ao Nang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rooms Republic
Rooms Republic
#64 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ao Nang Beach Resort
Ao Nang Beach Resort
#71 of 107 in Ao Nang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
J. Hotel
J. Hotel
#55 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aonang President Hotel
Aonang President Hotel
#77 of 107 in Ao Nang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Verandah
The Verandah
#14 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Ao Nang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Ao Nang

Property: The Palace Ao Nang
Address: 208 M.2 Ao-Nang | Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 107 Hotels in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Palace Ao Nang 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Palace Ao Nang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Ao Nang Hotel Ao Nang
The Palace Ao Nang Krabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing