We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Thai Hotel”
Review of Chaya Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chaya Resort
Ranked #77 of 110 Hotels in Ao Nang
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at this wretched place for three days in late March 2013, It sits across the the street from a shallow, cloudy water, beach with garbage on sidewalks for as far as the eye can see. Upon entering our bungalow style room, we immediately discovered that both the hot water and Air conditioner didn't work. A technician quickly turned a bolt or flipped a switch to remedy both issues. I highly suspect this was planned. If we didn't complain they would have relished the savings on their electric and gas bills. I'm serious! Some people, they reckon, are too shy to complain and take action against this kind of abuse. Most Thai hotels offer a complimentary breakfast that is usually varied and delicious. I speak from long (forty plus) years of traveling and living in Thailand. The Chaya's answer to this perk is to deliver, day after day,the abolute minimum of synthetic orange juice, instant coffee, and a couple of fried eggs draped over a piece of cold white toast. Oh, I forgot to mention the pallid, synthetic, mini wienie next to it. This was the SAME for three days in a row. I hate eggs of any kind!! We had to walk a few stalls down the road to find something decent. At least we got o enjoy the mosquitos singing us to sleep. Don't dream of throwing your money away on this dump.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JayA23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 33 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed in the room you can see in the photo.It was spacious enough.
1000 baht in August. I would recommend. We stayed in 600 to 1000 baht hotels in July 2012
it is directly opposite the beach on Nopparot Thara road. Route 4203. If you bring google up to high zoom you will see the hotel marked.
It is not a busy as the Ao Nang township area just to the south on the same route.
Swimming good at high tide There are very good restaurants within walking distance .

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paulscottfilms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2008

My friends and I just returned from Chaya Resort, Krabi on 16 January 2008. We found the resort over-priced for what it had to offer. There was no swimming pool and restaurant. Breakfast, which was included, was actually toast with eggs and a sausage which was cooked by the hotel staff. There was however, free flow of coffee and tea the whole day.

The room was also very basic. The bathroom had a very bad odour, probably due to the drainage. There was either very hot water or very cold water in the shower, nothing in between. We could not adjust that at all, and the pressure of the water was really bad - very little water. Lots of mosquitoes in the bedroom and bathroom as well.

Location wise was not bad. It was a bit far from the main shops and reataurants of Ao Nang, about 10-15mins by walk and 5mins by car. Beach was a little dirty.

However, we have to applaud the staff. They were very attentive and helpful in giving us directions and assisting us in bookings for recreational activities.

I am sure there are better hotels for the same price in Ao Nang. But for people who dont mind having just the basics, then Chaya Resort would be ideal.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank beautiful79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled with friends
Thank ctettamanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dolchine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Hensen68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
2  Thank iko985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.2 mi away
Aonang All Seasons Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Krabi Ao Nang Beach
0.9 mi away
Aonang Top View
Aonang Top View
#75 of 110 in Ao Nang
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aonang Buri Resort
Aonang Buri Resort
#63 of 110 in Ao Nang
294 reviews
0.3 mi away
Timber House Resort
Timber House Resort
#68 of 110 in Ao Nang
171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Srisuksant Resort
Srisuksant Resort
#60 of 110 in Ao Nang
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaya Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaya Resort

Address: 149 Moo 3 Tambon Ao-nang Muang Krabi, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 110 Hotels in Ao Nang
Price Range: $43 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chaya Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 309
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chaya Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaya Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing