We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good find”
Review of Duang Jai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Duang Jai Resort
Ranked #50 of 107 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Marrakech
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good find”
Reviewed August 14, 2007

Very comfortable guesthouse with a great swimming pool. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Breakfast rather poor and location a little dark at night.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BB222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    63
    20
    5
    3
See reviews for
21
86
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2007

I would recommend Duang Jai Resort to people who like to stay in a resort where you want to have privacy and quiet getaways as there are only 20 rooms.We stay there for 5 days and 4 nights. First of all,when we reached the airport, we had a very friendly guy that drove to our resort. The receptionist was very friendly,recommended to us where are the places we should visit. And every morning,the staffs will greet us and asked how was our sleep last night. The resort is quite a new resort, where the room was beautiful, exactly the same as we seen on the website. It has all the facilities that needed, such as kettle, safe box,fridge, hot shower etc. I also particularly like the thick quilt blanket as it is very comfortable to cover with at night. The pool though is not very big, but it's beautiful and there's a jacuzzi too. From the resort to the main road, it's only 5-10 minutes walk, and there are lightings along the way in to the resort at night. So it's quite safe, it's good to have a short walk after a meal. So it's a great place to stay in, we would definitely go back there the next time. (you can take a look at the photos of the resort)

  • Liked — Beautiful, comfortable room
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sp1407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2007

We loved this little gem for our 5 night stay. I did a lot of research on hotels for our trip to Krabi, and this place looked the best value, and it was. A lovely, small boutique hotel in a nice, quiet location at a great price (especially during low season).

Great friendly service - we organised a few tours, massages and transfers through reception and they were helpful, and provided good value.

The rooms are very nice! We stayed in a deluxe top view room. Spacious, great air con, nice decor, good bathroom (shower, no bath), very reasonable priced mini bar, coffee/tea facilities, nice balcony with mountain and pool views, decent tv, and the cleanliness and housekeeping was always top notch.

I also checked out one of the lower level rooms, and although they don't have balcony views, they do have a lovely little rear garden courtyard, with their bathroom looking out onto it.

The pool is sensational - very clean; gorgeous. And the grounds are small but absolutely stunning; lots of green tropical plants and flowers.

It's about a 5-10 minute walk to Ao Nang hot spots - no problem. Or if you are feeling lazy or too hot, just get a tuk tuk for 20 baht per person.

Food was pretty good, although we did get a little bored with the breakfast, and the hotel also has free internet in reception, and a small selection of books and mags to borrow.

Highly recommended. Would stay there again.

  • Liked — Spacious rooms and lovely garden and pool
  • Disliked — Nothing really - all good.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macca666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2007

Just returned from a 3 nights' stay at Duang Jai Resort. It's a small (20rooms) and cosy establishment with a sister resort, Ayara Villas at Khaolak. The room was spacious even though we had twin beds and an extra bed. The furnishing was really unique, such as a lovely room door, bathroom door lock and high ceiling. There's even a kitchen sink in the room. The balcony was also spacious with seats for 5 persons. Breakfast was simple but adequate. We had the swimming pool to ourselves even though the receptionist said that the occupancy was full. The staff are obliging aIthough we had to ask for a third towel each day since there were 3 of us. It's a mere 10 minutes' walk to the main shopping area in Ao Nang and as it rained in the evenings, you could hear thousands and thousands of frogs croaking after the rain. It was really cool! I was in Krabi 2 months ago and the crowd of tourists has really dissipated. Even though it may be the rainy season now, the rain just falls for an hour or so and then stops. I would say it's a good time to visit Krabi now.

  • Liked — The location which was far from the crowd and the interior deco of the room
  • Disliked — Receptionist telling us that all the rooms are occupied when we requested for late check-out but said she could hold the room for us if we should pay 600 baht for late check-out, which we did since there was no common shower facilities within the resort.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cjal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2007

My hubby and I have just returned from Krabi and we have stayed at the Duangjai resort.

Likes
- Nice resort styled settings
- Quite and serene
- Nice Cosy feeling
- Fewer rooms = less crowded
- Nice bedroom settings
- Polite staff
- Fruit Juices (breakfast)
- Prices of drinks in the drink bar are same as the convenience stores outside.

Dislikes
- Location of the hotel is quite a distance from the main street. Takes about 8-10mins to walk to the main street. If you are the type that likes to take a stroll or have a drink or two in the night, then this hotel is definetly not a good choice for you.
- The Bed! I find the bed too hard & the pillows too soft for my likings. But I guess this is personal perferences.
- For ground floor unit, the doors and windows are facing the walkway, so if you don't want people to look into your room, you will need to draw the curtains.
- The face towels have a kind of "chemical" smell I think. It just doesn't smell right. Luckily the bath towels are fine.
- No free internet access

  • Liked — Nice Resort Settings and cleaniness of the room
  • Disliked — the LOCATION!!!!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Bostonbb_at_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2007

When we first arrived, we were a little disappointed with the location. It was tucked at a rather deserted corner of Ao Nang and walking is strongly discouraged at night as it is quite dark and quiet. The area is still rather undeveloped and there is not much of a view from this resort. But tuk-tuks were readily available when requested.

Upon check in, we had to pay for the outstanding amount of the entire stay, and they charged an additional 2% for using credit card. Not very pleased with this, but not sure if this is a norm...

The room was pleasant, and the huge balcony was a big plus! We stayed on level 2 (highest level there) and you could see the entire pool from the balcony. Quite a nice place to relax...but the next door's balcony is very near and someone could climb over if they wanted, so advisable to keep your balcony door locked when not in use. The pool was great too with a built-in jacuzzi. But the height is not correctly labelled so it's actually deeper.

The reception area indicated that there was a shuttle bus to the main Ao Nang area at designated timings, but to our disappointment it wasn't true. We had to pay for a tuk-tuk for all our trips.

One big MINUS I have to highlight - we were told to leave our room key at the reception area. And to our horror, when we came back around 11.40pm (Krabi time) there was no staff at reception area and our key were in the box where we left it! This meant that anyone who passed by could have taken our key and open our room door! Thankfully, we did not lose anything.

Overall, the staff were friendly, making it a point to talk to you and find out if everything was ok, though their English needs more improvement as communication was a barrier. For the same price, my advice would be to choose another resort that is nearer to the main area, unless you desire the peace and quiet.

  • Liked — The pool and the room
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2007

It's a wonderful place for a relaxing holiday. I trully apprecite the concept of 'boutique hotel' - small number of chic rooms, very well designed greenery surroundings, lovely pool and romantic dinning area. The staff and service are excellent!

I got a ground floor room for just two days. It has a terrace and mini backyard garden. Shower room has a glass wall facing the garden. The deco and layout of the room give the exact tranquility I was expecting for my stay. I had a dinner in the restaurant by the water-lily pool. The seafood basket was the best seafood I've ever had. A portion for two cost only 450 Thai Baht! The massage is a bit overpriced though, 600 Baht per hour for oil massage compared to 350 Baht outside. But I think it worths the price while enjoying a professional massage with lush green all around.

The location is not the best - no seaview and about 5-10 mins walk to beaches. The only drawback. But I think I will definitely stay in Duangjai if I go to Krabi again!

  • Liked — its atmosphere
  • Disliked — its location
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ahsunlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.1 mi away
Apasari Krabi
Apasari Krabi
#30 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maleedee Bay Resort
Maleedee Bay Resort
#47 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silver Sand Suites
Silver Sand Suites
#62 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ao-Nang Sunset Hotel
Ao-Nang Sunset Hotel
#37 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Royal Nakara
The Royal Nakara
#45 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.1 mi away
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
#29 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duang Jai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duang Jai Resort

Property: Duang Jai Resort
Address: 152 Moo 3, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
#11 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Duang Jai Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Duang Jai Resort in Krabi, Thailand. Reserve exclusive Krabi accommodation at our Ao Nang beach resort and get instant confirmation online. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Duang Jai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duang Jai Hotel Ao Nang
Duang Jai Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing