We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seriously, number 2?”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Duang Jai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Duang Jai Resort
Ranked #48 of 107 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Seriously, number 2?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

It's the first time i have been misled on tripadvisor. I selected this place based on the reviews and its ranking, and I have never been more disappointed.

Other than the ambience that is pretty calming, nothing else would attract me to stay here again.

For me, the location of the hotel talks a lot about convenience. This place is situated on a small street, and requires at least 5 minutes of brisk walking to hit the main road. From the main road, walking to Ao Nang beach will require a good 20 minutes; or 10 min of walking to Nopparat Thara beach. To get to the main thoroughfare of Ao Nang where the shops and McDonalds are, take a tuk tuk, don't even bother to try walking in the hot sun. The only saving grace about the location of this hotel is that there are food stalls and 7 eleven within 5 mintues of walking. Now I can understand why this resort does not want to produce a map with its location.

I had the deluxe top view room. The room is sufficiently furnished. But the cleanliness left much to be desired. Black droppings near the towel hanger were not cleaned away even after 3 days. I even found a bug crawling near my luggage.

Breakfast was basic, with omelette freshly cooked on the spot, and cornflakes, bread, porridge and sausages laid out for your selection.

Late checkout indicated as a perk if you book directly is not true. Asked for late checkout and was told all rooms were fully booked. I verified it by booking a room via the website and guess what? All room types were available.

Really, think twice, there are many other hotels in Ao Nang.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelgoGetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    63
    20
    5
    3
See reviews for
21
86
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Woodlands, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Had a 'thank you package' which was excellent value. 2 nights stay in upgraded room, 1 day 4 islands tour, 1dinner for two, 2 breakfasts, massage for two, a/p transfers..all for thb 6400. Attentive manager Jeab who was very helpful. Krabi was made beautiful by Duang Jai Resort.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaybee12342014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Lovely place! Beautiful, clean, cozy, quiet.
Location. 1 minute to shops/cafes, 5 to the beach, 10 to boat station.
Breakfast. Everything you need. Fruits, juice, milk, corn flakes, tea/coffee, omlette, sausages and wonderful pancakes.
Swimming pool.
Idylic for couples and families.
VERY friendly and helpful staff! Hospitality is excellent!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

The hotel facilities is excellent. the design of the hotel is very unique, it impress me for my first step walk in. the garden and the restaraunt is not big but having its own unique design. i stay in ground floor and the room surprise me with its own small garden with a wooden chair! Not only manager but all the staff is very friendly and helpful, I really fell like a homestay back home. Highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gooial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

After reading so many good reviews on Duang Jai Resort, I decided to booked them thru their webpage. After that, we communicate thru email to arrange transport to pick up from airport (600THB) & other stuffs. Upon reaching airport that day & waited for about 15 - 20mins no one came to pick us up. :’( :’(

So hubby & I got no choice but to take the bus (150THB/pax) from airport to our resort . The journey was about an hour trip. 


Upon reaching the resort, we were greeted by the staff & manager (Jeab) and also told her that no one pick us up at the airport. She apologized. After making the balance payment, the staff showed us to our room. The room was big & spacious and come with balcony near the swimming pool. Btw, we stayed at 2nd level so it's rather quiet...


Breakfast was okay as they don't have much choices...


There's lots of restaurants & food stalls nearby... So don't worry if you're hungry...


If you wanna buy snacks or drinks there's a 7-11 too.. And it's better to buy your items at 7-11 than at shop houses ...

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MavisT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

This hotel was a great little hotel, 21 rooms, staff was very helpfull and attention to details like bringing an anti mosquito ring while we were chilling outside at night.
The stay was very quiet, even with construction going on next door, we did not hear a thing.
Great swimming pool with salted water, our own little fridge to keep our Sam Son cool and very modest mini bar prices. Great bed and showers, towels changed daily, for shower and pool side.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank YannickGay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

This resort was a real surprise. I cant think of another hotel I have stayed at where I was more relaxed and felt at home.
Lets start by the location, yes its not beachfront, but believe me, you would not want beachfront in Ao Nang, its a very crazy place. This resort is only a few minutes walk to the beachfront, and thats the beauty of it. I wanted a peaceful place to relax and sleep, yet close enough to walk quickly if I needed to go out. But I found myself wanting to stay here longer each day, and looking forward so much to coming back to this slice of heaven after a day trip.
The rooms are in an "L" shape around a magnificent huge pool, that was so warm and clean.
There are trees and plants and birds singing, you almost feel like you are in the jungle.
The rooms are not 5 star, sure, but they are clean and comfortable, with a nice bathroom and shower, coffee and tea supplied along with a well stocked and cheap fridge. The are many channels an TV, the A/C works fine, and of course the beautiful view over the pool, which every room has. The trees also provide privacy so you feel quite relaxed in your room or lovely balcony, which every room has as well, with comfortable chairs and table to make use of, if you so desire. I enjoyed reading the paper while sitting on these chairs on my balcony.
There are many restaurants close by and also the street food is so delicious there. Also a 7/11 a stones throw from the resort.
Breakfast is great, usually two or three Thai dishes along with the usual buffet breakfast you find in most places. But the orange juice is the best I have had at any hotel in the world. I actually asked to see it and Jeab, the lovely manager showed me the cans of orange juice they buy, so I took a photo to show you, its divine.
Lastly the staff actually make this resort even better, I found them all to be so warm and friendly, I cant remember all their names, but Dum (pronounced Doom) and his lovely wife were wonderful, as were all the happy smiling staff, none more so then Jeab, the manager.
She is always there to help with advice or anything you may need.
If I go back to Krabi I will stay here for sure.
If you have any questions about this resort or Krabi please ask me.

Room Tip: Any room is good, there are only two levels, depends if you like ground floor or walk up a few stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bellettboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.1 mi away
Apasari Krabi
Apasari Krabi
#31 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maleedee Bay Resort
Maleedee Bay Resort
#47 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silver Sand Suites
Silver Sand Suites
#62 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ao-Nang Sunset Hotel
Ao-Nang Sunset Hotel
#39 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Royal Nakara
The Royal Nakara
#45 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.1 mi away
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
#28 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duang Jai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duang Jai Resort

Property: Duang Jai Resort
Address: 152 Moo 3, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
#11 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Duang Jai Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Duang Jai Resort in Krabi, Thailand. Reserve exclusive Krabi accommodation at our Ao Nang beach resort and get instant confirmation online. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duang Jai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duang Jai Hotel Ao Nang
Duang Jai Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing