We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet place, but where is the receptionist?”
Review of Duang Jai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Duang Jai Resort
Ranked #50 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice quiet place, but where is the receptionist?”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Finally booked myself a trip to Krabi, spent a few days there just soaking up the sun and enjoying the beaches. Checked into Duang Jai Resort together with 3 of my mates in Oct 2011. First impression is quite positive. The room is spacious, with a resort-feel to it, the decor seems new, with a decent pool as well. Location wise not the most ideal place, although is about a 15 min to the beach, it is a much longer stroll if you wish to get to the Walking Street, where most of the pubs/restaurants/massage parlours are.

Room prices include breakfast, which is nothing to boast about. Just your simple eggs/toast/ham/sausage combo together with a cup of coffee, though I must add that the coffee is pretty good.

Service at the resort is quite disappointing, room service ends at 5pm, resulting in buying food from nearby hotels, which is quite funny to me. Also, during our last night stay, the power went out at the resort. But seems like the hotel staff were all soundly asleep, as there is no one at the reception desk!

In summary, Duang Jai Resort seems like a pretty decent place, which boast nice decor at affordable prices and a quiet location for you to wind down after a day of water sports/beach activities. However the distance from the Walking Street and the lack of service at the resort are the down points.

Room Tip: Not sure about connecting rooms, but they do have rooms with connecting balcony area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chye82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    63
    20
    5
    3
See reviews for
21
86
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

We waited to decide on our accommodation until we arrived in Krabi and were referred to AoNang by the hotel desk at the airport. To preface my review, as 30-something backpackers we were very disappointed with AoNang. It was very commercialized, the only way I can describe it is as being a bit of a strip mall atmosphere. Many people seem to love it, but we wanted beautiful beach, chilled out bars/restaurants, and other young western travelers to talk to, which we eventually found on Railay. Back to the point...

Duang Jai the hotel was fine; clean, stylish, very friendly management, and a nice pool. The location however was a bit dodgy. The hotel is at the end of a quiet street, at the edge of AoNang near to the start of Nopparat Thara Beach. This might have been ideal in high season, but in low season the only things open were in AoNang and it was a bit of a trek to get to the central area. Of course a tuk tuk is easy and inexpensive.
My main issue was that across from the hotel was a sort of shanty town. I didn't feel any danger, it was just a bit of a strange contrast.

A small criticism, when we arrived I noticed the air conditioner was making a very unusual sort of grinding noise. The hotel manager was very eager to address my concern but she, and my friend, didn't find it as bothersome as I did. The manager even took me to the neighboring room and the ac was making the same noise so I thought I was just being oversensitive. Two mornings later we found the unit spewing water. Blessing in disguise because we were moved to a much quieter room and I was finally able to get a good night's rest.

So to summarize, if you are sure you want to be based in AoNang and are looking for something in a bit of a quieter location than this hotel is a good choice. Good value, great people, nice, modern design.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndreaAMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Chance upon this resort through Trip Advisor and decided to book them due to good reviews by other travellers.

Excellent service:
Expect every enquiry that you emailed to be responded within the hour or the same day itself. Jaeb, the hotel manager was very quick in responding and confirming your booking.

Great hospitality:
Upon arrival, was surprised to be greeted by Jaeb herself. She made us felt very welcomed and in less than 5 mins, we checked into our room (although we arrived a few hours before the actual check-in time).

Throughout our stay there, Jaeb was able to recommend / suggest places to visit or eat. She helped us to book the motorcycle, spa etc. They will do their best to accommodate to your requests.

Accommodation:
Room & common area were clean and well-maintained. The resort only has 21 guests rooms - which is great because you don't expect the place to be very crowded.

Bed and pillows were comfortable. They have a patio for you to hang-out (all with pool-view).

Food & Beverage:
Most of their dishes contained pork - so, if you are a vegetarian or a muslim - try to ask for a room quote without any breakfast.

Location:
About 10mins walk to the Ao Nang beach and shopping area. Rent a bike if you can ride one - the best way to get around. There's a free parking at the resort.

Duang Jai is a small-scaled resort, located slightly away from the bustling area. If you like it quite and a not-so-crowded. Duang Jai Resort is the place to be.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mookz_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2011

Just came back from my trip to Krabi, throughly enjoyed the stay in Duangjai. Emailed the staff Jeab and Jirapan b4 e trip to confirm some details of the package and their reply was prompt and answered all my questions and request.

Got a room at the upper level, it was spacious, clean and well stocked with facilities. Breakfast was ok. Had a dip in their pool which was great, when u r inside u feel like in a green Oasis of plants.

Was a little walk from the main street but it was exactly how I liked it, nice and quiet but close enough to the main action in Ao Nang.

p.s. Email them and ask 4 best price without breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2011

The hotel is five years old. Each room has a high ceiling, is air-conditioned, spotlessly clean and comes with a king-size comfortable bed (or two singles).

With only 21 rooms, the place is also quiet. And it's only a 5 minute walk to the shops and beaches of Ao Nang.

We found the staff courteous, friendly and helpful. As we were planning to island hop, their travel advice made our trip much easier.

And the buffet breakfast made a great start to our day. A choice of fresh fruit, muesli and a cooked breakfast complemented our stay.

Duang Jai was our oasis to come home to after the hustle and bustle of Ao Nang. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trishd31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2010

so good we changed our plans and went back there, grounds are really lovely, breakfast nothing special, staff excellent, if i ever find mysellf in Ao Nang again woudnt hesitate to stay here

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seasider123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2010

Nice and well designed Thai hotel. Good value low season rate with breakfast. Not so close to the beach, but close to shopping areas, the best night time seafood restaurants in Aonang + road side food, and a nice walk to the beach anyway. Very clean room and comfortable bed. Large balcony and nice wooden furnishings. Walk down area to the bathroom and kitchenette area is stylish and different. The connected outdoor Thai style courtyard was a bonus. Pool is nice, but did not swim as it was raining. Definitely recommended for travelers to Aonang, as the price is good and location ok. Probably one of the more simpler and cheaper option hotels along this stretch of huge hotels. Nice friendly staff. Small breakfast, but served hot and fresh. Bring mosquito repellant. Free wifi internet.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard_marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.1 mi away
8icon Ao Nang by I Galleria Krabi
0.1 mi away
Maleedee Bay Resort
Maleedee Bay Resort
#48 of 108 in Ao Nang
219 reviews
0.3 mi away
AliSea Boutique Hotel
AliSea Boutique Hotel
#11 of 108 in Ao Nang
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Royal Nakara
The Royal Nakara
#49 of 108 in Ao Nang
258 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anyavee Ao Nang Bay Resort
Anyavee Ao Nang Bay Resort
#57 of 108 in Ao Nang
259 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Small, Krabi
The Small, Krabi
#24 of 108 in Ao Nang
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duang Jai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duang Jai Resort

Property: Duang Jai Resort
Address: 152 Moo 3, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
#11 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Duang Jai Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Duang Jai Resort in Krabi, Thailand. Reserve exclusive Krabi accommodation at our Ao Nang beach resort and get instant confirmation online. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duang Jai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duang Jai Hotel Ao Nang
Duang Jai Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing