We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good, some not-do-good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Peace Laguna Resort and Spa
Ranked #17 of 109 Hotels in Ao Nang
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Ao Nang is a lovely destination with a great beach. Peace Laguna Resort is conveniently situated a minutes walk from the main shopping street that leads down to the beach. From the resort there is a magnificent view over the pool and the lagoon to a spectacular limestone mountain.

We had a Deluxe Cottage room that was spacious, comfortable and well-equipped. Breakfast included and the buffet breakfast was pretty good. Minor complaint is that the bacon was always overcooked and hard. Oh, and the omelette lady was poorly trained and would scramble the eggs instead. Oh, and the fried eggs were never cooked enough, risking salmonella poisoning!

Pool lovely. Perfect water temperature and long enough to swim a decent length.

Criticisms: generally poor service and poor understanding of English of some key staff. Twice they ran out of towels for the pool, and the staff were not willing to get more from room service, saying that the washing machine-dryer had broken down and we'd have to wait an hour or use towels from the room (meaning they would be wet and dirty for taking a shower later on).

No Wi-Fi in the room...

Would I stay again? No.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacelaguna, Director of Sales at Peace Laguna Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Michael E,

I sincerely thank for your taking time to write this review for those who have plan to stay with us.
First of all, i apologize for inconvenience and disappointed at our breakfast egg station. I have referred this case to our Executive Chef. He certainly has to improve and give his staff training immediately. In the same time, for English communication skill we try our best to recruit staffs who can communicate and speak English. However, this issue our Managing Director realize that we have English training program for 3 months. I hope that it should be improved in the future. I assure you that your next time visit us. Our staffs will fluent speak English and can make you feel satisfaction.

Lastly, thank you very much for stay with us in our luxury room as Deluxe Cottage. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Timmy
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,061)
There are newer reviews for Peace Laguna Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

563 - 569 of 1,061 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stayed at standard room for 4 nights. Upon arrival staff was very friendly and the hotel resort looked very promising. However, once we were shown to our room we noticed that the cleaning staff did not do a great job in preparing our room to a decent standard. There was female hair all over the bathroom (either from previous guests or the cleaners) and previous guests' rubbish still left in the room. Further the bathroom did in general not make a clean impression overall with mold and a moisty smell. The towels, whether bathroom or pool towels, seemed also to be not clean enough as not a single towel was white as it was meant to be, but always had some stains or generally a dirty looking colour. The cutlery and glasses provided for breakfast did also not make a clean impression to me, as everything was constantly wet as if the dishes were just rinsed off quickly with water.

However, as mentioned in my title the hotel does have its positive aspects. The location is very good with only a 5-10min walk to Ao Nang beach. Several top restaurants are around the hotel area. The whole atmosphere of the hotels is very peaceful and beautiful. The Spa facilities and staff are wonderful and very professional. The tour advisory staff was very friendly and helpful and got is quickly set up for trips to close by islands. Great compliments to the 24th December Christmas gala dinner (which was free), which was showing a lot of effort from the hotel staff. Great food and entertainment was offered, whilst we won a massage voucher for two.

No wifi unfortunately except in lobby area. We were told the room wifi is currently being fixed, however this was never completed within our 4 day stay.

All in all, I would like to give this hotel a higher rating given the above as we had a great holiday until the last evening despite the mentioned hotel drawbacks. However, encountering a very big cockroach in the bathroom coming out of the badly renovated sewage pipes was just not acceptable. Having had to kill this insect ASAP with no appropriate equipment left very disgusting blood stains all over the bedroom floor as the cockroach moved very fast through the whole room. Following this horrific experience, the cockroach blood stains started attracting tons of ants into our room from all possible holes. Naturally, our last night at the hotel was horrible and I personally could not wait to leave the hotel. The cockroach confirmed my suspicions with regards to the level or dirtiness in the hotel.

If the hotel manages to bring its standard room facilities to a decent level and looks into its cleaning staff in addition to the obvious one of dealing with the cockroach problem (given the size of it I am sure it was not the only cockroach in the hotel), Peace Laguna could be a good hotel. But at its current condition I would not recommend anyone to stay at the standard rooms.

Room Tip: Do not choose the Standard rooms, likely to have same experience as above described. The individual...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Veronika T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacelaguna, Director of Sales at Peace Laguna Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Veronika,

Please accept my sincere apologize about "Cleanliness issue". Our Standard room is our leading category and very basic room. However, i understand your feel that we might pay attention too much to make sure all rooms are clean. Cockroach is unacceptable really. I understand.

House Keeping department has to resolve and sort out this problem soonest.
It is our most concerned. If you feel happy with our hotel location, you won't happy with room cleanliness. I myself will handle and follow up how improve and how long we have to improve with this situation.
Kindly give us a good chance to welcome you back if you have plan to visit Aonang. Feel free to contact me via sales@peacelagunaresort.com.

With best regards,

Timmy
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Our experience with Peace Laguna just begs for similes. It is like a gorgeous but callous young women who treats you badly and breaks your heart. It is like the former U.S. ATT telephone monopoly whose motto, people joked, should have been, “ATT, we don’t care. We don’t have to.”

We reserved our room several weeks ahead through Agoda – a deluxe room in what we understood to be the relatively new portion of the hotel. We called early on the morning of our arrival to ask to check in early, as we were arriving on the first ferry from Koh Phi Phi. No problem we were told, they were expecting us.

We noticed at check in there was a certain tension in the air. After we provided them our reservation confirmation information and filled out the forms we were asked to wait while they brought in another employee – whether manager or clerk we could not tell because she was not wearing any identifying insignia. (Later we realized that her title is likely “Assistant Front Office Manager.”) I will refer to her by the pseudonym Nan.

Nan explained to us in a rather cursory manner that they had a situation at the hotel that required them to shift us to an “equivalent” hotel that was managed by the same company. The reason for the shift initially appeared to be an overbooking – 19 rooms too many. I understand the size of the Peace Laguna is around 150, so that is a sizable overbooking. On a later visit, it sounded as if the problem related to electrical services in part of the facility. My guess is that they were making it up as they went.

We expressed our misgivings about this change of arrangements – they were asking us to agree to move to a different facility, sight unseen. She apologized for the inconvenience and as compensation offered either a free meal or a spa visit at the Peace Laguna. We said we would prefer the meal. She then produced a form saying that we accepted the meal by way of compensation. Again, the form included the apology for inconvenience. The fact that they had this contract ready to go, and it was the most polished bit of the whole operation, should have signaled that they are in the habit of imposing these changes on people, but we did not pick up on it at the time.

The facility that they moved us to - the Nagapura – was in no way “equivalent” to the Peace Laguna. It does not have the ambience, view, location, or facilities. It is run as a budget hotel, not a resort. The breakfast was inedible. The lunch gave my wife indigestion. The air picks up that occasional whiff of sewage that signals overdevelopment in this part of the world. Nagapura rooms let for considerably less than the Peace Laguna, which may explain why they were so anxious to shift us while offering no reduction in the price.

As part of our package at the Peace Laguna we had prepaid for a rather posh New Year's Eve celebration – dinner, dancing that sort of thing. It was a mandatory part of making a reservation that spanned the turn of the year, and apparently has become standard at Thai resorts for Christmas and the New Year (we had a lovely Christmas Eve celebration at the Outrigger on Phi Phi). In their hurry to get rid of us, the folks at Peace Laguna had not mentioned how this would be handled.

We returned to Peace Laguna that first evening for two purposes. First, we wanted to let Nan know that she had not been accurate in her portrayal of Nagapura. Second, we wanted to ask for a refund of our payment for the New Year’s Eve celebration.

The scene in the reception area belied that resort’s name. Based on the shouting and screaming that we witnessed, it appeared that the staff of Peace Laguna had experienced a bad day. There were a lot of different languages involved, so it was difficult to tell exactly what everyone was saying, but the upshot was that some groups had been downgraded (perhaps from bungalows to rooms) while others had were being bumped. Folks were furious. We realized that we had been remarkably accommodating by comparison, but then we try to be agreeable, perhaps to a fault.

It was tempting to feel sorry for the beleaguered Peace Laguna staff who must have endured this onslaught all day. However, as we observed the patterns we started to realize that the resort, if not the staff, was getting exactly the abuse it deserved. The decent thing to do would have been to apologize sincerely (not in a pro forma manner), acknowledging that guests had come from great distances, that they had invested substantial time and money for the opportunity to enjoy Krabi and Ao Nang. Then the hotel should have offered a full refund and provided complimentary accommodations elsewhere. In our case, at least, this would not have made us whole, but it would have been a signal of their sincere efforts to make amends.

Instead, what we observed was a callous indifference to the guests’ plight and disappointment. We observed Nan using interesting negotiating techniques – making an offer for adjustments and walking away, returning after many minutes while guests grew increasingly impatient. Time was on her side because she was not going anywhere; she was wearing down her guests until they capitulated.

In our case it took us nearly two hours to get them to refund the payment we had made for the New Year’s Eve celebration. Initially, they wanted to shift our dinner over to the Nagapura. We pointed out that Nagapura would not be equivalent to the event at Peace Laguna for which we had paid. Nan tried to assert that the Nagapura was indeed equivalent. We gently explained to her that there was nothing equivalent between the two, and that it was dishonest to suggest otherwise. It was clear she was embarrassed, though one wonders whether it was shame at lying or discomfort at having been called out on it.

Then her concern was whether the Nagapura was going to charge Peace Laguna for the dinner. At no point did they show any capacity for empathy or understanding of our situation. Finally, though, they agreed to refund the payment when they were sure it would not cost them anything.


Based on what we observed, it seems likely that the management gave the staff clear guidelines on what they could offer to guests and what they could not – two-course dinner: yes; meaningful compensation: no. If, as the staff of Peace Laguna suggested, this was not a situation of their own making, the resort should have signaled that condition through better treatment of their disappointed customer. Rather, the premade forms, the push to get us out the door, the lack of empathy, the dishonest portrayal of the alternative accommodations, and the preoccupation with their own financial losses rather than those of the guests, all point to management’s pursuit of short term financial gain at the expense of long-term reputation. If that is the case, then patrons can expect that this resort will decline over time, which is sad because it truly is a beautiful facility.

As an aside, it reflects rather poorly on the management to put their low level staff out there to brave the onslaught of anger and aggression that we observed that evening at Peace Laguna. It is not only greedy and thoughtless - it is cowardly.

Let me make one last observation. I notice that someone else posted a review commenting on Peace Laguna’s overbooking practice a few months back. In response, Timmy, the Director of Sales and Marketing at Peace Laguna, acknowledged the incident, but pointed out that the disappointed customer had received a “romantic dinner” and a bottle of wine as compensation (by the way, where is my bottle of wine?). He also indicated that if they would return for a later visit, Peace Laguna would be happy to provide a “special discount and benefit.” This is a common industry practice, designed to create the appearance of a generous offer while minimizing the actual cost to the hotel, which seldom actually has to deliver on the promise. A more meaningful offer, as that disappointed guest pointed out, would have been to provide the room at the “equivalent” hotel on a complimentary basis. This callous treatment simply reinforces the appearance that Peace Laguna is intentionally wringing as much short-term financial gain out of their situation as possible, while failing to care about their customers’ experience, or indeed, their own reputation.

Room Tip: I would avoid this hotel - they were not thoughtful in the way they dealt with guests. This was eit...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
8  Thank SingAngmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

This is my first time to Krabi with my family. We spent a 4 days 3 nights stay at Peace Laguna Resort. The location of the resort is fantastic as getting food, shopping and beach is within walking distance. If you are adventurous and wish to move further, tut tut is a mode of transport which can be found just outside the entrance towards the resort itself. The staffs are friendly and their services is prompt. Indeed, this resort is hospitable, friendly and family oriented. You can even plan your agendas and book your small trips around the island at the small booth located at the entrance in the resort itself. However, there is still room for improvements in terms of cleanliness as there is dusts everywhere in the room including under the bed and sofa. The room is dark and the lights are dim. The fixtures in the room is rather old. Wi-fi signal is weak in the room and is only strong at the lobby area. You may not get what you want if there is a break down in communication with the staffs because not all could speak English. If you are not petty over these, I would recommend this resort. Just remember not to boil and drink the water from the tap due to the strong chlorine. It is advisable to stock up your mineral water which can be bought at the nearby shops. You will need them when making coffee or tea. Remember to also bargain hard with the sellers.

Room Tip: Bright and airy rooms with strong air-condition unit; Long balcony is useful when drying your cloth...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winstonlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Just back after sending about a week in the Peace Laguna resort with my wife and my 2 year old daughter.
The highlights of the Peace Laguna are the great location (very short walk to the beach, close to all the restaurants and bars and yet you have a secluded feeling thanks to the resort setting), very family friendly (different kid pools, huge breakfast, friendly staff).
The room was very spacious with a nice terrace and big outdoor shower-room attached to the bungalow.
For my, the only negative was that the bungalows are getting a bit worn-out (a bit of fresh paint, new curtains and some new furniture would do wonders) and the fact to the matrasses of the bed are rockhard.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christophe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Review for Peace Laguna hotel.

Ive visit Peace Laguna once before, and its sadly to say, but.. it was way better back then. The breakfast buffert is delicious. Poolarea is brilliant.

But every hotel has i downsides. Unfortunately this one has one to many.
As you could see in my attached pictures the hotel does not provide mainaintance. Its very dirty and maud all over the room. Especially in the shower. Disgusting.

Upon arrival we had to wait 4hours to access our room. We where welcome to swim in the pool but was not given any towels. Free drinks may been a good tribute for letting us wait. Small things could mean a lot, especially when letting your customers waiting in the heat for 4hours.

There also seems to be a big issue with ants in the room. We where lucky until the last night, when the ants invaded our bed. You may think this is caused by leftovers, candy and such. But no, we didn’t have any.

It should also be said that the pictures of the rooms provided by the hotel is nothing near what the real life experience is. And i realy suggest Agoda(Where i made the booking) should make this hotel change the pictures.

No wifi at the room neither. The ”test” card that was given to us said ”no permission”. And it was no point in explaining the issue to them neither. Very little understanding. Honestly i think its a trick to keep all of us in the lobby and using the free wifi there. That wifi wierdly worked?

The cards used for the room should also be switched. Why even use cards that gets demagnetized when beeing close to a cellphone?

To come to an end of this article. Its truly sadly to say that this beautiful resort has come to its end. If you don’t care about the ants and the condition of the rooms, then its still a beautiful resort. Its sad to see a nice hotel as this once where to pung every last dollar that it can, before it will be all long forgotten.

I will not come back nor recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andreas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacelaguna, Director of Sales at Peace Laguna Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear Andrease,

Sadly, i have not much to say than "Apologize" but all bad situation has already happened with you. It is realistic. 1) Check in too late for 4 hours waiting 2) Wi fi signal under testing 3) Less maintenance in some room 4) Standard quality for room cleaning. Etc.
However, i try my hard work to involve all issues you have mentioned. I'm sure that you are very disappoint with us but i sincerely hope that i will find a good solutions and sort out all complaints. Certainly, it takes long time because we have to work with many people in our organization. However, i'm really appreciated your complaints. I myself will take action. Even though, you have no any chance to give us to excuse but for me, i am willing to welcome you back.


Sincerely,

Timmy
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is ok, it is perfect for location to the main areas of Ao Nang, however the rooms weren't amazing. The shower wasn't overly powerful or hot at certain times of the day and after the first person had used it, it was worse for the second person. There is no wifi in the rooms, only in reception. Breakfast was included and was good as well.

When we arrived here we had issues with our reservation. I had booked the night before via their website as it was cheaper than the likes of agoda, lastminute etc. When we got there they didn't have our reservation and wanted to charge us for a new booking at an extra £12/night as it was classes as a walk in booking. We complained and asked to speak to their manager who was conveniently in a meeting. After refusing to leave and insisting on waiting for the manager, he promptly left his meeting!!! He did however give us the room we wanted at the price we were going to pay, which was all we wanted in the first place, and we were thankful for that.

Thanks to the manager for resolving the issue for us!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank TripMember01282016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacelaguna, Director of Sales at Peace Laguna Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Scouse23,

Thank you very much for taking time to share your travel experience with us.
First of all, i'm pleasant to know that you were happy with our resort location where is convenience to Aonang main street and many restaurant or shop nearby.
For Water powerful issue, i have referred to our technician to fix it. I deeply apologize for inconvenience about reservation. I myself talked to you upon your arrival. I have checked in our reservation system from our website we couldn't find your booking request. However, i offered our Standard room price but we upgraded you to Superior Room which is better category.
Wi fi service, we still provide at lobby area. I hope we will add in our room soon.

Next time visit, if you wish to stay at Aonang, please feel free to contact me via sales@peacelagunaresort.com. I'm very happy to assist you.

Sincerely,

Timmy
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.2 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Phra Nang Inn
Phra Nang Inn
#31 of 109 in Ao Nang
833 reviews
0.6 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#20 of 109 in Ao Nang
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The L Resort Krabi
The L Resort Krabi
#2 of 109 in Ao Nang
583 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 109 in Ao Nang
1,507 reviews
0.2 mi away
Krabi Tipa Resort
Krabi Tipa Resort
#22 of 109 in Ao Nang
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peace Laguna Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace Laguna Resort and Spa

Address: 193 Moo2, Ao Nang Beach, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
#12 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range: $48 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Peace Laguna Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the middle of Aonang, Krabi, you will find our resort with a picturesque view of the famous cliff of Aonang as a backdrop, a peaceful lagoon that surrounds the resort and a short walk to the popular Aonang beach. Our unique cottages are well blended with nature that offers comfort and Thainess experience. The resort is a 4 star resort with 149 spacious and modern rooms and cottages. Our guest can enjoy our 3 pool. Our outlets offer all day dining with a taste of Thai and international cuisine. Time to rejuvenate, visit our Maya Spa for private treatment. Any occasions and events can be held at our Grand Ballroom. While staying with us, you are just few steps away to all the hustle and bustle that Aonang can offer. Shops, restaurants, coffee shops and bars are just at our doorstep. Only a boat ride away, you will reach the popular and famous islands of Krabi. Relax with us! rest at our hanging chairs, enjoy an afternoon delight while connected to social world with free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Peace Laguna Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace Laguna Hotel Ao Nang
Peace Laguna Krabi
Peace Laguna Resort And Spa Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing