We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hell in Ao Nang”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Village Resort
Ranked #88 of 111 Hotels in Ao Nang
Reviewed February 15, 2008

We just returned from a four night stay in Ao Nang, Krabi Province Thailand. Unfortunately, we stayed at the Blue Village because after searching for rooms at nicer hotels we were under the impression that everything was booked. As it turns out, this is not really the case as there are plenty of hotels all along the roads in Ao Nang that are too new to be known and offer nicer, cheaper and better service than the Blue Village.

Our nightmare began upon arrival to the Blue Village on a Friday afternoon at 5 PM. The previous day we had the concierge at the JW Marriott in Bangkok contact the hotel directly on our behalf to make a five night booking at the Blue Village. We had chosen this location based on previous glowing reviews and a Lonely Planet write-up about a great, foreign manager who was exceptionally connected to Krabi and its diving scene. Our concierge in Bangkok spoke Thai, spoke English and CONFIRMED our booking for five nights not only verbally but also by fax. He spoke with Mr. Nai.

When we arrived we were told that our room was not available and that Mr. Nai incorrectly booked us. The staffer then shuttled us to the most miserable, dark, dirty, skanky hotel room I've ever seen in my life at the Phra Nang inn down by the beach.

We ended up coming back to the Blue Village the next day to begin our stay. We mostly did so because we just didn't know it would be so bad and we didn't have time to look for another room as we had been on a day tour of the islands. We ended up staying in bungalow #14 which is a "Japanese style" room: one very, very hard mattress on the floor set up on a small platform which is great for falling off of in the middle of the night.
It had an outdoor bathroom: mossies galore. Dirty. Smelly.
No chairs.
Unfirm foundation, cracking cement...feels like the whole thing is built on an angle.
Staff: cannot speak English. Say good morning when they mean good night. Do not understand English and do not attempt to speak/ learn it. Only one staffer (the front desk woman) speaks English. Everyone else was sullen, looked about 16 years old with the attitude to boot.
We heard that there is a nice place called Ben's down the road which charges about the same amount w/ a better facility and nicer staff. We learned about this from a Canadian couple who were leaving the Blue Village after only one night's stay. They had previously stayed at the Blue Village FOUR times and said that before it was great.
I learned from a dive shop that the previous manager (foreigner married to a Thai woman) left the job due to personal reasons with his family and that the Blue Village is undergoing "big time transistion."

Don't go to Blue Village unless you like to be treated poorly.

The only nice thing is having a pool.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnKTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 75 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2008

Not sure why there are good reviews of this place on here - can only assume they have very low standards. This place is so bad I'm not sure where to start!

Firstly staff - the hotel was staffed mainly by sulky Thai teenagers who spent most of the day and night sat round watching a tv in the restaurant area. Didn't seem to understand the concept of customer service and sighed and harumphed every time you spoke to them.

Secondly - rooms. Clean is about the best thing I can say. The bed is a super hard rubber mattress on the floor with torn, ill fitting sheets and dirty blankets. The wardrobe is a coat hanger and there were just two dirty cushions and a coffee table. There was a fridge, air con and a tv though. The bathrooms are outside - cute feature we thought - but to access them you have to go down 4 very steep steps - not good for kids or people who like a beer! Bathroom fittings - very old fashioned. Light fittings - only one worked and the plugs emitted blue sparks when you tried to plug something in. The windows were broken - not so good for security! There was a terrace with deckchairs on but the deckchairs were mouldy and broken.

Thirdly - pool and grounds. Can't fault the grounds - they were lovely, pool however was dirty, had only 2 wooden loungers to sit on and there was an area just next to the pool filled with rubbish -paint cans, empty whisky bottles etc. Not exactly relaxing.

Fourthly - breakfast. Simply not up to scratch. Instead of the standard buffet they give you 2 small pieces of toast, one fried egg, some coffee and sometimes juice if you were lucky. All served on chipped and dirty pots of course. They also don't start serving until 9am so if you have excursions starting at 8.30am then be prepared to go off hungry.

We had booked 9 nights at this hotel but left after four with no guarantee of a refund. We were happy to pay another hotel just to get away from this place and found a perfect one just five minutes away (Royal Nakara - superb hotel).

The Blue Village is a bargain basement hotel with quality and services to match, however in high season they were charging us 2200 tb per night. You can find vastly superior hotels for much less in this area. I would avoid at all costs. Staying here will ruin your holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank citylivin187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2008

I usually dont write many reviews, but after our recent stay at Blue Village I feel compelled to pass on the good word about this excellent place. There is a really chilled feel to Blue Village. It is just on the outskirts of An Nang (about a 15 min walk from the centre of town) and it’s set in a very leafy area surrounded by lots of trees and nature. The rooms are of a traditional thai/ bungalow style and spaced a reasonable distance apart to feel quite private. They were clean, spacious (beds were made everyday) and had an outdoor toilet/shower which we thought was a very nice touch. The rooms have all the modern cons and there’s a nice pool to swim in and sunbake if you are feeling to lazy to walk the 600m or so to the beach. Marcel the Swiss owner, was a large reason why we enjoyed our stay so much. He always had a joke to crack and was very helpful with anything we needed. The prices for the rooms are geared towards the lower to mid range budgets and we thought it was great value for our money. I wouldn’t hesitate recommending Blue Village for your place to stay whilst in Ao Nang.

P.s If you are interested in a day trip around the islands snorkeling, swimming etc on a privately run boat, Marcel can put you in touch with a very good chap called Mat (pronounced Mut). He offers a full day trip and will make sure he takes you to the best places to snorkel and the best beaches to laze on. The cost of the day’s boat hire is around 2000b and if you compare to the organized tours on offer it actually works out cheaper once you have more the 2 people. You also manage to avoid the crowds etc that are on these organized tours.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank esqdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2008

We had a bungalow by the pool, right down the bottom of the hotel. The bungalow was comfortable, with stairs down to the bathroom. Beds made and towels changed daily (we0 were there 5 nights). It was clean, nice and quiet, most people just having the bungalow as a place to sleep and doing other things in the day. We had no problems with security, the gardens were really nice with a few animals running around and the usual gecko. The owner has 2 monkeys he is raising that are in the reception open area.
The room did get very hot in the day so when we got back there we would put the aircon on and have a swim and a beer while it cooled down. We had the free breakfast the first day but just ate out other days (breakfast was only a fried egg on toast with some fruit and coffee).
It is a fair walk into the main street of Ao Nang, but if we felt lazy we would walk to big hotel next door and get a tuk tuk for 40 bht to anywhere in town. There are some good restaurants very close by such as Carnivore and also the club iBark.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeaceAndLight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2007

I went with 5 friends to Krabi during the 'low' season, and because we were on a budget chose one of the cheapest we could find, which was the Blue Village. We liked it very much AT FIRST - the back-to-nature feel was complete with the rustic bungalows, the open air toilet/bathroom, and lush plants around. The Swiss owner also reassured us that it would be very safe to leave our valuables in the rooms, because it was supposedly 'all family members' working there during the low season.

However, on our last day, our rooms were broken into through the open air toilets which were connected to our rooms via a filmsy door. It was only after this burglary that we realised how exposed we were - the openair toilets in which we showered and relieved ourselves had no more security than a surrounding low 'fence' of plants, which any peeping tom could hop over, and the wooden planks that made up the walls of the toilet had gaps by which peepers could see through. The walls were not so tall as well, any man about 6ft tall can stand and peep comfortably. Also, the owner wasn't very helpful when we informed him in a panic that our rooms had been burgled - he showed no emotion, as if he had foreknowledge of the burglary, and we had to press him to take down details of our missing items and to make a police report on our behalf, because we had to make a flight in 2 hours. Because we had to have a police report to make an insurance claim, we had to press him many times before the report arrived via snail mail A FULL MONTH later.

All in all, although it was a very nice place for the budget traveller, i wouldn't reccommend this to my friends, out of respect for their privacy and belongings.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank onatightbudget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2007

Blue Village is recommended for those who want to rough it out. Though it's away from the hustle and bustle of Ao Nang, you have to walk for 20min everytime you want to head to the beach. Also, bedsheets & towels will only be cleaned once in 3 days. For paranoiacs, take the deluxe room as noises can be heard due to various nocturnal animals. The only consolation is the warm hospitality provided by the Swiss owner of Blue Village.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Joce-Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Denmark
15
Reviewed March 22, 2006

In October 2004 I went to Ao Nang with my class on a trip we'd been saving up to for two years. And after staying at a first class hotel i Bangkok, we were quite shocked to see what awaited us in Ao Nang. These small bungalows are not luxurious.. but after staying in Ao Nang for a few days, with all its tourist traps and "special price for you" offers we soon realized that this place was special. The people were more than friendly, the service excellent and the breakfast deliscious. The quiet jungle-like sorroundings were also welcome after a long day of escaping very enthusiastic (mildly put) sales people, elephant trekking, mangrove kayaking or island jumping on the most beautiful beaches in the world.
So, if you can live with a litte less luxury (and the occasional lizard in your bedroom) The Blue Village Resort in Ao Nang is definitely worth the visit.

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
3.8 mi away
Pine Bungalow
Pine Bungalow
#31 of 111 in Ao Nang
245 reviews
0.9 mi away
Phra Nang Inn
Phra Nang Inn
#30 of 111 in Ao Nang
854 reviews
0.5 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#20 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ao-Nang Sunset Hotel
Ao-Nang Sunset Hotel
#42 of 111 in Ao Nang
330 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beach Terrace Hotel Krabi
Beach Terrace Hotel Krabi
#78 of 111 in Ao Nang
221 reviews
1.6 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Village Resort

Address: 105 Moo 3, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range: $19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Village Resort by CHANINTRA offers the extraordinary chance to pamper yourself with Green Nature. It is located on a still green hill connected to Krabi's most famous Ao-Nang beach area of Thailand, only 20 minutes from Krabi International Airport. This is the place where all guests' senses will be warmly pleased by Traditional Thai dishes, Palm trees, Unique art objects, Sounds of Nature and our famous Scent; Royal Jasmine. Let's be surrounded by our rare natural beauty. *This resort was built and decorated focuses on Natural Friendly Ideas* ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Village Hotel Ao Nang
Blue Village Krabi
Blue Village Hotel Krabi
Blue Village Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing