We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I stayed elsewhere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AliSea Boutique Hotel
Ranked #13 of 111 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2010

I paid over 2,000 THB a night for a room which was not worth it. I have stayed at a cheaper hotel and had much better service. Thank god I only stayed for 1 night otherwise I would be quite depressed. The design and decors are lovely. However, the pool was dirty which is very unfortunate because it's located on the rooftop and I was really looking forward to just laying out by the pool. The hallway could use some more lights because it's a bit dark during the day. The breakfast selection was poor. They had yakisoba (Fried noodle), sausages, cornflakes, salad, yogurt, and toasts for breakfast. The AC in the room was very loud to the point that I had to turn it off periodically throughout the night. My room was right next to the janitor's closet and they left the door opened all the time for some reason. The best part about the hotel is probably the free 24/7 high speed internet, which is allowing me to write this review at the moment.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krisaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (571)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

360 - 366 of 571 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2010

On the 3rd day of our stay, I was dismayed to discover that the outdoor oak bath wouldn't fill more than half even though we'd left the tap on for 20mins. Water kept leaking through the gaps causing the floors to flood. The staff was most apologetic when I reported the problem, and got us another room within an hour. This experienced pretty much spoiled an otherwise OK stay at this hotel.

What we liked:
1) 10 mins walk to the beach
2) Plenty of Thai fusion restaurants nearby
3) 5 mins walk to the "mini-bus" stop (50B one-way to Krabi town). The "mini-bus" looks like a mini-lorry with a roof on the back.
4) Super-firm mattress to straighten the back (well, at least I liked this!)

What we disliked:
1) Inconsistent service levels - our room was not cleaned on one of the days; on one of the days we received 3 bath towels instead of 2 bath towels and 2 face towels.
2) Inconsistent facilities within the same class of room - I noticed that the 2nd room we were moved to did not have a tall table to place the drinks tray; but had a basket for guests to carry their belongings to the beach.
3) Poor maintenance - In the 1st room: missing bed knob, leaky bathtub; in the 2nd room: torn shower curtain
4) Safes in both rooms were locked when we moved in, so the poor maid had to lug an unlocked safe to each room.

What we tolerated:
1) Ants - well, it's a tropical country so we expected this. We controlled them by spraying anti-mosquito sprays (containing DEET) on them, and ensuring nothing sweet was left in the open. We kept the doors and windows closed most of the day, so we didn't encounter mosquitoes and therefore didn't really need to bring citronella candles from home.
2) Breakfast - the breakfast table typically consists of bread, butter, 2 types of jam, cornflakes, coco crunch, 1 type of fruit, and a Thai dish (rice and 1 side dish, or noodles). Occasionally there may be 1 other dish like cake. The staff offer to cook eggs for guests but we didn't try this.

Overall, I feel that the only thing that is "boutique" about Alis Hotel is the decor. Apart from that there's nothing really boutique about it because it seriously lacks attention to detail. If you're really bent on staying here, go for a room without an oak bathtub. But if you were going to do that, you may as well consider other hotels - there are plenty choose from in Aonang!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EeCheeFeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed November 30, 2009

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed November 23, 2009

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed November 17, 2009

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed November 17, 2009

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed November 16, 2009

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.5 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,573 reviews
0.2 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#19 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Deevana Plaza Krabi Aonang
0.2 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
0.6 mi away
Vogue Resort & Spa Ao Nang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AliSea Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AliSea Boutique Hotel

Address: 125 Ao Nang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand (Formerly Alis Hotel & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
#6 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#8 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range: $52 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — AliSea Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALISEA. It sounds like something from a storybook or fantasy. Because it is. Named for a fairytale princess and set in a dream location, ALISEA is the new boutique hotel, located in a charming enclave of Aonang Beach. Find sanctuary within strolling distance of Aonang's best dining and entertainment. ALISEA nestles in a natural amphitheater of cool greens and dazzling turquoise, bathed by soft breezes, embraced by lush jungle and framed by Krabi's fabled karsts. From the roof top loft suites and the pool, the views are pure theatre. No drama: ALISEA is cucumber cool, a haven of serenity ... And your connection to quintessential Krabi. Above all, ALISEA is about you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your AliSea Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alis Hotel Ao Nang
Alis Hotel And Spa
Alis Hotel Krabi
AliSea Boutique Hotel Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing